Kuroko’s Basketball- Chara Pucchi Part 1

KurokoHeader

Characters: Tetsuya Kuroko, Taiga Kagami, Ryota Kise, Shintaro Midorima, Daiki Aomine, and Atsushi Murasakibara

Series: Kuroko’s Basketball

Release date: January 2014

Manufacturer: Bandai

Run: Standard

It is actually a little bit funny, when I ordered this box of trading figures I was really excited to get Kuroko, Taiga, and Kise. I liked all three boys quite a bit, and couldn’t wait to meet the rest. Now that I am twenty episodes deep in the show, I can honestly say that I should have passed on this box, and just hunted down Kise, and Shintaro, because as it stands they are the only two whom I like. That disappointment aside, lets bring in some toys.

 

Atsushi1

I am going to start with Atsushi because I know so little about him.  These little guys have a very simple sculpt for their chibi forms, which in most cases comes off pretty cute. This one looks confused to me, or lethargic. Maybe both. He has a bag of what appears to be his favourite candy tucked under his left arm. He has awesome tiny fingers. You can see the name of his school on his jersey. The text is very clear.

Atsushi2

On his back side is his jersey number in much bigger font. His uniform is the only one with stripes. Nice job on the individual detailing.

Daiki1

From this point on I am going through in order of  most disliked to favourites. Save the best for last and all that jazz! Daiki doesn’t really stand out as far as his figure goes. He doesn’t really have any defining characteristics like Atsushi’s candy. As a matter of fact the only thing really stellar about this one is his position. He really does sit this way a lot. His sculpt looks ok. His facial features are clear, and so is the text on his shirt. The funny thing about the number is that it is off center. Probably so you can see it around his arm, but it just makes his shirt look twisted…

Daiki2

Each boy comes with a basketball to perch upon. The front of the ball features the team name corresponding with the character. The texture of the ball is pretty cool. It actually feels like a basketball, albeit a tiny one. The only thing that bothers me about the ball is that they did not paint the black lines in.

Kuroko1

Next up is Kuroko himself, our fairly laconic invisible lead. Kuroko’s special details seem to be his wrist bands. It seems like 90% of his figures are adjusting them. It isn’t basketball is devoid of cool poses, or anything. Thank you Megahouse for fixing this weird problem of Kuroko’s wrist band obsession, Kise’s swanky strut, and Taiga’s hand in his shorts…Kuroko looks good. The shading on his hair is really nice, and his face looks [s]boring[\s] perfectly in character. For being as tiny as they are the paint really is pretty good.

Kuroko2

I don’t think I mentioned the copyright information on the back of their heads. That is a bit awkward. I think it would have been better suited for the back of the ball.

Taiga1

Taiga is probably my least favourite of the actual figures. I wasn’t even sure it was him at first. I had to look at his jersey to realize that he wasn’t Akashi. The poor bastard almost went back in my closet by default…This is not a good representation by any means.

Taiga2

The shading on the back of his hair is cool. I have always really liked red and black hair.

Midorima1

The second to last figure in the box is Midorima. I am going to be completely honest here. The only reason I am still watching Kuroko is to get to know this character a bit better. At the point I am at I feel like I have barely scratched the surface with him, but the combined attitudes of Taiga/ Daiki I am having a hard time getting there. This figure is pretty cute, and does a good job representing the character. His face is applied well, and his glasses look great. His fingers are even wrapped. Nice!

Midorima2

Midorima’s back isn’t very special. The shading on his green locks is pretty nice, and the number on his shirt is painted clearly. He is the only one whose text has an outline. Overall his paint is really good!

Kise1b

My favourite of the Kuroko boys is easily Kise, and coincidentally I think he has the cutest figure of the bunch as well. His sculpt is good. His pose is perfectly in character. He even has an ear ring in his left ear. Above all else he is the only one that looks like he wants to be here. I mean he is smiling. A happy chibi in a box of ten shouldn’t be a rarity…but then again we are dealing with a fairly grumpy cast of guys.

Kise2

His pose looks pretty funny from the back, but I guess that is why we display things looking forward, eh? Overall if you are a fan of these characters then the box is worth it. They are cute, well painted, and take up little space. If you only want one or two of them then the whole box is a waste. I ended up with duplicates of Kuroko, Midorima, Aomine, and Murasakibara. Most of them live in my closet, but the couple I like have a nice spot in the light!

3

Overall Enjoyment: 3/5

 

 

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Trading Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

