Sanji Figuart Battle Ver.

Header1

Honestly I’ve sat here with this figure turning it over in my hands for like ten minutes now trying to figure out where on earth to start talking about this toy. Well here it is regardless of my personal confusion Ladies and gentlemen may I present to you everyone’s favorite ero cook Sanji!

CYMERA_20140118_190621

So I eventually decided that the top of the figure is not the place to start, but because of that this review may come off a little jilted and for that I apologize. The sculptor did a fantastic job on Sanji’s blonde locks, I appreciate the effort that went into showing his slightly wilder side. His signature curlicue eyebrow is great, I’m very pleased that they didn’t use a particularly dark or thick paint for it. His single visible eye is trained on whatever it is that’s about to be on the receiving end of a particularly vicious kick. Sanji’s got a great mouth, his teeth look great, though probably a little too white for a walking talking chimney. His cigarette disappoints me just a little bit, I really wish they would have done the end in either red or grey.

CYMERA_20140118_190303

Trailing down a bit we see the collar of Sanji’s orange dress shirt., it’s almost the exact same shade as his hair, or I suppose to be more specific it’s the same colour as the shading in his hair. It looks very nice and makes a stark contrast with his tanned skin tone. Sanji’s always been a three piece suit kind of guy, and he shows that off really well on this figure, the crinkles and folds in the fabric look fantastic and his suit is done with a nice matte finish which looks marvelous. I also love how his body is twisting to the side with his kick. It looks sweet, way macho!

CYMERA_20140118_190150

The wrinkles at his waist are magnificent.

CYMERA_20140118_190117

Sanji has one arm slightly raised, it matches well with the rest of his movement and the creases in the fabric are very nice. As anyone would expect he has very nice hands. The fingers curl nicely and show off good bone definition. He also has clearly defined nails which is another awesome touch. A cook’s hands are their life and they did a brilliant job on his.

CYMERA_20140118_190215

Don’t tell my husband, but I wish I could find a real man who could move like this. You see Sanji is standing with one foot flat on the ground, at the point of the pelvis though he has his legs spread for an amazing attack. So his super heated leg is raised but we’ll come back to that. He has the body of a fighter (so in other words he has no ass) and his body does look great. I love that he has clearly visible pockets.

CYMERA_20140118_190338

Now let’s check out that raised leg. You know I really love the heavy amount of visible tension on the fabric at Sanji’s hips. I’ve cosplayed in this outfit before and achieving the majority of his poses in a stiff three piece is insanely difficult., plausible, but difficult. As such I can honestly say this guy gets mad props from me…..I totally went way off topic there somewhere…..

CYMERA_20140118_190026

His pant legs are actually fairly tight and show off the shape of his calves and thighs nicely.

CYMERA_20140118_190310

At the knee Sanji’s leg goes to a clear red plastic since he’s in the process of using Dible Jambe attack, the fire wrapped around his ankle looks pretty damn sweet, not only is it sculpted really well, but it’s got a nice mixture of black in it as well. This adds some really nice depth to the whole thing. You can also see his foot sticking out of the top of the flames which is a fantastic touch.

CYMERA_20140118_190150

His other leg is down, perfectly straight, yet again the detail at his hip is very nice.

CYMERA_20140118_190208

Going down further still we see a long tentacle of fire wrapping around his leg, like the previous bit of fire the detailing here is really nice, it’s black, red, and yellow and works very well with Sanji’s base colour scheme.

CYMERA_20140118_190041

His suit is naturally immaculate, not a scuff or tear on it. the paint on the buttons is pretty good, but up by the left side of the collar the tie’s paint is a little bit off. Another nice very simple effect is that Sanji is clearly taking this fight very seriously. He’s visibly loosened his tie and unbuttoned the top button of his shirt.

CYMERA_20140118_190423

The effect parts on his leg really were done brilliant, even if this move makes zero sense.

CYMERA_20140118_190405

The back of his hair is layered real nice. Both the detail and the shading are fantastic. He’s got a nice neckline and again the darker skintone contrasts nicely with his hair and shirt colour. Had they done his skin the substandard peach that most figures have he himself would have come across more yellow then normal…..

CYMERA_20140118_190415

Sanji is leaning his torso heavily to the side, which causes fantastic crinkles in his suit jacket. He has one hand buried deep in his pocket, ne thing that I really dig about this is that you can clearly see both his shirt sleeve and hand in his wrist going into the pocket.

CYMERA_20140225_130106[1]

His shoulders are tense against the jacket fabric and the positioning of his arms just makes that all that much cooler to look at. Also I love how the fabric looks pulled against his waist for that matter the coat tails look pretty sweet too.

CYMERA_20140118_190435

Then there’s the pillar of fire, this is some cool shit.  I love the fire effect it kind of reminds me of a meteor. The plastic effect changes colour from a dark red, to a clearer red, and then orange.

CYMERA_20140118_190236

From the orange it goes into a pale yellow and then bam back to orange again. The sculpt is amazing.

CYMERA_20140118_190347

Past the orange we hit that bright red again, the bottom piece is a dark almost blood like red. It not only looks very nice, but it attaches to the base really well.

CYMERA_20140118_190511

Sanji’s base is a little unorthodox, as far as One Piece figuarts go. guessing it’s cause he’s my first battle ver. but I’m really heartbroken that it doesn’t have his logo on it. Regardless though it is a cool looking base.

CYMERA_20140118_190741

Sanji and Zoro can finally battle it out on my shelf!

CYMERA_20140118_190845

His black box has fire licking it’s way up the sides, it fits him very well.

CYMERA_20140118_190948

The back of the box highlights key features of the figure and it’s “cool style”.

CYMERA_20140118_190536

Pros:

Action Sanji

Excellent Detail

Great Price

Cool Effects Parts

Cons:

Minor Paint Flaws

Very Difficult Pose to Display

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

