Uzumaki Naruto Door Painting Collection

Header1

Uzumaki Naruto is fun, loud, energetic, and full of power, fairly standard for a shonen lead, that does not mean however that his figures have to be super standard. This is by far the most action oriented shonen statue that I have seen in a very long time, and I am loving it. Way too cool to pass up that’s for sure.

Naruto1

Naruto’s face is awesome, he looks kind of fierce. His eyebrows are slanted down and something has clearly caught his attention to the left. His eyes are a nice shade of dark blue and the paint job on the iris’ is fantastic. I’m pretty fond of the whiskers on his cheeks too. His forehead protector looks spectacular, the shading on the metal makes it look like stainless steel. The leaf nin symbol is also darker to make the imprint stand out more. The way the eyebrows look coming out from under the protector is also a good touch.

Naruto2

At the risk of sounding a little childish I think his hands look a little odd, whereas they have knuckle definition his fingers seem kind of lackluster. They don’t really look like hands as much as they do play dough, however I also think this look is perfect for the simplistic art style of Naruto. If I had a Persona figure whose hands looked like this I’d be pissed off, but It’s befitting of Naruto so I’ll let it slide this time. Also I know and understand that he’s in mid jutsu, but the lower part of his hand looks like he’s holding the scroll a little too loosely. The collar of his jacket looks very nice, the texture on it is cool, and gives off a fluffy appearance. The strap coming down across his chest also looks pretty cool, the buckle itself in particular has something you don’t see too often. The leather on either side of the buckle is lower than what’s showing through the metal, it gives the appearance that the buckle is actually pressing down on the strap. Very nice touch! There are only a few wrinkles on his jacket, but the few that are there are well placed. The teeth on the zipper are a little odd they’re completely different sizes. Since Naruto wears oversized clothes his jacket hangs just a little bit over the belt.  The wrinkles going down into the pants look great.NAruto3

His pant legs are rolled up and look infinitely more wrinkled than Naoto’s did (http://wp.me/p1ULRt-1Jz). The white wrap around his leg looks pretty good, the black lines between pieces of fabric are done really light, I like how that doesn’t draw too much attention from the rest of the figure. His feet are pulled up close to his body, he’s in mid jump after all. Fortunately his feet do look better than his fingers. His toes are really great, I especially like the toenails. On the list of things that drive Tekizen crazy is: Making my male shonen characters look like they’re wearing makeup. Megahouse has this problem…..frequently. Naruto however is blessedly not wearing nail polish though. Thank you Plex. The sandals also look pretty damn good, they look way comfy!

Naruto5

He has an awesome neck, with the way his head is turned it shows the pull of skin against the tendons perfectly.

Naruto6

I’ll be honest, I have no idea what this thing is hooked to his shoulder, but I do know it looks cool. The way the cord is pushed up adds to the movement of the figure itself.  I do really like how the scrolls look tightly bound together by the leather straps, however there are a few places where the scrolls could have been sanded down better. Another touch that I couldn’t help but admire is how the blue cloth of the forehead protector goes back behind his ears a little bit. Also the hair at the back of his neck, and right in front of his ears looks great.

Naruto7

The crinkles in his clothes at the elbow and shoulder look great.

Naruto8

Another interesting thing to note about this figure is that the straps aren’t all going in the same direction. Pretty cool. The blue scroll has a few very minor paint errors, Specifically around the tips of the red triangles.

Naruto9

If for some strange reason you’re standing over top the figure and staring intently down at the top of his head you can see a seamline running along the middle of his head. However this requires careful inspection, I mean seriously, you can barely see it even when you’re looking for it. On a more serious note I LOVE his spikes, they look great. Especially the shading, his scalp is more orange and the tips are a lighter yellow. Looks great!

Naruto10

Something I’m not too fond of though is this seam here at the top of the pack, it looks pretty damn ugly and way obvious. However his head blocks the view of it for the most part.

Naruto11

His belt has a little bit of orange overlapping the top of it which is disappointing. The pouch attached to his belt is another something oddish. Almost the entirety of this piece is covered up by the scroll he’s holding, they still went to the effort though of shading it. I was genuinely surprise by this. They also gave him back pockets which is always a great touch of detail.

Naruto12

I’m not going to spend too much time on this one, but another thing that always impresses me is tread on the bottom of shoes. A lot of figures have flat shoes on the bottom, and that’s ok, but this is what I prefer.

NAruto13

I like the separation of his fingers, they still look a little odd to me , but I think not having them stuck together helps a little bit. It’s in this hand that he holds the scroll which is the truly eye catching part of this figure.

Naruto14

It slides rather easily into his hand, It’s loose so not likely to have icky paint transference.

Naruto15

The outside of the scroll is covered in Yin Yang symbols, definitely original looking and it draws your attention right away from the bright orange guy and instead to what he’s holding.  The light blue is a brilliant choice for colour contrast.

Naruto16

The inside of the scroll on the other hand looks like this. There are scribbles all over it. Would it have looked cooler if it had been kanji? Probably, but then I’d try to translate it….this is easier on my grey cells.

Naruto17

The scroll hooks to him in three different locations, so you don’t really have to worry about it drooping or falling on another figure in your collection.

Naruto18

To my abject horror I noticed as I was taking pictures a loose piece. I shifted the figure a little and the ninja-to in his pack fell right out. I almost cried, did I break him already? My pleas were for naught though, the people at Plex made the knife removable. It even comes out of its sheath. A pity it’s too small for him to actually hold.

Naruto19

His base is a black octagon, It’s got the show logo on it as well as the name of the figure line. Overall this is the least impressive part of this figure.

Naruto20

His box is brown and orange, and puts me in the mind of hunting in the woods. It’s a sturdy box and features various windows for viewing him.

Naruto21

The box shows the original art he was based off of.

Naruto22

Overall this figure is amazing. I will not hesitate to buy another figure from Plex’s DPFC line. He may have minor flaws but I expect him to be a favourite in my collection for many years to come.

Naruto23

And if all that just isn’t enough for you….

Naruto24

Then you can take into consideration that Plex has made all three guys from One Piece based off of this illustration…. The Three Mugiwara Musketeers. Does that guarantee that they’ll make all four characters from the Naruto illustration? No it doesn’t, but it helps that they’ve already announced this:

Naruto25

Sakura, looking extremely badass, is an excellent choice for a second figure of course. I’m looking forward to buying the rest of the set if they make them. Believe It!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty five year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Varuna. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Uzumaki Naruto Door Painting Collection

  1. cb27ded says:

    Naruto looks incredible indeed, and I am super excited to see Sakura there. Be still, my heart!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Haruno Sakura 1/7 scale Plex | Somewhere In The Midst of Nowhere

Leave a comment