The Great Haul- January 2014

CYMERA_20140202_213319

Last week Tekizen and I did a bit of math and figured out that we had an average of 26 pieces of loot per month for 2013! The month that had the most was August with 42 individual pieces! I find this to be really exciting, because this month we are starting off with 44 additions to “Nowhere”! I realize that doesn’t mean that every month will be so fantastic, but it is quite an awesome start!

Pit

Speaking of awesome, my first loot of the year was Pit from Kid Icarus: Uprising. He was the first item I ordered in 2014, and also the first that I opened! I was really happy when an MFC user listed him for sale. Unfortunately I had missed his pre-order, and I wasn’t sure how I was going to get him. This was a lucky break! He is really cute, and his Monoeye is fun to play with.

Kakashi

Things went downhill from there a bit, as we opened our second and third boxes that same day. Next up came Kakashi, from Anime Island. I stopped watching Naruto eons ago, but I still like a lot of the characters, Kakashi being one them. I was so excited, and then came the assembly. It took forever to get his vest on, and even then one peg had been lost in the battle. I have so much to say about this figure I could go on all day, but I will save that for his review.

RikaSena

Third times a charm, right? In this case I think not. When I ordered these figures I thought that they looked cute in the concept image, what I got was “Crap on a Stick” Rika, and “Sad Sack” Sena. The latter being one of the worst prize figures I have ever seen. This was getting bad. I was starting to wonder if my next loot would be headless…This box came from Big in Japan, and for the first timer ever I had wished that my package had been misplaced.

AzusaYui

Thankfully when I got my package from Rakuten neither girl was missing appendages. Azusa and Yui both were adorable, and made me feel better about that last pile of questionable stuff.

Keigo

The same day that the K-on girls showed up, Tekizen and I went into the city to pick up our AmiAmi box courtesy of Cb27ded. I was pretty excited about getting my second Keigo Atobe blanket. I love him! It was this box that poor Tekizen got her first loot of the year finally. Don’t pity her though, she has some really cool stuff in queue. Her loot came in the shape of two little PaD dragons. The Sapphire one is mine!

Matt

Also while in the city Tekizen picked up another Dr. Who trading figure on a whim. We just happened to find a set in Suncoast that was all Doctors! I have a feeling we are going to end up with a ton of these things. This time around we got Matt Smith.

Asuna

A few days later I got a rather big parcel from HobbySearch. It was Alphamax’s Asuna. I am not sure why, but somewhere in my head I hadn’t thought it would be so big. The wings came attached which accounted for a lot of space. She is hard to display, but gorgeous none the less.

DarkPit

Tekizen finally saw another piece of loot around the same time. She got Dark Pit, which I managed to get from another MFC user. I was feeling pretty lucky. I honestly can’t decide which of the two I like better.

Sasuke

Somehow I got swindled into trading my Dark Pit that was on order for her Sasuke Uchiha, also on order. At first I laughed at her proposition because I already had Pit (and loved him), and I absolutely hate Sasuke. She reviewed the last Naruto Plex figure though, and I was already working on light Pit so I eventually gave in. I was pretty fond of Plex’s Sasuke anyway…

Cobby

The next box we got was the whopper. It was time again to clear out the our private warehouse at Hobby Link Japan. This time around there was a little bit of everything, but this is where Tekizen starts to catch up. She was pretty excited over this box for several reasons. She finally got a figure Sanji “doing something”, as well as figures of Cobby, and Shinji. These two are characters that she says are under appreciated and need more love. I agree on Shinji’s behalf, but I don’t know anything about Cobby. I am glad she got him though! The only really notable items for me this time were Aladdin, Miku, and Asuka…oh and of course the two Pokémon. Aladdin turned out nice, and Miku looks much better than GSC’s statue did…Speaking of GSC, these Nendo After Parts suck!

Pit2

Just in case anyone was wondering the Nendo clips can be used on Figma as well. I was hoping that would be the case.

Trooper

I bought Tekizen a Storm Trooper head full of Valentine candy at Wal-Mart. I couldn’t pass it up! The candy says really dumb crap though, like “Mine Will U B”, and “Mesa Luv U’s”. It kind of makes me want to throw things…

ui

I picked up another sweet deal from MFC. This seller had posted Ui for 500 yen. That is a steal! Tekizen has wanted this figure forever so I went ahead and contacted the seller. She made out like a bandit this month, and I am partially to blame.

LuluCornyTony

Near the very end of the month we got another box from Big in Japan. This one contained a very special figure. We got our very first Cornelia! She was easily one of my favourite characters from Code Geass. Along with her came a matching figure of Lelouch, and GSC’s lazy money maker, Iron Man.

Sena

Almost too late to qualify for this month’s loot, was Sena Kashiwazaki. She came to us by way of HobbySearch. After this month’s earlier Sena tragedy I was excited for a second chance.

Blanc

As I mentioned in an earlier post Tekizen and I are trying to acquire some goodies from our collective wishlist. This month Tekizen got Cobby, Hikari, and Ui. She really rocked the wishlist this month. I unfortunately didn’t do so good. I ordered this Blanc figure from Rakuten, but they refunded my payment due to a “misunderstanding”. Thankfully she has been paid for again and is on her way. I am a bit sad I didn’t get a wishlist item this month, but she should be here soon.

Best

we had to debate a bit over which figure would earn the title of figure of the month. Eventually we decided to go in completely opposite directions. Tekizen picked Aladdin whom I think is amazing, but my vote had to with Pit. They are both pretty great in their own right, but comparing them is apples and oranges….

That’s all for this month, see ya next time!

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Great Haul- January 2014

  1. Lehst says:

    To bad the Rika and Sena figures came up short. The beach bases they have are really cool.

    :O this is my second time seeing those nendo clips. I think I might want some for the SnK figmas coming later.

    • Topiki says:

      I was honestly really happy that they worked so well with the figmas. I bought them specially for the Pits, but I had no idea if they would work or not.

Leave a Reply

