Dr Who meets the Titans

20131223_191659
 

So here we are again at the most magical time of the year. Snow is (sparsely) on the ground, Christmas carols are in the air, and the new Doctor officially debuts….tonight. In eager anticipation of this event let’s a looksee at some of the Doctor’s fellow aliens in small toy format.

Titans vinyl figures made two sets of Doctor Who trading figures. One set for the Tenth Doctor David Tennant and a set for the Eleventh Doctor played by Matt Smith.20131223_191203

I’m going to start a little bit out of order, naturally, by talking about the only figure I have from the second set. By some run of incredibly good luck (my karma must be paying off) I got my favorite aspect of Smith’s run as the Doctor, that’s right it’s a Silent. This guy has a ginormous head, and an awesome bit of detailing coming down his temples. I’m pretty sure he’s supposed to have beady red eyes, but his glare is lessened in intensity by the fact that his eyes are actually pink. Poor guy. He has no visible mouth, which is good, if he did I very well may have screeched and thrown it across the room.

20131223_191206

The little dudes body is a nice business suit, the lines on it are crisp and clear and overall look…..well really funny actually but I’m like 90 percent sure that that was kind of the point.

20131223_191212

The additional flesh on the face, that separates them from humans in appearance, extends around the side of his head to where his ears would be if he had them.

20131223_191219

The back of his bulbous head is just rounded off.

 

While the Silent is cool he’s just the icing on the proverbial cake. Next comes the Clockwork Man who we may all remember from ‘The Girl in the Fireplace’. This guy is some serious nightmare fuel. His face is designed to look like a masquerade mask. The paint on it is very nice, but the yellow paint is a bit sloppy. I think the painted on smile creeps me out the most, makes me think of a clown.

 

In an attempt to be in disguise the ClockWork Man is dressed like an 18th century dandy. Like with the Silent the paint is crisp and clear and the flat body makes for a fairly comical impression. Especially the bow, I love that.

20131223_191347

Aside from his long curly wig he doesn’t have much detail on the back.

 

Probably the most proportionate of these guys is the Sontaran. He’s an angry little guy with a really big frown and a crinkled forehead. You might remember him from ‘The Time Warrior’. These guys are certifiable proof that cloning is a bad plan, that’s the only excuse for being so ugly.

20131223_191404

His armour has a nice paint job, probably the best of the three so far, and the silver stands out nicely too.

20131223_191414

The nice paint job continues all the way onto his back. It looks very nice. Also you see that sculpted bit that looks kind of like a target? That’s a Sontaran’s one weak spot. Remember it, it might just save your life.

 

Our next alien is one that we just had to see, It’s a Dalek. This guy looks awesome although assembling him is a pain. His gold trim is painted really well. I think my favorite episode thus far revolving around these guys was either ‘Dalek’ or ‘Daleks in Manhattan’. I like to think that this guy is Metaltron, yeah I know wrong series, but I kind of liked the guy.

20131223_191432

His head turns which is awesome and they did a nice job of hiding his seams. I’m pretty fond of this little guy.

 

And where exactly would we be without a Weeping Angel? Lacking in Christmas spirit I should think. Right so anyway his face is scary beyond all reason, which is of course your own fault for blinking. You shouldn’t have done that, I wouldn’t recommend doing it again.

20131223_191252

Speaking of blinking ‘Blink’ is the 1st appearance of the Anels that I’m aware of, it was also a hell of a cool episode. So anyway this vicious little guys mouth is open to show off his jagged teeth. Wicked. Not a whole lot of detail to his dress sadly, but it is worth noting that he doesn’t have the same flat body as the rest of the humanoids.

20131223_191300

His wings are wicked cool, some of the feathers even have cracks in them. Also the detailing on it’s hair is surprisingly good. I love the bun.

sexy

So the last alien we’re going to talk about today is the ever amazing ‘Sexy’. I mean the Tardis of course. Her paint job is regrettably sloppy, however this special version is in fact the Christmas edition. There’s a wreath hanging on her door and she’s topped wit snow. Overall it’s really cute and you can actually read the sign on her door!

Well there we have it, a brief look at some cool aliens….I need an Ood. 😦  Well anyway let’s see what Peter Capaldi has in store for us tonight, the whole worlds holding their breath in anticipation. Let’s hope he lives up to the legacy of Doctor Who.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Trading Figures and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

