Nia Teppelin Phat Company 1/8 scale

Header

Today I’m going to show you guys one of the most fun figures I’ve gotten my hands on in quite awhile.

nia1

So for starters we have… a hat! It’s a really big poofy hat. IT’s majority is pink but with large gold bands on it. Presumably holding the uhh poof together. Yeah that was dignified sentence….

nia2

Nia’s thick cotton candy bangs look really cute… until you actually look at them.  Whereas they do frame her face nicely, they are also painted kind of bad, the colours are way outside of the lines and there is a pretty questionable seam line cutting across them as well. Her face is really cute though, I like the cross (flower) thing in her open eye, it contrasts with the natural blue of her eyes very nicely.

nia3

Then there’s Nia’s….. holy hell girl what are you wearing? Right so pasties. Or double sided tape, more likely the tape given the rest of the little vest thingie. So anyway, she has little flower boobies which is kind of cute, tasteless, but kind of cute. Her chest and stomach are sculpted really well if you dig that emaciated look. You can see the indent of her ribcage clear as day.

nia8

Her leggings are painted way better then her hair is, but yet again we’ve got kind of foul seams. They tried to hide them in the stripes, but ultimately I really think it kind of comes off as fail.

nia7

Nia’s long hair is puller back in pigtails, which is a really cute look for her. The hair ties holding back her long tresses are adorned with little flowers that match this figures overall design rather nicely. The sculpt of this particular pigtail is really nice, it fits Nia perfectly, but yet again the paint is a complete catastrophe.

nia4

Her arms are thin and decently sculpted aside from the fact that her elbow is bent backwards. Is her magical girl power contortionism maybe?

nia5

To continue with the question mark that exemplifies this figure so well she’s wearing big Mickey Mouse style gloves…..

nia6

I hate this strand of hair a lot. Mostly because you can blatantly see where they connected it, which well to be honest it sucks.

nia9

Nia is wearing an adorable pink pleated mini skirt that has little bits of dark pink shading. With it she’s wearing a white belt that is miraculously painted really well.

nia10

From there we go down to her pink gogo boots. I’m not sure what the trim substance is supposed to be…. fur? Clouds? Poof? Unknown wizard material? Whatever it is it looks cute with the overall design of the figure, I just don’t know what it is…..

nia11

Actually I take it back, on closer inspection her stockings are painted like crap too.

nia12

To compliment the outfit (?) a little further and to keep this from an nsfw rating Nia’s wearing a pair of frilly white bloomers with her skirt. The sculpt looks good without being obnoxiously overdone.

nia13

I love the bushiness of these pigtails. I think it’s pretty damned cute!

nia14

She’s got a pretty decent back, there’s nice definition on the shoulder blades and the back of her shirt (?) looks really nice. I like the gold loop a lot.

nia15

And this hand doesn’t look anywhere near as good as the other one does. I’m going to guess it’s because the fingers are straight so there isn’t as much room for detail but still….

nia17

Next is the staff Nia’s holding. At the end of it is some strange fairy flower bug version of Lord Genome. Personally I think this is right around what this guy deserved. His sculpt is pretty good and so is his paint. Protruding from the back of the flower is a staff of gold and clear plastic that swirl around each other. It presents a nice magical effect.

nia18

Her base is the moon. And we all thought Goddess Madoka was huge. It has little craters all over it, which is pretty nice. Nia does not come off her base.

nia19

Coming off the back of the moon are two shooting stars. I am scares to death of breaking these things. The plastic connecting pieces are tiny…..nia20

Last but not least is what the base rests on. Oh yes you guessed it right. It’s another flower. This time in a transparent pink.

nia22

Oh yeah I almost forgot as an added bonus Nia comes with the true hero of Gurren Lagann as her sidekick. Look it’s Boota! Instead of eyes though he has two different coloured flowers for eyes. Or maybe they’re sunglasses? Ah well anyway…

nia23

This version of the little pigmole also has wings this go round, and his curly cue tail also has a flower on the end of it.

nia24

And a star shaped bald spot on his butt.

niaa21

Overall I really like the originality of this figure, but damn does she need some help in the paint department.

 

Pros:

Cute

Original

Colorful

Lord Genome got what he deserved

It’s not GSC’s Goddess Madoka

Cons:

Poor paint

Questionable Seams

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nia Teppelin Phat Company 1/8 scale

  1. ColonelFancy says:

    Her color scheme seems a little muted and washed over.

Leave a Reply

