Keith Goodman Banpresto

Header1

As a reviewer I’ll be perfectly honest, sometimes you get something on order that you are mega excited about. Then you get the official product in the mail and as your rolling it around in your hands you wonder what the hell happened. When that occurs half the time you can’t even find the motivation to complain about it. This particular travesty came out almost a full year ago….

20130410143032

Oh my god. Wow. I mean just wow. Keith’s hair looks fantastic don’t you think? It’s got a nice shade for conveying dirty blonde and it looks a little wind swept which for Sky High is positively perfect. His face though….wow. There’s this song that came out in the nineties that described a particularly slimy man as ‘light skin, light blue eyes, a double chin, and a plastic smile’ every time I look at this figure those words come to mind in the back of my head. It doesn’t look like nice friendly happy Keith, it looks scary and maybe even a little sinister. The cheekbones are too pronounced, his eyebrows arched too much, and then there’s that smile, I just can’t stand it.

20130410143037

Continuing on with the horror of this particular Keith Goodman, there’s his chest. One of the defining things about the T&B cast is their habit of wearing disturbingly tight clothes and in this case they actually didn’t do that, which is a pity. If they had done the figure accurate to character design they may have realized that he looks fat. His pectorals are under defined and his gut seriously sticks out. Sky High has a beer belly? No way! The bulkiness of the jacket doesn’t help either, it just makes our normally slender superhero look chunky. The paint is very nice though.

20130410143027

And his body looks so bulky that his arms look tiny and spindly which is to put it bluntly stupid. Especially when off of the stick arms he has there’s a giant hand protruding form his sleeve. His sleeves which I might add have excellent wrinkles and very nice shading, if they were in proportion to the rest of the figure they’d be fantastic. So anyway back to the giant hand, four out of five fingers look fantastic, the detail on them is very nice, his thumb however is bulbous and disproportioned. It kind of looks like it got smashed with a hammer.

20130410143052

Giant thumb!!!!! The decal on his shoulder is of course very nicely applied.

20130410143041

Continuing on how ridiculously out of proportion he is, his legs look extremely small by comparison to his torso, they look good mind you. In standard T&B fashion I like how you can see his leg muscles strain against his skinny jeans. Would a guy with legs like that seriously have a beer belly? I don’t think so.

20130410143046

His shoes are fantastic, the sculpt is really nice, especially on the laces. They look like something you could just walk into Payless and buy.

20130410143056

The stitches on the sides of the pants look great! I really mean that, I do however have major issues with Keith’s triangle butt. It kind of looks like the effect of a push up bra….ummmm nevermind.

20130410143103

Keith’s hair really does look magnificent, it’s like the one area where the sculptor’s efforts really seemed to pay off.

20130410143111

The back of his jacket looks pretty nice, I’m very fond of how the shading and wrinkles look.

20130410143133

And then this arm looks more size proportionate to his body. Did I mention that this figure is in fact an unmitigated disaster.

20130410143215

Keith’s box fits the character very well, with various shades of purple swirling around and a looming Sky High in the background. The side of the box also has an ‘authentic’ Keith Goodman autograph. I do find that amusing.

20130410143151

Pros:

He’s really inexpensive

Has very nice shoes

Swoopy Hair

Cons:

Everything else

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keith Goodman Banpresto

  1. Lehst says:

    Sublime! (sorry had to get that out there)
    Too bad about the figure. He looks good from the waist down, but yeah his jacket seems to be blown out and it makes his torso look oddly big. Maybe he’s standing over a vent. The whole time I’m reading this I’m just thinking of DXF Batou, who really is a big dude.

  2. “Where will you be when diarrhea strikes?” is all that came to mind when looking at his face 😄 Such a forced smile… It’s like he’s in dire needs of a toilet and doesn’t want to admit it…

Leave a Reply

