Megaten Monday: Digital Devil Saga Part 11

header

Alright here we are (finally) at the last part of Mystery Castle.

1-4

1I love hoe the static cleared up right after the most important story point. I do love the “tragically slain” bit. Like most slayings aren’t tragic or something.

5-8

And then there’s Heat who doesn’t give a damn about the story itself. He’s too busy being pissed off. Wonder if the story hit too close to home for him.

9-12

Right, this wasn’t even really necessary for me to show, but I thought it was kind of funny.

13-16

So after the guiding light, we finally make it to the top of the tallest bloody tower where the Princess is waiting. Oh and so is Mick the Slug, but who the hell really cares about this guy? On a side note I don’t think I’ve ever loved Sera more then in that last panel.

17-20

Mick does the traditional bully thing of threatening the girl, while Heat does the traditional if you hurt her I’m going to tear your hands off speech.

21-24

And Het really does go towards them. Mostly for the purpose of getting a knife shoved into his gut.

25-28

Bat being the underling that he is can’t be bothered to actually try to fight Serph himself. So instead he fundamentally threatens Heat into it.

29-32

Heat, is a fantastic loser (I love him) and he plays the “We’ll finally know who’s stronger card) while he’s bleeding profusely all over the balcony.

33-36

Of course this is a series of events that Sera will probably never forgive him for. On side note they’re features all seem unnaturally clear in this scenario….

37-40

After a short in battle scenario screen wherein I’m not allowed to use Megido on Heat even if I have earned it already. We get a cinema of the two scuffling in demon form. I couldn’t get a picture of it, but Serph’s little slip out from under Heat back flip move thing is so boss….

41-44

Sera not wanting to see her two princes kill eachother takes this distraction as time to slip away from Mick and jump to her death.  Only to get her wrist grabbed by the Slug himself. Seems he’s more agile then I thought.

45-48

But Sera invokes her dark evil Princess power and demands Mick let’s her go. Which he does…literally and Sera is falling to her death again, only to have Bat catch her.

49-52

Bat reveals that he was two timing…triple timing and that he’s actually going to join the Brutes. Huh. Anywho as he’s flying off with Sera who swoops in to save her but the flying shark Cielo! Sweet! So Cielo rips off Bat’s wing grabs Sera and lands them safely back on the balcony. In other words we could have saved like ten minutes of animation and just had Cielo catch Sera in the first place.

53-56

Beautifully as Mick is trying to get away Gale reveals that he’s been guarding the exit. Knew I loved him for a reason.

57-60

And “we’ll tear you apart you fat freak” is one of my favorite moments ever. Also, I know they are gone in the next scenario but I like that Serph and Sera have bruises on the opposite cheeks from one another it’s kind of like…. well never mind I’ll come back to that when it isn’t a spoiler.

61-64

I also love this, how are we even supposed to concentrate on the conversation going on in the background when we’re getting genuine emotion from Serph. We don’t get close focusing shots very often, but the caring and concern are always painfully evident in his eyes.

65-68

And as Sera starts to awaken he stops with the innocent way of looking at her, quiet introspection interrupted and general confusion showing as she launches straight into an apology.

69-72

Sera’s beginning to have doubts about where she belongs and Heat being inanely socially awkward comes off more threatening then anything else when trying to comfort her.

79-80

And all Heat’s efforts result in is Serpg getting this big old loving hug. Awww how sweet.  And that’s the end of Mystery Castle ladies and gentlemen I hop you’ll join me again next week for Part 12 of DDS!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

