Kazemaru Ichirouta Sentinel

Header1

I’ve found over the course of the last few years that I’ve been reviewing a lot of sports figures, with I’m sure many more to come. Well I’ve got one of those fantastic anime athletes to share with you today. May I present Kazemaru Ichirouta.

1

Ichirouta has a fantastic head of long teal hair, it has just enough defining lines to put you into the thought process of hair, rather then plastic blob or helmet. The feminine locks fall in front of one of his brown eyes in classic cliché anime fashion. The look on his face is that of someone who is carefully plotting his next move.

2

He has really nice hands, his fingers are carefully positioned in that oh so thoughtful manner. One finger rests close to his lips which just adds to the effect of that smile. His arms are lightly muscled which looks about right for an athlete of his age. His shirt has a scuff down the front of it that regrettably draws your eyes right to it.

3

His shirt clings nicely to his thin frame, the wrinkles in his clothes look nice and natural. Fortunately as Ichirouta is a character from Inazuma 11 and not say Ken Hidaka we don’t have to worry about my fascination with soccer shorts interfering in my judgment. Honestly the I think the shorts lack a little bit in detail.

4

He does have good strong looking legs, the sculpt of them is nice, especially the knees and the calves. Also it’s a new and interesting thing to see a shonen character wearing socks, sigh if only they were painted a little bit better.

5

Now one of the coolest things about Inazuma is that the characters have to be the most talented athletes in anime,  They manage to play soccer in clown shoes, how awesome is that? I mean just imagine if they played in shoes proportionate to their bodies! Okay jokes aside, the shoes were recreated really well. The sculpt and paint both look good from this angle.

6

His profile is hidden by his Jessica Rabbit hairdo which I might add still looks pretty good. I like that the tail end of the topknot is separated into strands giving it a little extra body.

7

The gray stripes on his sleeve were painted rather poorly and thus go into the blue, the yellow cuff on the end didn’t fair much better. One of my few problems with this figure is because of the matte finish on his clothes it scuffs really easy and they show mega bad.

8

The blue stripes on the shorts were done a lot better then the stripes on his shirt.

9

His socks not so much.

10

I love how windswept his hair looks from the back, like it’s caught wafting on the wind. The detail here is really nice without being overdone.

11

The number 2 is printed clearly on the back of his jersey, it looks very good, the decal is very crisp and placed perfectly centralized. Yet again though there are scuffs near the bottom of his shirt.

12

There really is nothing at all that differentiates the back of the shorts from the front. His legs are very nice, I’m very fond of the shape of them. Perfect for a little soccer boy.

13

Ichirouta has a surprisingly nice profile, both his nose and mouth have good definition. It might be my kind of crappy lighting, but I think he looks a little sadistic from this angle…..

14

Fortunately the lines on this sleeve are applied better, however now we have flecks of paint near the cuff.

15

The stripe on the shorts on this side though is worse, it’s kind of a no win situation really.

17

The box shows various photographs of Ichirouta, Endou, and Kirino the three figures from this set.

16

I know I had a few gripes along the way, but honestly I’m pretty pleased with these figures. At a 35 dollar price point I think they are well worth it to Inazuma fans to go buy. I don’t expect we’ll ever see better figures of these guys, so go out and buy yours before the prices skyrocket!

 

Pros:

You get what you pay for

Great expression

A colourful cast of characters that deserve toys actually getting them

Cons:

Fairly sloppy paint

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

