Kureha Touka 1/8 Wave

Header1

Character: Touka Kureha

Series: Shining Wind

Sculptor: Katsushima Kouichi

Scale: 1/8

Manufacturer: Wave

Release Date: February 2013

Run: Standard

I have been wanting to review this figure for a long time, the last review I read for her was a bit disappointing, but I finally got the chance to talk about her myself. So why waste more time? Let’s jump right in and take a look at this gorgeous lady!

The first time I saw this figure she actually made me think a bit of Hermoine Granger. Go ahead and laugh, but at that time I had already decided that I needed her. I think Kureha looks really elegant this time around, definitely a step up from the last one I reviewed. I imagine with this pose that she is about to unleash a pretty awesome magical sword attack.

Kureha1

Kureha was designed by Tony Taka, so whereas that means she is absolutely gorgeous, she  has a pretty boring face. Every now and again he will give the ladies an open mouthed smile, but more often then not they look like this. This isn’t a bad thing, but it does get redundant. I will give this one that the light refracting (or impression of) off of her eyes makes her look dead serious. This feeling fits the pose well. I think arching her eyebrows a bit, or adding a bit more definition to her mouth would have had a great effect!

Kureha2

From her profile you can see just how little detail there is to her nose and mouth.

Kureha3

Her bangs are parted to one side and brushed to the other,  giving us a nice view of her face.  The detailing on the front of her hair is pretty simplistic, but gets the job done really well. I think too many lines in her bangs would detract from her overall elegance.

Kureha4

On her right side there is a long wispy piece of hair blowing behind her.

Kureha5b

The back of her hair is much more detailed. It does a really nice impression of hair blowing in the wind. Her hair is pretty devoid of shading, which is a bit disappointing.

Kureha6

Kureha’s paint job is really nice. The gold stripes are applied evenly, and the yellow of her tie is spot on.

Kureha7

Her sexy school jacket looks good, and the buttons are painted great. There is very little going on the fabric though. No folds or creases. It bothers the crap out me when school jackets and the like cling to breasts in a unnatural way. Clothing should not be vacuum sealed to the body, but a bit of movement in the garment would have been appreciated.

Kureha8

Here you can see the button on the far left is a bit off the mark, but the other two look good. The stripes are once again placed nicely. Her hand looks fabulous. The sculpt of her palm and thumb look especially good. I am also a fan of the way she holds the sword. She isn’t gripping it tightly, which is a bit different from so many others.

Kureha9

The buttons look much better on this sleeve. This hand also turned out really well. Coincidentally it is in almost the same position as the other one.

Kureha10

The back of Kureha’s jacket does have some creases in the fabric., which is welcome in my opinion. There is also a sartorial seem that goes straight down the back. I thought this was a nice touch.

Kureha11

Her super short skirt is adorable. The plaid print has been applied perfectly. I am not going to lie, I am a big fan of plaid skirts/ pants, so this wins major sexy points with me!

Kureha12

From the rear you can see her panties from almost every angle. If look at her from above or at eye level are the only ways to not see them. With a skirt this short I assume she doesn’t care though.

Kureha13.jpg

Kureha has very sexy legs. Her legs are one of my favourite parts of this figure. Se has lovely thick thighs, detailed knees, and well proportioned calves. We can thank that short pleated plaid skirt for the view of those thighs!

Kureha14

Back view because her legs are sexy, so why not?

Kureha15

I do not like her feet. Her loafers are pretty cute, but the backs of them look too low, like they are digging into her heels. It really looks painful. Maybe Kureha could not afford shoes in her own size.

Kureha16

The base is a simple beveled octagon. I really like this design because it looks classy and doesn’t detract from the figure.

Kureha17

Kureha’s magical blade is supposed to be transparent, or at least mostly so. It is fitting that used a frosted clear plastic for it. The shimmery effect definitely makes it look magical. The runes that go down the blade are crisp and clear!

Kureha18

The hand guard is made up of two crescent shape with a round center. In the middle is more runic text. It looks pretty cool.

Kureha19.jpg

The handle of her sword comes apart to fit easily into her hand. The pummel has yet another symbol in it. This one looks more like emblem or seal of some sort. I think the sword has more detailing than the figure.

Kureha20

I am really glad that I had the opportunity to add her to my collection. She is very pretty and well worth every penny paid! I am also always happy to give a figure a loving home, when they become unwanted.

Overall Enjoyment: 7/10

 

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Complete Figures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kureha Touka 1/8 Wave

  1. ColonelFancy says:

    Certainly a much more in depth view of a pretty darn cool looking statue.

  2. Topiki says:

    Thank you, sir.

  3. paul says:

    first time here on your blog and love the reviews you do, the detail you go into is impressive and you notice things i would never see myself. Excellent work 🙂

    • Topiki says:

      Thank you! I try to show as many details as possible. I want people to know exactly what they may be getting into for better or worse!

Leave a Reply

