Tekizen’s Year End Review Part 2

I didn’t actually watch a whole lot of anime so I expect this to be a fairly short post with bits of random padding and blatantly made up categories! Yay! Spoilers will be present. You have been warned. Enjoy! These are the bests and worsts from what I watched this year ld or new.

Worst Show of the Year:

God-Eater1Hands sown no holds barred this one goes to God Eater, which in and of it’s self is a crying shame. I really enjoyed the psp game and I was looking forward to this. My jaw was agape at how bad it was. The animation was flawed and choppy, and the cell shading was hideous, the character proportions were ridiculously bad  and it felt like the show was trying really hard to want to be Attack on Titan without having the balls to do anything with it. It’s no wonder the last half a season got delayed by monthes.

Best Show of the Year:

1c111a06411b5bb8678de6055419c1e9Haikyuu holds steady to being a gem, a gem I wish would stop before I end up thoroughly disliking it, but nonetheless. I think it’s almost a little bit sad that we have to rely on sports shows for good shonen anymore. The characters in Haikyuu are bright, vibrant, and lovable, each has their own distinctive and diverse personality. This cast is amazingly easy to fall in love with.

Best Looking Male character:

For shows that I watched this year the answer is easily Free Eternal free-eternal-summer-episode-1-11Summer’s Makoto Tachibana. He’s cute, fun, sweet, and he likes cats too! Makoto is an all around fantastic character and he has some great fan service to boot (in the end song he’s dressed like a firefighter!). Makoto  is built ridiculously well for a high school student, and there’s no denying the attractive level of him in general.On the other hand though if I were to pick from shows that aired this year I would continue to cheat and use Kuroh Yatogami the black dog from K: Return of the King…..I mean Return of Kings….. tumblr_ntp7ww5Ohj1udufgro1_500Kuroh like Makoto is an overly sweet individual even if he isn’t as good at showing it. He takes pleasure in simple things like cooking meals for his family, listening to his mentor’s words of wisdom, and the craft work required to fix a friends outfit. Above and beyond that though he’s physically attractive as well with blue eyes that draw you in and long locks of black hair that you just want to run your fingers through.

Best Looking Female Character:

I showcased two amazing young men up top so in ladies I will k-return-of-kings-episode-1-36showcase one buxom young lady and one older less ahhh teenager one. Continuing with the Silver Clan K also has a girl tagging along beside Shiro and Kuroh, her name is Neko, or Miyabi Ameno. She has long pink hair, heterochromatic eyes, and an adorable personality. In spite of her complete disregard for clothes she’s alsoCosplay-wig-Sakura-snow-cos-assassination-classroom-teacher-Yela-Be-Ge-wig-special-Irina sported some really cute classy outfits. The second lady in question is Irina Jelavic from Assassination Classroom. In spite of how desperate she may come off Irina is actually a physically very attractive woman. It’s only once she starts talking that you remember she’s kind of psychotic.

Scariest Anime:

zero-raws-devil-survivor-2-the-animation-13-end-mbs-1280x720-x264-aac-mp4_snapshot_17-47_2013-06-27_21-36-27I didn’t watch anything truly terrifying this year (other then the live action Attack on Titan), so I’ll just take this category from a different stand point. The scariest anime I watched this year was Devil Survivor 2. This adaptation had to have been designed to make fans of the game cringe in pain.

Funniest Anime:

tumblr_n0e1ynEF7a1sl8jsao1_500I don’t think honestly that I would have found Ace of Diamond to be even a quarter of as good without Miyuki, but this guy’s personality is complete and utter win. He’s funny and just a little bit mean, they don’t overkill it or overplay it though and that in and of self is refreshing.

Worst Villain:

0c1640ecc31161f9825a5586c41f217eK Project got lucky, I was about three seconds away from typing in the name of the green king however I forgot about Takaoka from AC. This guy was pissy because he lost a fight with a junior high student. He pissed and moaned and plotted an over done revenge scheme that even his lackeys found to be too much so they foiled assclass-42-2him but the kids even got there.  Not going to lie though it was well worth it to see Karasama sensei elbow this jack knob in the face and lay him flat for screwing with his students. Possibly the best move I’ve seen from a teacher in anime since Great Teacher Onizuka.

Best Antagonist: Best Character Develpoment:

tumblr_nl7ylg6wWD1uopkfao1_500Slaine Troyard is a funny one in my opinion, he is in fact only the antagonist because we aren’t witnessing his side of the struggle. He’s smart, talented, and easily the best character in this show. Like Suzaku Kururugi and Athrun Zala before him he has support groups justifying his sometimes extreme actions. The thing to look at here though is that the “hero” didn’t have it in him to kill Slaine in the end. He ended up becoming the scape goat for fundamentally every bad thing that happened in the series his fault or not. Count Troyard we salute you. A post on tumblr about him read as follows:

tumblr_nlxxbq1byS1uolh6oo1_500So, the ending of Aldnoah basically involved Slaine becoming the scapegoat for the entire war. It’s also great how the media blamed him for the assassination attempt on Asseylum, which was obviously untrue. Slaine gets screwed over again, but check out his facial expression in his final scene. It reads to me like there may be a Season 3 and he’ll get a chance to make peace with himself. His character development goes way beyond what any other character in this show receives. Season 2 was all about this boy.I will forever be on Slaine’s side.

Biggest Surprise Show:

tumblr_n3wm5yq6AN1qha12so1_1280Ace of Diamond. I hate baseball. I always have and I probably always will, however I am willing to lay down my weapons and admit that this is in spite of me hating the sport itself a really enjoyable show. I’ve even bought toys from it. So there that clears that skeleton out of the closet.

 

Biggest Surprise Character:

vlcsnap-2015-04-27-21h50m22s619Karasama Sensei kind of blew me out of the water. He’s a gruff grumpy individual who looks like he could break someone in half with his bare hands. Watching him though we see how much he cares for the people around him and it’s a pretty big surprise and one that I definitely approved of.

Biggest Disappointment Show:

I think I already talked about the tragedy that was God Eater up aboveNo-game-no-life so instead I’m going to talk a little about this horrendous title called No Game No Life. This series is about two truly deplorable individuals who swindle people. Their relationship is genuinely creepy and honestly it’s kind of sad the premise sounded so cool, but ultimately it’s a giant pile of fail.

Biggest Disappointment Character:

untitledErina from Food Wars, I want to set this character on fire. She is a psycho and completely ruins this title for me. She singlehandedly dropped what could have been a good show into unwatchable.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

