Hitoshura Furyu Minna No Kuji

Header

Shin Megami Tensei Nocturne was whole new experience for me back when I first played it. The Demi Fiend was something unlike anything I’d ever seen before. He couldn’t equip weapons or armour, nor did he have claws or any kind of natural armor like they did in DDS. So how did he fight? If not with magic then Hitoshura was ripping enemies apart with his bare hands. I’m not talking bugnucks, no this guy was literally bare handed, he didn’t even wear gloves. I was probably the only girl my age who thought this was the coolest thing ever….

DSC01935

So onward with this completely unbiased review. Hitoshura’s hair looks great, I love how his bangs look swept to one side, also I have to appreciate how short his hair actually is, it gives you a great view of his whole face which is a welcome change. His unmarred skin is super pale, virtually white even which makes the contrast with his hair and markings that much nicer. The markings on his face are expertly done, the paint job is magnificent. And adding in the turquoise lining made my inner fangirl scream. His eyes are gorgeous, it makes his straight forward stare so much more intimidating and the set of his mouth just screams “unamaused”. Another thing to take note of is the dark outlining of his eyes , the heavy eyelashes stick very true to the art style of the demon painter himself Kazuma Kaneko. Last note on his fantastic face for the moment is that his lips are just a shade darker then the rest of his skin. Nice touch!

DSC01937

His hands are raised up in front of him in one of his signature poses. His fingers are curled nicely, each digit is well sculpted. The markings on his hands could have been painted better, but honestly I kind of expected this. The turquoise in particular looks like they forgot it at some points which really is kind of sad. Other then that though his ands have very nice skeletal structure.

DSC01938

Scaling down to his forearms the markings look amazing, the lines are all crisp and clear and above all else accurate to his design. Also for being a scrawny little high school kid he’s got pretty good muscle definition. I really love how pointy his elbows look.

DSC01939

Another fantastic thing about this figure is his stomach, briefly ignoring the fact that he doesn’t have a belly button….if you look close you can see not only the definition of his abs, but he has a clearly visible ribcage. And continuing on the paint job here is flawlessly smooth.

DSC01941

I think our little Demi Fiend here might have been trying out for the cast of Tiger and Bunny with how tight his clothes are. There is very little left to the imagination here, however I would like to take a moment to say the paint job on the buttons and zipper is pretty good. If we thought the top of his shorts were tight the bottom half clings to his legs like there’s no tomorrow (considering who we’re talking about there might not be). Anyway they show off his fantastic leg muscles really well.

DSC01942

Going down a bit more we get a great view of his legs. I love the marks on his legs, especially at the knees. I think they look really good. He also has really thick calves that look really great.

DSC01946

I wish his ankles were a little bit more defined, he’s got great muscular definition but no ankle bones? What’s up with that? His shoes look great I love the shoelaces and the paint job on the shoes looks very nice.

DSC01947

The paint job on the palm of his hand is regrettably quite sloppy.

DSC01948

There’s a seam cutting across Hitoshura’s bicep, which in turn messes up the top mark on his arm a little bit. which is sad, but forgivable considering the circumstance. His biceps are well defined and show off the clear efforts of your training through out the game.

DSC01950

Trailing down his side we get a great look  at the marks over his ribs, one of the things I actually really dig about the design Kaneko used for the Demi  Fiend is how much the markings on his skin follow the skeletal structure of a human body, and it’s areas like the hands, knees, and ribs that make this so apparent.

DSC01951

Another thing that I really like is how the design marring his skin doesn’t just stop because we reached his waist band there is clearly more to it. On a side note somewhere out there there’s a very funny comic about that. I can’t even fathom trying to fight in something that tight, but to each his own I suppose.

DSC01952

The design on his calves looks great I really like the thick black design circling around to the back of his legs, it’s kind of unique to the rest of the design which is composed mostly of significantly thinner lines. The only other spot I can think of that competes is at his shoulder blades.

DSC01954

The back of Shura’s head has this long spike at the base of his neck. Which I’ve never understood. I thought it was hair once, but then I noticed that there are strange deep indents on each side…….. I’m sorry I don’t know. It looks fine, but I just don’t know. The marks on his skin start again directly under the spikey hair not hair thingy though and in doing so look fantastic.

DSC01955

His back is really nice, from the shoulder blades down into the spinal indentation, it looks fantastic. The paint here is all very crisp and clear, I love  how the rib ‘lines’ connect in the back. the way everything connects really does bring to life just how much fun Kaneko had designing this in the first place.

DSC01956

The seams on the back of Shura’s insanely tight shorts look really good and the wrinkles down by his hips are a nice touch to show that these aren’t just painted on.

DSC01957

The legs of the shorts conform nicely to his body, leaving little question about his muscular structure…..

DSC01959

Hitoshura’s got these little triangles sticking out from the back of his shoes, this leads me to the belief that his feet probably have designs on them very similar to his hands. Honestly I’m glad he’s wearing shoes if that’s the case. It could have been disastrous otherwise.

DSC01960

Where as the back of his head is almost perfect helmet hair, the front sides show a little bit of definition to make it looks just a little more alive.

DSC01961

On this side the paint on his arm isn’t quite as good as the other side but it still gets a passing grade in the end. The flaws are all minor enough to barely be noticeable.

DSC01962

The lines leading up to his arms actually meet up with the marks on his under arms which is really fantastic. There’s a small glue spot down by his shorts which kind of breaks my heart a little bit, but it’s barely noticeable outside of photos.

DSC01972

His base is ginormous. From the side it looks suspiciously like a hockey puck.

DSC01971

But from the top the truth is revealed. It is in fact a demon summoning circle. Who has the balls to summon Hitoshura you ask? Well I guess that would be me actually…..

DSC01976

The whole of the summoning circle lights up, it’s battery operated.  On a dark shelf it looks mega cool!

box

Then there’s his box. The side not only is a demon scan program but it has Kazuma Kaneko’s signature (printed on the box). I think the whole thing is a nod at him being a secret boss in both DDS and IMAGINE.

Pros:

Great Sculpt

Great Pose

Great Base

Fantastic Expression

Oh my god it’s Shura!!!!!! Squee!

Worth every penny

Cons:

Iffy paint on his hands

Shoulder seams could have been blended better.

I would have preferred a stick to hold him up as compared to an ankle stand.

shin_megami_tensei_iii_naoki_kashima_wallpaper_by_koji104-d6luvy3

As an added bonus here’s our dear little Naoki before becoming the Demi Fiend. 😀

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hitoshura Furyu Minna No Kuji

  1. Lehst says:

    x3 oooh so jealous. I was interested in this figure but it just wasn’t a priority. thanks for the in-depth review!

  2. Wow I hadn’t heard of this figure being made until now and I have to get bit that price, ack! Any hunting tips?
    Also I am not 100% sure but I always thought the spike on the back of his neck was the demon parasite thing that transformed him into the Demi Fiend.
    Great review, thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

