Huang Pao Lin Bandai Figuarts Zero

Header

Clearing out my bucket list of figures I meant to review way back when they were released I found this figure of Huang Pao-Lin from Tiger and Bunny. She’s a cute little munchkin isn’t she? Well come one let’s give her a looksee.

20130410135308

Pao-Lin is posed with one hand raised up by her face, almost like she’s blocking the sun from her eyes. Her face is really cute, her green eyes look very nice and the happy smile on her face gives the figure a feel good kind of vibe. Her hairstyle looks accurate and doesn’t detract from the appeal of the figure.

20130410135313

Her raised arm does have a minor paint flaw up by her wrist. Her collar bells out nicely and the zipper going down her front is well painted.  I also like the subtle use of orange to shade her outfit.  Her clothes are really formfitting which leads to nice folds in the fabric by her boobs and waist.

20130410135318

Her legs are awesome I love how the fabric clings to her hips and thighs, but bells out more near the bottom. This results in good wrinkles by her ankles and makes the legs of the outfit look almost like they were too long for her.

20130410135323

Her tennis shoes are a black and yellow design that match the basic colour scheme of her outfit quite well.

20130410135345

‘Okay so from the side you can see….that her head is shaped ridiculously wrong from her forehead down to the tip of her nose. This leads us to the infamous flat face syndrome and whereas it can look cute from the front it’s always scary on the sides. She also comes with the air clip she was given by her parents. It’s sculpt is good and the purple makes a nice bit of contrast to the sheer yellow of this figure.

20130410135349

The stripes going down the sides of her outfit could have been painted just a tad bit better.

She has a really nice looking going for her for the most part honestly, I love how much attention the sculptor paid to her body through the outfit.

20130410135400

Her shoulders seams are pretty crappy though. I understand interchangeable parts and all, but this just stands out too much.

20130410135404

Speaking of standing out Pao-Lin here has one hell of a defined butt. Round and firm, perfectly shaped but given this characters age I’m not going to say anymore about that….

20130410135408

Like with the front of her outfit a good use of wrinkles accentuates  Dragon Kid’s form nicely.

20130410135415

The black line going down her side is painted a whole lot better on this side.

20130410135419

Her figure is nice and slim, her spine curves well and really she has the body of a fourteen year old girl. I think the sculptor did a very good job in catching the character’s age group in the figure itself.

20130410135423

Shoes are painted well and the overhang on the pant legs looks really good with the style of clothes she’s wearing.

20130410135909

Then there’s this which to be perfectly honest scares the hell out of me. Her eyes look too far apart and too low which takes her from where she normally looks like a chipmunk to looking like her face is melting off. Creepy. She also now has one fist clenched in front of her which I guess is supposed to go with her being embarrassed?

 

20130410135946

And an alternate bangs piece so she doesn’t have to be wearing her hair clip. You know if you want your Pao-Lin to be pre character development….

20130410140002

I kind of like combining the two poses together, it makes her look kind of like she’s ready for action.

20130410140118

As she is an exclusive figuart she comes with the protective plain cardboard box around her normal one. I love these things they almost always guarantee my toy will come uninjured.

20130410140045

As yellow is her character colour, her box is the same bright yellow as her outfit. It looks fantastic.

20130410140053

the back of the box does it’s best to remind you there are other figures int his line to go buy…. I mean shows Pao-Lin with Kotetsu. As well as showing an anime image of Dragon Kid…..

20130410135301

Pros:

Overall Cute design

Very nice sculpt

Cons:

Paint detail

Second face is scary beyond all reason.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Exclusives and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

