Soundtrack for Your Fandom: Digital Devil Saga 1 and 2

dds

I was surfing around a while ago and found someone’s fan made soundtrack for a video game that they loved. The theory was to make a CD that contained songs that fit the franchise to a T. Well here’s my own personal take on that for the game series that I’m almost done playing for my third time through. Digital Devil Saga! Spoilers for both games baby!

The first song that came to mind when I was composing my list was The Spin Doctors song Two Princes. Which in fact should have been playing for the entirety of Mystery Castle. No really I mean that, just not in the way you think. It would have been epic to have this song from Heat’s POV. He has nothing to offer Sera, but he still is entirely dedicated to her all while losing to the ‘Good Prince’, the one that everyone else sees and approves of.

Song number two goes back to those two awesome princes (most of these will honestly). the second song that jumped out at me is a dedication to the man with the plan Serph Sheffield. This man was so horrible to Sera that her sadness over his lying scheming ways destroyed the world. Wow! He acted so nice and sweet to her, and it was all one big lie.

The next song explores the relationship between Heat and Serph of the avatar persuasion. I see them as having a really deep relationship though. Perhaps I’m personally reading to much into it, but I honestly think they love each other just as much as either love Sera. That’s where Snuff comes into play. This song is clearly about two people who had a very deep relationship and the lyrics play out beautifully for my head canon for Serph and Heat’s relationship. “When you refused to fight” was when Serph wouldn’t fight back against Heat at Mystery Castle, “Love is just a camouflage for what resembles rage” is Heat trying to comprehend the concept of these new emotions and what they are supposed to mean. “I only wish you weren’t my friend then I could hurt you in the end” Am I the only one who noticed that Heat went batshit crazy after “killing” Serph? This means so much to me because it means after everything he still loved his leader enough that his death drove him over the edge. It was also still Serph that he trusted with his final secrets and with Sera’s life….. Sorry a little more ranty then I intended.

Song four is a fun one, It’s by the band Lovers and Liars and is called I’m not him. I like this one for my soundtrack because the song could be from either Serph (avatar) or either Heat. The song is about a girl who was in a really crappy relationship and was hurt so badly that she didn’t think she could ever recover. The horrible guy in question would of course be Sheffield….

Song number five deviates entirely from that really off putting love triangle (though Seraph solves that problem I guess) and focuses over on Argilla. Stand in the Rain by Superchick is a song about a woman who’s trying her best to be strong. She knows that she’s close to breaking, but keeps her feet underneath her and keeps moving forward anyway. That’s how I’ve always viewed Argilla, I think honestly for all that they tried to make Sera seem like she was made of porcelain the party sniper always seemed so much closer to breaking.

My next pick hits the entirety of the Embryon. That’s right even Fred. Under Pressure is a brilliant song about watching those around you desperately trying to solve well everything. I’m especially fond of the massive questioning of love and trying again. Just think about it for a minute…you’ll see where I’m coming from.

I love Avatar version Serph. A lot. Like a lot lot. I’m deviating from him again though to talk about Heat…again. The song Shame by Stabbing Westward is about seeing yourself through someone else’s eyes and no longer knowing exactly who you are anymore. I’m especially fond of “If only you would speak to me or care if I’m alive Once I swore I would die for you but I never meant like this” Obviously it’s not a physical death he’s talking about but something way more emotional. And the bit about caring I’m alive is pretty harsh to and insanely fitting, how often did we witness Sera simply brush past Heat to go stand by Serph? On the opposite side of the spectrum however we could also look at this from Sera’s perspective “I only see myself reflected in your eyes So all that I believe I am essentially are lies” could be directed towards Mr Sheffield when sera discovered the truth about him.  Or “And everything I’ve hoped to be or ever thought I was Died with your belief in me so who the hell am I?” we could look at this from Serph’s perspective towards Heat….but I suppose that’s starting to get a little head canony again.

Oh hoho I bet no one saw this one coming. Yep breaking out the Madonna action now. Playground is about looking back on something that u=you used to have and what it once meant to you. This is another one that I’m dragging back out for Sera. Just imagine those last few moments as she’s in tears climbing the tower at the center of Karma Temple and thinking about how this is the perversion of her dream, that her ‘friends’ are trapped in this unending hell because of her. “I can see your face In our secret place You’re not just a memory”…..

I kind of look at this song from the perspective of Sera watching as Serph and Heat stumble over the edge of the precipice( wow I spelled that right)and that she would wait, and fight in his stead until he came back to her somehow. It’s a pretty fantastic song and really drags you into how much she loves him, and just how painful losing him actually was for her. It was such a shock to her that she willingly ended up infected with the Atma virus. That’s pretty hardass.

If  there was ever a character that exemplified the concept of Beautiful Disaster it has to be Heat. Oh stop looking at me like that. this is entirely back to my head canon again, but I can genuinely see this song all but being Serph’s theme song while watching Heat throughout the first game. There are so many things that imply a deeper meaning to there relationship. Starting with the fact that Serph let’s Heat speak on his behalf. When it’s plans it’s always Gale, but when a fast paced decision for the tribe is being made it’s always Heat speaking for Serph. It’s always Serph placing a hand on Heat’s arm, or shoulder to calm him. And don’t even get me started on how entirely heart broken he looked during Heat’s death scene. also I can’t help but wonder if Heat would have joined the Karma group at all if he’d thought Serph was alive after the end of the first game, but he was the one who looked completely broken up over the fact that there was no way Serph would make it to the portal…. Rant over….

I’ll admit it’s a short fairly depressing CD but I hope you enjoyed it nonetheless.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

