Yzak Joule Alpha X Omega 1/8 Scale

Header1
If you had asked me years ago if I thought Gundam Seed would ever see more statues you probably would have been met with cynical laughter and a “Don’t I wish.” Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine four new statues, and one of them is one of my personal favorites. Let me introduce you to Yzak Joule.

20130928_132801

Yzak’s face is fantastic, his eyes are done in the GS design perfectly (I always liked their really thick eyelashes). They chose a very pale blue that would be absolutely perfect for an icy glare. In a slight bit of OOCness though Yzak is smiling at us. If it were virtually anyone else I would think this was a very innocent pretty smile, but it isn’t someone else, it’s Yzak so I’m going to wager he’s probably thinking about strangling someone. His collar is really well done, I love the gold pins painted on it, they add a nice classy look to the Zaft uniform.

20130928_132813

The black on his shoulders and going down his chest is also very well painted. Yzak might be a really slim guy, but you can still see a slight bit of muscle definition on his chest. Megahouse also did a great job of shading his uniform just above the belt. Speaking of, his belt is done in a nice pearlescent white which looks very nice, it stands out a great deal from the other colours in that area. One of Yzak’s hands rests easily against his hip, his fingers are actually connected to the hip. I wish more figures did that so we didn’t end up with things like this.

20130303150422

….yeah.

20130928_132817

Anyway back to Yzak, his hands are gorgeous, long thin fingers that have great knuckle definition and fantastic fingernails are always a plus in my book.

20130928_132820

The bottom of Yzak’s uniform flows out a bit more, it seems to be caught n the same wind that’s gentle teasing his silver locks. The folds in the fabric look really nice and are definitely eyecatching. The black trim is very nice and overall this is a great job.

20130928_132826

Yzak’s pants are tucked neatly into his boots, and just above the top of each boot you can see that same nice shading that’s on his jacket.

20130928_132828

His white boots are pristine, I’m glad honestly that they did a matte finish on the boots, making them shiny like the belt would have looked ludicrous. Like they were space cadets or something (wait for the joke to kick in). there’s isn’t a whole lot of paint on his boots but the little that is there is well applied.

20130928_132835

Yzak’s hair looks really awesome from the side, I absolutely adore the shading. From the top we’ve got a nice light grey that gets progressively darker the closer you get to the tips. I also like that his hair isn’t cut in a perfect bowl all the way around, it’s got slightly longer parts to add some depth to it. Very nice!

20130928_132838

From the side we get a very nice view of Yzak’s medals. I wish that a little more detail had been put into them, but it does look good regardless. Also the Zaft symbol on his shoulder is painted very nice, and the folds going down his side are well placed and look really good.

20130928_132845

The very long cuffs of Yzak’s uniform look very nice, I like the long pointed tip at the elbow.

20130928_132847

From the side the bottom of his jacket looks a little funny, it’s kind of hard to tell where it’s going exactly.

20130928_132851

I love Yzaks’ legs, the shape of his calves and the curve that leads down to his ankles is great. You can even see his ankle bone defined through the boots. Whereas this does leads me to believe the material can’t be very thick it does look great.

20130928_132858

Oh yeah his other arm….this like the other Gundam Seed figures are all designed to be reaching out to each other. Who Yzak would be reaching out to is beyond me, but it does look amazing.

20130928_132901

Yzak’s back looks very nice, his shoulderblades can be seen clearly through his uniform and the creases in it are also a very nice touch.

20130928_132903

Of course all the wrinkles, folds, and creases on the bottom half of his uniform start after his well defined rear end. He also fairly nice hips now that I’m actually looking a little closer.

20130928_132910

The soles of his boots go pretty high covering the heel of the foot. It’s a pretty unique design. The wrinkles at the back of the ankles look awesome by the way.

20130928_132926

I noticed when I was switching out his pieces that they actually layered his hair underneath. I’m a total sucker for details like this.

20130928_133034

Oh and speaking of alternate parts I found the Yzak in this figure. Remember that ice cold stare we talked about earlier. Well here it is in full force. Blue eyes narrowed in a cold glare and there’s a permanent frown creasing his features. Buried under his grey locks are a whole load of bandages, there’s also a rather jagged scar running down the length of his face. This is everything that Yzak should be.

20130928_133038

Also with this variation Yzak has one hand up by his face. He’s no longer reaching out to someone, oh no, now he’s swearing vengeance. I’m not quite as fond of this hand though. His fingers look a little less elegant and a little more chunky.

20130928_133047

At various points on his head you can see bandages peeking out from Yzak’s hair. I really dig this concept but it leaves a few seam lines that I don’t really dig.

20130928_133052

The largest bandage spot is on the back of his head. With a little bit of shading this probably would have been wicked.

20130928_133134

I really love how evil this looks.20130928_133121

 

Part of the fun though is mixing and matching pieces, now Yzak is reaching out to strangle you.

20130928_133158

And now he’s trying to keep his hair out of his face, how cute!

20130928_133227

Yzak’s base is a dodecagon with the Zaft symbol emblazoned on it. I could honestly dig this base if the shade chosen for it had matched him even a little bit.

box

Yzak’s box is Zaft red and covered with stars. It’s pretty epic.

20130928_133414

Pros:
An updated statue of Yzak
Fantastic Sculpt
Great Paint
Gorgeous

Cons:
Ugly base colour
a little out of character
Hair seams
Generic initial pose

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yzak Joule Alpha X Omega 1/8 Scale

  1. Lehst says:

    D8 where have I been?!?? This looks amazing!! I havent kept up with Seed figures in awhile, because I had finally gotten a grail set of trading figures and there hadn’t been new releases in forever.
    Lol i like the mixed parts photos at the end; you can have Yzak either going off the deep end or looking fabulous. XD

Leave a Reply

