Black Jack Sega

Header

Duuuuuude up until two monthes ago I wasn’t even aware that this figure existed. The only figure options I thought Black Jack had were super deformed chibis and really expensive dolls. As I was surfing around one day though I found this prize figure of the titular character himself and was elated. So for part four of my post a day apology for slacking here is Black Jack!

BJ1
Whoever sculpted this guy did a fantastic job on his hair. The Cruella Deville style of his locks comes of perfectly, the sculpt is nice and I like how his bangs curl in just a little bit. I also really like how the black is sculpted up off the white. His face is done really well too, I love how even though he’s a very serious character Osamu Tezuka’s style still comes off perfectly in his facial features. The surgery scar across his face is done really well, it’s actually indented into his features.

BJ2

Tied carefully under his collar Black Jack wears a maroon ribbon, the long ends of it are blown on the wind. His coat rests easily over his shoulders in that classic anime way that simply commands respect. Just out of sight (like he’s trying to sneaky or something) he’s holding a scalpel in his hand. It has a few scratches sculpted into it that make it seem like it’s been used a lot.

Bj3

The jacket draped over his shoulders looks really nice. Very sleek.

Bj4

One of my favorite things about this figure is that Sega didn’t try to pretty up Tezuka’s original design. As such there are no buttons on Blackie’s suit jacket.

bj5

In his other hand he’s holding his medical bag. I love how there is virtually no detail to his hands. They look meaty and thick and absolutely perfect for his design!

bj6

The bag itself has a big old seam line going down the sides of it. It’s a little bit sad, but it could be a whole lot worse.

bj7

As with his sleeves, his pants are pretty non descript. They are far from looking bad, and show of the simplistic art style very well.

bj8

His shoes are fantastically shiny. I mean they are perfect. I have a hard time imagining Black Jack being anything but immaculate outside of surgery.

bj9

Yep awesome.

bj10

His profile looks amazing, I really like how he’s got this cute little rounded nose and it helps give him the look of a full lip art style. It’s quite aesthetically pleasing really.

bj11

It actually kind of looks like he’s pulling the scalpel out of the overcoat. Which honestly is pretty boss. I also love how his jacket is blowing around him. It’s very appealing.

bj12

There’s a small bit of paint error on the bags strap. It looks kind of fleshy there….

bj13

The front of the bag looks magnificent, the buckles are painted really well and I like the sculpt quite a bit.

bj14

He’s got to be wearing the most rounded dress shoes ever made for a man….

bj15

The back of his hair blends really well though I am disappointed that it isn’t sculpted quite as dynamically as the front is. The upturned collar of his coat is of course a very cool very nice touch.

bj16

The back of the figure is where every bit of sculpted clothing detail is and it’s fantastic. The fabric back here is really wrinkly and it aids in the movement of the wind around him nicely.

bj17

One of his two coat sleeve is blowing wildly to the side. It makes it really easy to tell the approach vector of the wind. Regardless though it looks cool.

bj18

The other sleeve hangs limply at his side. Whereas it doesn’t look anywhere near as cool as the other one, I kind of think it’s equally important. It could be blowing back behind him but that would look a little odd. I think it’s an interesting choice on the artists part that all the action on this figure is on one side. On the side your supposed to pay attention to. The visible half of his face, the scalpel in his hand, the blowing coat, even his medical bag. All on one side….hmmmmm….

bj19

Now that we can actually get a closer look at the scalpel it actually kind of looks like a dinner knife….

bj20

His fingers are pudgy and lacking in knuckles or nails, but I must digress again that I would not have it any other way.

bj21

If you look really closely you can see a seam line back by his ears. It’s pretty well hidden though and if the jacket is on you can’t see it at all.

bj22

Without the jacket on his suit is as immaculate in the back as it is in the front.

Pros:
Good size
Great Pose
Perfect for Tezuka’s art style

Cons:
Minor paint flaws
Might be too simplistic for people not familiar with the source material
Availability
I wish he had a base

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

