Catherine Final Thoughts

909a1cdb7a1c1d93f6920ad708b190d4

Right so last week I posted my first impression of Catherine. Having given the game a thorough one time through I think I need to update a few things. So here we have it my final say on Catherine. Spoilers abound.

1706340-catherine_rush03

I thoroughly enjoyed the story all the way up through Katherine and I escaping the collapsing tower. The two of them fought and struggled and it was really quite entertaining and rather brilliant.  It added in a whole new element that I wasn’t expecting and it was damn neat. I enjoyed getting to meet the other sheep in and out of the bar, and I thought watching my friends show up in the dream was a really neat touch. I was I admit confused when Erica popped up rather then Tobias, but by the end it made sense. So Katherine coming by and finding Catherine was awesome, I loved the pseudo murder scene leading into the dream and reaching the top Katherine confessing she wasn’t preggers and she’d known for awhile was really cool. And speaking of that whole cluster the evil baby boss fight was simply put terrifying.

maxresdefault

The characters were kind of hit or miss, I liked the reporter Justin a lot, but out of the regular bar attendee sheeple he was the only one that really stood out to me as a halfway decent guy. I liked most of Vincent’s friends (I never warmed up to Jonny) Tobi was a regular delight  and seeing him try to win the waitress Erica (Eric) was kind of sweet, Orlando was a pervert and a liar, but he was funny enough to get away with it. I read that you can get him to talk to his ex-wife again which is pretty cool, but I didn’t get that ending. I wasn’t particularly fond of Catherine or Katherine, they both came off kind of needy and more then a little creepy to me. Vincent on the other hand was significantly more delightful then  expected him to be. Watching him dig himself deeper and deeper is amusing and wondering how he was going to get out of this mess was spectacular.

140724_BIT_CatherineInline6_jpg_CROP_original-original

The ending of Catherine was probably the most disappointing part of this game to me. I play a lot of Atlus games and I am getting real sick real fast of “whoops we need to tack something else on to drag the game on” syndrome. The bartender being your end boss felt really shoe horned. I am willing to admit that this scenario just endeared Vincent to me even more, but it left me with a bitter taste in my mouth. It’s just another instance of God’s screwing with you for no reason. I really liked it more when I thought it was just a bored succubus playing with men she thought needed punishment.

catherine_screens_49

The soundtrack is overall fairly pleasant, they even mixed a lullaby into the background of the dream. It was quite enjoyable.

Trap_Official

The game is hard. I mean that, I love puzzle games, but this one really ran me through the wringer. Especially the end fight, I genuinely think the only way to beat him is by maxing out your own personal luck stat and hoping for a miracle simultaneously. As the game progresses they introduce trap cubes that have ice on them so you slide off to your death, spikes, monsters, and ones that are random so you don’t know what they’ll do until you step on them all while the floor is falling below you and there are murderer sheep trying to kill you! It’s freaking insane.

cath6

I was genuinely overall very fond of this game. Just don’t expect the story to go too far from the usual Atlus flair and you will probably love it too.

6f60140b8ed9d26fdf4ff0024b8511fb

Final Grades:

Story: we were presented with a damn intriguing story that left me guessing and had both my sister and I throwing out some serious speculations: 8

Characters: In spite of a few flaws and characters I’m sure I wasn’t supposed to like I found enough enjoyment in most of them to get past the worst: 7

Ending: I was ok with the ending I myself got, but the parts from “fighting” Catherine to the end boss were horrible and cliché. I was really disappointed that with such a unique and creative game they reached into the same bag of tricks again: 5

Soundtrack: Not much else to say there that hasn’t already been said. It was a nice touch to the game and the songs playing through the course of it always seemed fairly appropriate: 9

Difficulty: Teeters between easy and hard with no real middle ground. but if you pay attention to the tutorials scattered about throughout the entirety of the game you should do ok: 8

Overall score: 8
catherine_screen

 

 

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catherine Final Thoughts

  1. ColonelFancy says:

    This really was the most original game I’ve played in a long time, and it’s because the minds behind it really thought outside the box.

Leave a Reply

