Gashapons, Trading Figures, and Petits Need Love Too: Part 14 Varuna One Coin

Header

Right today we’re going to sit down and take a look at the eyeless wonder himself. A demon amongst demons, today let’s take a look at Varuna aka Serph Sheffield.

20131223_191857

Serph has what is probably the most unique head on my shelf, long plates of heavy scales (?) cover the top of his head in an almost crown like fashion. These scales go far lower then they would on a human though and covers where his eyes and nose should be. Coming down from the scales are two deeply indented ‘tear tracks’ that cut all the way down his cheeks. His snarling mouth has sharp clenched fangs. Surprisingly for a figure this monstrous his lips are really defined.

20131223_191901

His neck, chest, and shoulders are protected by that same scaly plating. It kind of makes me think of a fish. It’s really well sculpted and has nice texture, especially at the neck where there’s extra design sculpted on.

20131223_191906

Unsurprisingly Serph has six pack abs. His body sans the plating is very lean, but very muscular at the same time. Okay, I admit that the paint on his stomach sucks. The bright yellow atma marks across his abdomen are sloppy and unevenly placed. Given that this is the majority of colour on the figure it really bites that it’s painted so sloppy.

20131223_191908

I’ll admit that Varuna’s legs aren’t as nice too look at as Keigo’s, but damn are they defined. For being a completely inhuman monster Serph has fantastic muscular structure. His muscles are clenched and he’s totally on the hunt. I will now resist the urge to refer to this toy as sugoi…..even if it is… Serph has awesome clubbed feet, I love it, they look insanely inhuman, but at the same time unlike any animal I’ve ever seen before. They kind of remind me of the last Sena prize figure I bought…. His feet are long and well textured so they look almost leathery. His toenails (or are they claws?) could have been painted better though.

20131223_191913

His arms look really dry, like the skin should be cracking with his movements. His biceps have great definition. His forearms however remind us yet again that Kazuma Kaneko IS the demon painter, his arms start split at the elbow so that his wicked bone blade can protrude out.

20131223_191916

And we thought Serph’s muscles were impressive when he wasn’t flexing. Now we see that leathery skin pulled taut over his muscles and it is brilliant.20131223_191926

A long thin blade splits Varuna’s arm. I adore it because that the blade isn’t silver, it’s the same off white as the bone itself. they did add a very light sheen to it though to remind you that it’s very sharp.

20131223_191930

His palms are brilliant! The texture on them is amazing and the brown paint job does an amazing job of making me think of dried blood.

20131223_191948

Serph has ears! So that must be how he knows where to hunt. Not by sight or scent, but by sound. That’s one of my questions about this game solved.

20131223_191954

His elbows all the way down to his knuckles have that cool plating again. I’m especially fond of the little fins on his elbows.

20131223_191956

This is our first really good shot of where his hand is quite literally split right down the middle.

20131223_191954

His legs look very nice from the side, I’m impressed that the plating on his legs is over the back of the knee and not the front.

20131223_192009

Serph’s back shows that same dedication to his muscular structure that the rest of the body does. It also shows the thick scales going down his back. I wonder if it’s protection for or a protrusion of his spine. Well  regardless it looks cool.

20131223_192013

Serph has a very distinctive butt. For that matter human or demon form he’s probably got the most blatant guy butt I can think of barring Free! and hentai. So yeah good sculpt on his body.  His feet show thick callouses (or cushions?) on the bottom of them. the colour is very distinctive and the texture looks great.

20131223_191850

So I mentioned once before that this strange little trading figure was one of my holy grail figures and that I hunted him for approximately 2 and 1/2 years. Was he worth it? Every cent. I’ve been faithfully following Kotobukiya for a lot of years and this figure exemplifies what they excel at.

Pros:

Holy god…it’s Serph

Or Varuna.

Amazing Detail

Great Expression

Fantastic Texture

Cons:

Yellow paint is sloppy

May be too ‘ugly’ for some peoples collections

Best guy butt on my shelf.

479px-Quantum_Devil_Saga_-_Avatar_Tuner_V

As an added bonus, it might be worth pointing out to the other DDS fans that the light novels written by Yu Godai were licensed by Bento books. The first is set to be released early this year.

tumblr_inline_mtq2qgtgCA1s3xsci

^_^

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Trading Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gashapons, Trading Figures, and Petits Need Love Too: Part 14 Varuna One Coin

  1. Lehst says:

    That’s awesome, it’s nice to see so many photos of something hard to find.

    And like WHOA!!! I had no idea about the light novels! seriously thanks for that heads up, I’m looking into their release now. I just hope they don’t die off like other novels, gonna support this so hard XDDD.

Leave a Reply

