Sailor Mercury S.H. Figuarts

Header1
So after thinking about this toy long and hard, with much careful deliberation over whether or not I should even write this review I decided to hell with it, let’s offend pretty much everybody. I didn’t like the Sailor Moon figuart when I got her, so it came as no surprise that this one was equally disappointing. Want to know why I consider this a bullet to the head of figure innovation.

20131107_202447

So we start of decently enough, her hair is pretty accurate, I like the color choice and I’m so glad they didn’t do the clear effect on her bangs like they did Serena. However her faces are insanely generic, how generic you ask? Out of her four faces only one of them isn’t an almost exact duplicate of a Sailor Moon face. Her neck is bent at a permanent angle, I’ve tried everything to get the angle right I’ve removed her head, pulled out the neck joint, it’s a no go. This seems to be a recent trend with Figuarts.

20131107_202449

At first glance the trim on her collar looks pretty good. The problem is that closer look. The trim on the left side actually touches the edge of the collar whereas the right side isn’t even close to the edge. Looking at it closely it looks kind of ridiculous. At the very least her bow looks really good.

20131107_202452

Funny thing, her stomach joint is bad. Not aesthetically bad, but it provides very little movement. The transition between her skirt and leotard is painted very poorly.

20131107_202458

Her legs are well shaped, she has very nice thighs.

20131107_202501

Her boots however…. the white trim is painted pretty bad and the color isn’t crisp at all. You can honestly tell that they just painted over the blue, it kind of pisses me off a little bit, it looks so lazy.

20131107_202508

Okay…so onto the next issue. Her bangs don’t fit on quite right, I mean I’m used to seam lines on hair, but can’t they at least make the pieces fit together right? And her hair is just a giant clump of plastic. /it’s a major disappointment.

20131107_202511

She loos decent from the side views, most of the major flaws can’t be seen from this angle.

20131107_202521

Sooooo…. if this figure has one issue that I just can’t get past it’s this. Her hair, good lord her hair. Any other figure company would have made her hair shorter, or put a groove in her hair for her neck to back against. Because of how they did it though she can’t look up at all. So down or forward, those are your choices.

20131107_202524

The bow on the back of her fuku looks good. I like the pearlescent light blue quite a bit, I think it kind of adds a touch of elegance to the piece.

1

If you look at the picture on the box her hair is visibly shorter. So what happened between point a and point b I have no idea.

2

For that matter her colors are almost all darker on the box too.

3

Her poses are fairly easy to achieve, but strangely none of them actually look good.  Ah well here we get to see a few more pieces that we didn’t get before. Her hands are open this round, her fingers are splayed and look nice. However it doesn’t matter what hands you use because they just fall right off at the slightest touch. Not joking, they just fall off, I’m this close to just gluing hands on her. We also get to see her generic yelling face. It’s awesome, looks just like Serena’s but with different colored eyebrows.

4

The coolest option and what we were all hoping for is Amy’s computer and visor. This could have been freaking sweet if she could hold the computer for more then thirteen seconds.

20131107_204148

Alright so four faces. The tiara is painted well on all our of them, and the eye decals look pretty good. She has two angry faces and two happy faces. One of each with a closed mouth and one with an open mouth.

Siona1368015851

So as I said previously they’re really generic. The only one that’s different from Serena’s faces is the happy one with the open mouth. Above you’ll see Serena’s faces, Generic happy face with a closed mouth, check, angry face yelling mouth, check, angry closed mouth, check. The reason the happy open mouth is different is because Serena’s winking. That’s Amy’s only defining difference, that she’s not winking. How sad.

20131107_204320

She comes with two fists, two hands with splayed fingers, hands that look like they’re typing, open hands, and the hand meant for holding the laptop.

20131107_204336

She has two separate bangs pieces, neither of which fit right. Though the visor does look great, and you can clearly see her eyes through them.

20131107_204357

So the laptop doesn’t look half bad, it would be really cool if she could hold it. She also comes with a closed version, don’t worry she doesn’t hold that well either.

5

I’m pretty fond of the bases that these ladies have. It has stars going around the edge and her symbol right in the middle. It has three places you can put the stick to hold her up. Nice.

7

Suzaku Kururugi came out five years ago. That’s why I said Amy is a failure for figure evolution. Suzy here has really short hair it allows for great movement of his neck, he can look up, down, or side to side. I picked him because he’s a short haired figure in a mini skirt….. The only thing she can do that he can’t do better is wear her visor. I mimicked each of her poses one at a time.

8

He even holds the laptop better.

9

It’s safe to say that neither Suzaku or Amy can manage to figure out how to make this figure look presentable. I hate this figure. Her hair doesn’t fit together, she has extremely limited movement (which is sad), her hands fall off constantly, and she can’t hold her accessories right.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Action Figure, Anime Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

