Taichi Yagami G.E.M. Megahouse 1/10 scale

Header1

Every now and again figure companies decide they need to stop and slap you in the face with something nostalgic. This go round the item in question is Tai from the first season of Digimon Digital Adventures.

DSC00246

The more figures I get from older anime the more impressed I am. I wasn’t overly impressed by the Yu Yu Hakusho ones, but pulling the characters from Yu-Gi-Oh into 3d stunned me, now Digimon is getting that same fantastic treatment. Just with a quick glance over Tai looks fantastic! His hair looks nice, a little underwhelming on the detail, but the digi destined never really were teaming with details. His goggles look pretty good, they have a nice solid paint job. Tai’s face is awesome, his brown eyes are wide with excitement and there’s a huge grin spread across his face. I do object slightly however to his nose and mouth quite literally touching. Awkward much?

DSC00247

Tai is wearing a blue shirt with a yellow undershirt, it’s a strange wardrobe choice, but it looks mega cute so I’m willing to go with it. Besides Tai’s bright colours really make him stand out on a shelf. The paint job on both shirts is spot on, I love the buttons and pockets being the same colour as the undershirt, it makes it look like the outfit was deliberately coordinated that way. Also I personally get the impression that this figure is falling somewhere (like I dunno into the digital world) so I totally dig how his shirt is blowing upwards slightly.

DSC00282

Tai has kind of interesting arms. I think the arm on the right side looks thinner then the left. I presume this is because of the black death creeping down to his elbow. Yeah I know this is part of his normal character design….but what is it? It’s not sculpted on….just painted so it’s the exact same as being part of his skin…. I do love his hands though they have a fairly nice sculpt. Each finger is well detailed and the blue shading on the gloves adds some depth to them for a top notch job!

DSC00249

His shorts are also pretty good, the wrinkles going down from hip to thigh are really fantastic and there’s really nice shading too! If you look closely at Tai’s waist you’ll also see Tai’s digi-vice that marks him as one of the digi-destined. It’s got a nice paint job too.

DSC00251

Tai’s got pretty good legs for a kid, they’re very thin but with good definition at the knees. I kind of dig his socks, they’re tight at the top to keep them from falling, but baggy at the same time. I’ve always been pretty fond of that look. They also have that same nice shading as his gloves.

DSC00252

Tai’s shoes are painted with a pearlescent white that not only looks ice, but stands out from his socks rather well. The blue and yellow on his sneakers are the same shades as his shirts. The yellow paint strays a little bit fro it’s designated lines, but it’s not horrible. Very minor in the flaw department.

DSC00254

Then there’s Agumon who I want to say I love, but he’s honestly one of the biggest figure flaws I’ve seen in the history of ever. His colour is great, and there’s dark shading around his eyes which adds a little bit of depth to the design (and the don’t looks as sunken in and zombified as some Titan characters I could name.) The eye decals are applied really well and the shades of green they used look really nice. However his jawline is ridiculously bad, they could have at least tried to blend that together and his arm seams honestly aren’t any better. I do love though how his claws are curled around the black death….Tai’s arm….And his teeth look terrible, the paints all over the place! What were they thinking?

DSC00255

Agu’s body doesn’t just rest against Tai which is nice, his body is actually going back a little bit. You can see where it curls back at his tail. Also the positioning of his legs is really cool, again I like the fact that he isn’t a flat piece of plastic sitting against Tai. Oh and speaking of the kid, his shirt looks great from the side view!

DSC00256

The detail on his pocket is really good and I love the shading on his shorts.

DSC00259

He has super big shoelaces  that look really good, but I have to find it funny that the ones actually laced through the shoe look infinitely smaller.

DSC00260

Agumon really would have a fantastic sculpt if they would have blended the seams better, but from the back you can see where they attached his arms and his head, and really it looks ridiculous. They did do a magnificent job on his shading though.

DSC00263

Agu has some really wicked cool feet, I think they’re seriously the same size as Tai’s sneakers. there’s nice shading between his toes and his claws are painted way better then his teeth.

DSC00265

Tai’s back looks pretty good, I totally love the wrinkles on his shorts. And his shoes look great from behind too!

DSC00267

From this side you can’t really see Agu’s bad seams. Mostly cause Tai’s hair is in the way!

DSC00269

The benefit of having clothing is that Tai’s seams all blend in pretty well with his wardrobe.

DSC00273

They even put tread on the bottom of his shoes.

DSC00282

Tai also comes with an alternate face. This time it’s a wink and a smirk. This face is mega cute, but I don’t think it matches with his pose as well.

DSC00251

His base scares me. It’s got this stick see…..well Tai slides around on this stick quite a bit. I really like the look of it, but with continual usage I’m not sure how long a life it’ll have. 😦

Untitled

Tai and Agu come in a rather simple box, it’s blue with the classic digital readout font all over it. It looks kind of like it fell right out of the theme song.

DSC00274

Pros:

Tai looks fantastic

Great shading

Adorable size

Cons:

Agumon’s seams

Base feels unsturdy

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

