Yamato “Matt” Ishida 1/10 Megahouse

Matt1

Character: Yamato “Matt” Ishida

Series: Digimon

Sculptor: ATTM

Scale: 1/10

Manufacturer: Megahouse

Release Date: January 2014

My Figure Collection: http://myfigurecollection.net/item/166163

I can’t even explain how excited I was when Megahouse announced they would be making scale figures. I have a couple of old action of figures from Digimon, as well as a pillow of Matt that I bought eons ago, but this was a whole new level. These were going to be scale statues of good quality. I can honestly say “It is about ruddy time!”

Matt2

I have always been quite a big fan of Matt, for that matter I can easily say he was my favourite of the Digi-destined. I hope to see more of these figures down the line, but if they don’t pop up I am glad to have Matt and Tai! I am really excited to bring you this review today!

Matt19

I am not sure exactly what I was expecting when we placed the order, but I most certainly was not expecting what I got. He just barely reaches 4 inches tall. He is almost the exact same height as a nendoroid! That isn’t such a bad thing considering his price was about the same, and his quality far exceeds the chibi line. I was just caught off guard. I am not sure that I have ever seen a scale statue so tiny. Surprise aside I think the height simply adds to the charm. I think at 6-7 inches this same figure would look a bit odd.

Matt3

The head that Matt comes equipped with is pretty cute. His blue eyes look fantastic. I just love the different colours used to show the reflection of light. He also has the cutest catlike smile. I think they did a really good job capturing the character here.

Matt4

His spikey hair was also done pretty well. The sculpt looks great! I love his swoopy bangs, and the way that smaller spikes gradually lead into bigger ones near the back. Another really cool touch is the bright yellow near the center of his bangs, but a darker orange around the tips. This gradient was used on the back parts as well. Closer to his scalp the hair is yellow, but the spikes are more orange. Great use of shading!

Matt5

Matt has pretty decent ears. They aren’t super detailed, but they look good. For some reason it really bothers me when they are misshapen, or have no detail at all along the inside. His hair looks pretty awesome from the sides as well.

Matt6

The second expression , as pictured above looks so cute, but far less like the Matt that I remember from Digimon. He seems way less cool, and way more adorable. I get the feeling that he wouldn’t like hearing that. Either way it is a pretty good face. The expression is lively and fun. The details look great. I love his giant open smile.

Matt7

From the back view you can see just how many layers of spikes there are! Here you can also see his yellow roots quite well.

Matt8

You can barely see the front of Matt, so for the time being we are going to move on to Gabumon. This little dude is pretty cute. There is a seamline running down his horn that is pretty distracting, but it is pretty hard to see without the camera’s help. The paint on his stripes is fantastic. His bright red eyes make a very nice contrast against the surrounding colours. The detailing is really sharp. The seamline around his ears is pretty noticeable without the macro shots. I have always thought Gabu’s fur coat was really unique looking. You can clearly see his real face between the row of jagged teeth. It does seem that the paint along the top of his teeth is a little bit messy.

Matt9

Even though it is hard to see, Gabumon’s belly design is painted on very well. You are also able to see Matt’s fingers. I was a bit impressed that they went to the trouble of sculpting his fingers apart. It would have been really easy to keep is fingers close together, but instead they made them splayed. There are even wrinkles in his gloves.

Matt10

Gabumon’s paws are covered by his oversized disguise. The stripes on his arms looks good, as do his claws.

Matt11

I really like his actual paws. You can see them hiding under the fur cover. There is a rather nasty seam down the side of his arm. and an injection mark on his elbow. Ouch. What I do like is the sculpt of his paw. He has little fingers, and gray straps that hold the coat on him. I think that is a pretty good attention to detail.

Matt12

His back are awesome! I just love their shape, and the paint between his feet and claws is flawless.

Matt13

I know this is a bit jilted, but it is time to go back to Matt for a bit. Whereas a lot of this figure’s focus is on Gabumon, that does not mean that Matt is lacking. Looking over the back of his figure you can see how much effort was actually put into him. The detailing on his shirt looks fantastic. I love the  wrinkles, and the turtleneck. His back has a decent shape especially around his shoulder blades.

Matt15

The jeans that Matt wears have a lot of wrinkles, and some really nice shading. There are spots that look naturally faded. He has no pockets which is a bit odd, but there are sartorial seams running down the inside and outside of each leg. The rolled cuffs look pretty swell too. You can also see his Digivice on his right hip. I love that! Here we also get a good glimpse of Gabu’s tail.

Matt16

Matt’s boots have really nice shading. There isn’t much going on scupltwise, but the shape is nice, and I just love the colour. They did a good job with the paint, and the tread on his soles is pretty cool.

Matt17

The base is pretty standard for Megahouse, albeit tiny. It is a cute little octagon with little hexagon etched into it. The text on the base show’s The names of the characters. It also has a bit of rather distracting copyright info that would have been better suited for the bottom. Matt is held up by a matching blue post. It feels fragile, but it does its job well enough.

Matt18b

Pros:

His sculpt is fantastic.

Both faces are adorable.

Gabumon looks amazing.

His pose is quite fun.

Cons:

Paint is a bit sloppy.

Seams are messy.

Overall Enjoyment: 10/10

 

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yamato “Matt” Ishida 1/10 Megahouse

  1. Woah he really is supercute!
    The size however kept me from preordering, but maybe if I have some money left to spend I’ll get both Matt and Tai.
    The nostalgia-factor is just too big to not have them 😀
    I hope you’ll do a review of Tai as well?

  2. ColonelFancy says:

    Take that, you “scalists” (scalist; noun: a derogatory term created by Colonelfancy used in reference of an individual(s) whom believes the quality of a collectable is mainly determined by its size), this toy looks great!

Leave a Reply

