Kotetsu T. Kaburagi Master Stars

HeaderEvery Kotetsu figure I’ve gotten up to date has had a bad sculpt, bad paint, or heaven help us a freaking lazy eye. I’ve heard really good things about the MS line though….so let’s give it a once over shall we?

1.0

Out of the Kotetsu’s thus far reviewed here in Somewhere, this one by far has the best face. I really like the sculpt of his head, the shape of his head is very manly, not at all like the pansy girly ones that have come out so far. Specifically this one has a very full chin, which looks better with the goatee then the standard pointed anime chin. His eyes are a solid brown, they droop downward a bit as is appropriate of the art style. This one also has crow’s feet done in a light shade of brown, it looks really good. His hands are done really well, his fingers have fully defined knuckles and there are lines on his palms.

2

The first obvious flaw on him is his call bracelet isn’t painted very well. Now if we look up at Kotetsu’s collar I’m going to point out something a little strange. The buttons on Ko’s collar have stitches, as though they were sewn on. His tie is really awesome, the studs, tacky though they may be, are all evenly spaced and well painted. Something that I do think is odd though is the stitching on the rest of his outfit. His green shirt and black pants both have tan stitches on them. Why? What kind of seamstress goes out of there way to do something that ridiculous. His tan vest has some very nice shading on it leaving at least this part of his outfit looking very classy.

3

The vest clings nicely to his waist and accentuates his body decently well. The buttonholes look really good. I mean really good, Kind of like they’re pulling against the fabric. His bely buckle is silver with a gold lining around the middle. It looks very nice.

4

His pants look like they’re done in an acid wash style. They also look recently ironed as evidenced by the folds on the front of each pant leg.  His pants as per normal are impossibly tight.

5

Ko’s socks have little wrinkles around the ankles. Nice touch! His shoes are well done, the laces in particular look fantastic. His shoes share that strange trait of tan stitching. He had to have had this outfit tailor made. He just had to.

6

His hat has two small injection mark on the brim, it’s kind of sad because the rest of it looks so good. He has a very nice profile and his spikey tresses look really good. Each spike has individual indented lines to signify strands.

7

I think the shape of Ko’s body is kind of funny, his chest puffs out so far that it makes the curve of his spine freaking hilarious. Kind of makes me think of a peacock.

8

Kotetsu’s other hand looks really nice too, you can clearly see the tendons on the back of his hand and his knuckles are clearly defined. His wedding ring is poorly painted, it loks down right sloppy, like the paint was watered down. Both his bracelet and watch look fantastic.

10

The buckle on the back of his hat is painted rather well. Another kind of cool thing here is the tips of Ko’s spikes are a lighter shade.

11

His posture looks good, the shoulderblades are clearly visible as well. His shoulders are thick and broad, and give a very nice appearance.

12

Ah my least favorite part of any Kotetsu figure. The butt. There is a small group of us in the T&B fandom that thoroughly hope Kotetsu never bends over. Ever. Those things are way to tight, I don’t honestly think he should be able to move in them at all but hey that’s just me.

15

Another nice touch to this particular figure is the shading on his sleeves. Around the folds it’s a darker green. It makes for a very nice contrast against the lighter shade.

14

 

His base is pretty worthless though, it doesn’t connect to him at all. Fortunately he stands really well even without it. The Wild Tiger emblem is emblazoned on the back. It’s kind of worthless all things considered though.

Overall this Kotetsu is really awesome. It’s extremely inexpensive too. He has very few flaws. The wedding ring, the injection marks on the hat, and the paint flaws on the call bracelet are the only issues I see at all.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty five year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Varuna. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment