Ritsu Tainaka Ichiban Kuji

Header2 copy copy

Ritsu is an easy shoe in for my favorite K-On character. This girl is positively insane, I first bought this figure because I thought that this figure accentuated her insanity pretty well…honestly I walked away a little disappointed… Let me show you why.DSC00287

 

I have a few issues with this figure right off the bat, but we can get it into that in just a minute… We’ll actually start with her hair which I might add is utterly fantastic. She’s got her usual headband holding her bangs back out of her eyes, and the back is spiked out in a fun punk rock fashion.  I really love what they did with her hair. So with that out of the way…Problem 1: What in Chaos’ name is up with the olive skin tone? It looks like she used a cheap spray on tan. Then there’s her expression, yeah sure she looks like she’s singing, but she doesn’t look like she’s enjoying herself at all,  even more so then that her expression definitely doesn’t match up with her outfit even a little bit. I will be fair though and point out that the decals on her face are all applied really well.

DSC00289

She’s wearing a black tank top/bellyshirt combination underneath a white overshirt. It has a black eyeball printed on the front of it that reminds me of ‘Tomodachi’ from Twentieth Century Boys. Her hand holding the microphone is decently done but the paint on her nails goes down just a little bit too far. There’s also a seam running along her knuckles which disappoints me a little bit. The microphone itself looks pretty good though.

DSC00291

I kind of appreciate that she doesn’t have a perfectly flat belly. It’s kind of nice seeing slightly more realistic proportions on a figure. She has slightly visible hip bones, which match up nicely with her not very toned stomach.

DSC00296

She’s wearing a pretty torn up skirt which looks mostly good. I like the overlapping layers a lot. The belt is painted really poorly though. The white paint for the belt itself is too thin in a lot of places and you can see the black through it. The belt buckle isn’t fully painted on the sides.

DSC00297

Ritsu’s wearing long leggings under the skirt which is really cute and definitely adds to the punk girl look.

DSC00298

Now here she starts to lose me again. What the hell is wrong with her legs?!? They don’t have the same spray on tan look that the rest of her skin does which just makes it really offputting. I don’t really like the olive look, but I’d prefer if they were going to do it that they did it for the whole figure not just half of it.

DSC00299

Her shoes are kind of cute though, they’re standard dress shoes.

DSC00300

There is no definition between her mouth and the her nose, this is a serious pet peeve of mine. I’m pretty fond of the fact that her earrings clash with the rest of her outfit. It’s a nice touch for this particular look.

DSC00301

I love this shirt. It’s open on the sides allowing for her arms to go through while still providing a wide birth of movement.

DSC00304

I really like the folds in the skirt itself, it looks kind of wild and cool. There are two seams that I’m not too fond of on this side, but they merge in decently well.

DSC00305

There  are nice wrinkles at the knees which I appreciate.

DSC00307

Her brown locks are slicked back in thick even spikes, it looks really awesome. Especially when taken into account how wild it is compared to her usual look.

DSC00308

The over shirt has some fantastic folds in the fabric that really bring the outfit to life. I do wish that had done a little bit more work with both her muscular and skeletal structures though.

DSC00309

I don’t really dig the arm behind her, but it’s mostly because I’m not really sure what she’s doing. It doesn’t look bad per say but I don’t really get it.

DSC00312

Her base is shaped like a star and looks like a grade schooler scribbled all over it, so it was probably Ritsu herself…

Pros:

Good Sculpt

Fun new outfit

Kind of makes me think of Dirty Dancing

Fun Base

Cons:

Really lifeless for K-On

Strange Skin tone

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ritsu Tainaka Ichiban Kuji

  1. Great article, I never thought I would read a good review on a cool character figure. Thanks

Leave a Reply

