Shinokawa Shioriko 1/8 scale

Header1 copy

Back during the last Wonderfest one of the figures that really caught my eye was this Shioriko figure. She’s a character who has held my attention a few different times, but her other figures are all busts and don’t really fit with my personal collection. So now here we have Shioriko as her very first scale figure. Let’s give her a once over yeah?

20131207_124846

She has a nice head of hair, the sculpt on it is pretty good, especially on the long strands of hair spilling over her shoulders. Her face is very serene, her eyes are closed and she has a small contented smiled on her lips, I imagine that she’s picturing the in her mind the scene she just read, or maybe reflecting on the words.

20131207_124850

She’s clearly got good posture, her shoulders are squared, she looks to be a right proper lady she does. Her shirt is fairly simple in design, but the ruffles at the sleeves and collar do make for a nice touch.

20131207_124853

I really like her skirt, the folds in the fabric are very realistic. I really like the fact that you can see the shape of her legs through the skirt. Especially at the knees. It’s a great effect.

20131207_124856

The ruffles at the bottom of her skirt could have been painted better. But it’s only noticeable if you really stare at her. She’s wearing simple brown dress shoes, I really like how they look well polished.

20131207_124903

From a slight angle you get a good look at the seam on her hair. At first I’d really wished that they’d made it fit together better but eventually I concluded that that part sticks up a little bit more because there’s hair tucked back behind her ear.

20131207_124905

Her breasts have very nice body, I love the wrinkles at the sides it shows just how taut the fabric is against her bust. I’m not too sure how I feel about the hand that’s raised over the book however, the positioning looks a little bit awkward.

20131207_124908

I like the hand under the boo a whole lot more, the splayed fingers look really good and very natural for how one would be holding a book while reading. Her arms are very thin with very little definition to them.

20131207_124916

Through her long locks you can see one of her ears peeking out, as well as the seam for her bangs. I really like her hair, for the most part it all works so well together. Quite lovely.

20131207_124919

No I really don’t like this hand….. Also the book has a fairly questionable paint job. It’s a little hard to tell what’s pages and what’s cover.

20131207_125033

The book has kanji going down the pages, in very pretty elegant looking script. I love it when they do this. Just recently I got the chance to review Persona’s Elizabeth who had the same feature, it’s always a brilliant touch.

20131207_124938

I do not like the seam going down the back of her hair even a little bit. 😦

20131207_124942Her rocking chair is very nice, it looks like a well polished hard wood surface. Very classy.

20131207_124948

The design of the chair is very classic, I love the grooves carved into the posts. It looks awesome.

 

The chair overall just looks really freaking cool.

20131207_125225

She also comes with a small cushion to lean against. I think a square one would have looked a little bit better, this one just looks like a worry stone. Ah well, it’s not bad all things considered.

20131207_125212

She also comes with a teeny tiny pair of glasses that rest on her lap. I’m too scared to display her with them though, I don’t want them to get lost. Sad….

box

She’s got a really awesome box, it looks like  hard wood, which is nice and has flowers and birds circling from one side to the back. It has ample display windows and the inner packaging is of the store she runs. It’s a very nice box.

shiori

Overall Shiori is a pretty good figure, she’s not the best ever, or even of this month, but she’s unique enough that I definitely think she was well worth buying.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

