Ships That Won’t Come In. A Rant. Part 1

truck

Hello ladies and gentlemen of Nowhere, my name is Tekizen and I am here to probably scare the living hell out of you. Over the course of the next few weeks I’m going to talk about ships, and I don’t mean Kan Colle.The subjects will be my favorite video game series as two anime series picked at randomish. This was started over in my tumblr account when my opinion was thrown entirely out the window, you see I made the pic mistake of saying “I don’t support character A with character B” I’m not going to say what the exact reply was, but I will admit it has led to this here series of shipping charts as well as my commentary on  multiple pairings throughout these beloved titles.

gg

ddsshipchartI’m going to start with Digital Devil Saga. The relationships in DDS are overly complicated and I think fairly difficult to explain, but I will do my best in general.

serphsera

The most complicated of this is the Serph –Sera–Heat–Seraph dynamic. Oh my God I forgot Seraph on the chart….That thing adds a whole new level of freakshow to this whole debacle. Right so Serph and Sera, Sera clearly loves Serph. I mean that’s as transparent as a piece of glass. He’s the silent hero, brave steadfast and true, the type that it’s easy to fall in love with. The end of the first game leads me to believe that Serph loves Sera as well with how desperately he was reaching for her hand.  The opening of the second game shows Serph staring down at his hand before curling his fingers shut, as though he were lamenting over that which had slipped from his grasp. The other stunning moment is the characters deaths, when Serph and Sera die they are of course together with him waiting by her lifeless body for death to simply take him. He had nothing left after all and it was mere moments after letting her go that he himself died of asphyxiation. However even the little moments stand out just as strongly. The hug shared after her rescue from Disneyland or how his eyes lit with emotion for the first time ever upon seeing her laying in the crater, every moment shared between the two is important for one reason or another.

Shipping Label- *****

art_trade__heat_x_sera_by_iwonn-d2xm3yy

Sera and Heat is a little bit stranger and it leads me down a completely different path. Heat loves her, thinks she’s the cat;s meow really. Sera however doesn’t really seem to understand Heat. Almost coming off as afraid of him. Again though that’s the bare bones of the situation. Sera looks so upset when Serph carried out Heat’s body, her face speaks volumes. Heat wears his emotions on his sleeve, he’s clearly frustrated a lot he doesn’t really grasp these new and complicated emotions of his. He kisses Sera not understanding the action itself, he watches with growing jealousy as Sera hugs Serph. So he acts out aggressively like a child. My first play through of this series I kind of wanted to throw this guy off of a balcony, but as time progresses I find myself more often then not thinking “Poor Heat.”

Shipping Label- *****

tumblr_nik9zgRZws1rqhy23o3_500

Now the dynamic between Heat and Serph is a strange one full of anger, jealousy, betrayal, and undying trust. In other words these two would be the perfect leads of a clichéd Shojo anime. Regrettably it can’t be as easily summarized as Serph loves Sera, Sera loves Serph. We’ll start with the analysis of the Embryon’s leader himself. Serph trusts Heat with everything he is, he trusts Heat so strongly, believes his comrade would return to his side with so much passion that when betrayal stares him in face not once but three times tumblr_nik9zgRZws1rqhy23o4_500wearing the same face he does not flinch away. After everything, after the hand plunged through his stomach, he still whispers to Heat that they are comrades, the Embryon code word for “friends”, he till rushes to Heat’s side as the redhead bled out, and he still treated his body with the utmost respect. Perhaps Serph doesn’t love Heat the way he loves Sera, sometimes it may just come off that Serph is far too kind, but it’s hard to believe he doesn’t love his friend. Then there’s Heat himself, Heat who is angry and jealous of Serph. Heat who swore he could never betray his leader, who eventually did in fact do that very thing, and who subsequently was driven completely mad by his own actions. He completely lost himself when he “killed” Serph, lost his humanity and even went so far as to attack Sera. At the end of the first game Heat sounds broken hearted when he says that Serph won’t make it to the portal. Then there’s the end of the second game you can choose to either have Heat or Roland join your party, if you hit all of Heat’s flags he will look surprised to be forgiven and welcomed back into the fold.

Shipping Label- *****

images2WGC7PM1

Before the final dungeon of the game Serph and Sera take decisive action against the concept of the OT3 by merging into one transgendered being known as Seraph. He/She is an enlightened being that takes aspects from both individuals, it has Sera’s voice and understanding, and Serph’s kindness and strength. Heat’s reaction to this above and beyond the awe of acceptance was “cute”. So if any of my reasoning above is even close to making sense then that means Seraph would still love Heat, possibly even more then before since it embodies two peoples feelings, and Heat in turn still wants to draw them back to him again.

Ship Label- *****

untitledhjhl

Now for something completely different and entirely the same all at one time. Sheffield and O’Brien. This is a fairly common ship and one that in general I don’t like at all. The chemistry just isn’t there. I’m not going to lie I don’t think Sheffield is above sleeping with people to control them. I mean he wasn’t above trying to become a god, so what’s a little bit of adultery? O’Brien however I think is kind of above getting drawn into that web. I get the distinct impression that he hates Sheffield way too much for this ship to ever be my thing.

Shipping Label- 0

serph_sheffield_by_hideyo-d3g31y0

We could have tossed fake Serph in here too just for giggles, but this ship really bothers the unholy hell out of me. Avatar Serph deserves so much better then this. There’s also the fact that by the time Avatar Serph does come around in his current incarnation Sheffield is long since dead. So yeah I just can’t say that I care. Selfcest has always creeped me out and God help me I hope I never do understand the appeal to this.

Shipping Label- 0

images44DUIIP5

Varin X Serph disgusts me. I have run into this one time before, and just ewww…. no.

Shipping Label- 0

imagesE54NJBYN

I mentioned above that  I could totally see Sheffield using sex to manipulate someone, well this is the epitome of that. I have issues with the concept of sexual manipulation, but Argilla smiles so sweetly at Sheffield that I can’t help but think that’s a thing. Do I really like that? No not really. Still there’s more then enough data to back it up.

Shipping Label- 0

imagesO4NGG68U

I have really mixed feelings about this. On one hand it was Lupa’s death that woke Gale to emotions, not his memories of Jenna, nope it was Lupa. There’s also Gale wandering around with Lupa’s tag ring, and he goes and consoles the other man’s son after his death too. Now the problem is Lupa. If I see this as anything I would say one sided crush. Lupa sees Gale as a man of honor and that’s pretty much it.

Shipping Label- **

ghfhfjgbk

Gale and Roland is a fairly popular umm thing. Again I don’t really see the appeal of this. I am slightly amused that it doesn’t have fan art. Anywho, the usual take here is that Gale wants Roland to get over his ‘humanity’ and Roland is slowly becoming more of a demon while with the Embryon. The whole thing comes off fairly awkwardly honestly. :/

Shipping Label- *

DDS__How_Tragic_by_blank_death

I’m going to be perfectly honest the only interaction I actually remember between Gale and Cielo was Gale trying to eat him. I have zero clue how this became a thing save for the old adage of ‘leftovers’. Which in retrospect is a bad term to use in regards to a game about cannibalism.

Shipping Label- 0

imagesOF8JUL33

So above I covered selfcest, just for anyone that wondered I have equally large issues with incest. Especially when one of the two people involved is your six year old daughter in a teenager’s body. Creepy factor is over 9000.

Shipping Label- I should have made one lower then 0

tumblr_lmedgpM9MB1qkhqwdo1_500

Gale and Angel kind of make me laugh a little bit, this is a canon pairing that has virtually no backing, from myself included. We know Jenna went batshit crazy when David (Gale) died, and thus her whole weird lets destroy everything manipulation game thing started and it was a giant cluster fuck, but memories of her still weren’t enough to wake him up, and that is and always will be my number one gripe with this pairing. I get it, I can see  it, it’s canon, but I don’t feel it. On a side note though they were together again after being reincarnated.

Shipping Label- **

tumblr_lqpthtgRsA1qd1zyvo1_500

Argilla and Roland have nice chemistry , they also have quite a bit in common. Both hate what they have become and both have experienced extreme bouts of loss. Argilla died for Roland which was heartbreaking, and he when he probably still could have escaped stayed by her side to die too.

Shipping Label- ***

gjgfvnvb

Argilla and Roland have nothing though on the massive rollercoaster of feelings that is Jinana and Argilla.Whoever would have thought that I would support a pairing of thongs and biting boobies? For everything Roland and Argilla had, Her and Jinana have in spades. The two characters who refuse to eat others, who question this strange new world and these powers, the two who find solace in each others arms albeit briefly.

Shipping Label- ****

lhjkgjkg

This just squems me out, mostly because Bat makes me squirmy. That is all.

Shipping Label- 0

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ships That Won’t Come In. A Rant. Part 1

  1. ColonelFancy says:

    Varin and Serph is certainly a new one for me!!

Leave a Reply

