Giving Thanks for Starry Sky After Spring!

StarrySkyHeader

Characters: Kanata Nanami, Suzuya Touzuki, and Yoh Tomoe

Series: Starry Sky

Manufacturer: Penguin Parade

Release Date: December 2012

Run: Exclusive

My Figure Collection Links: http://myfigurecollection.net/item/130214, http://myfigurecollection.net/item/130216, http://myfigurecollection.net/item/130212

Have you ever had that character that you loved so much that you would scour the entire planet if it meant you would get another figure of them? No? Well I have. Kanata Nanami is one of those characters. I adore him. It is kind of funny when I first read  about Starry Sky I was really excited to see the character representing Pisces. Boy was I unhappy. Kanata wasn’t what I was expecting at all. I am glad I decided to give him a chance because he quickly became my favourite character. He was really easy to understand and get behind, because we shared so many qualities. Good job Honey Bee! You hit the nail on the head.

StarrySky2

So now the question; Why am I thankful for Starry Sky After Spring? Well there is the obvious reason being I loved the first game, and am now able to play the sequel via the PSP port. There is also the less known reason. I ordered this limited collector’s version almost an entire year ago, yet it wasn’t until ths very October that I managed to finally get them. For months I was convinced that I wasn’t going to get them. My proxy had stopped answering my messages, and I was unhappy. Now here it is a year later, I finally managed to get him to respond, and send two of my items. This being one. Heck yeah I am thankful!

StarrySky3

This collection came in a big pink box. It is pretty nifty. There is a nice piece of artwork on the front depicting all three of the “In Spring” boys.

StarrySky4

The back side of the box tells what comes inside, and has a bit of info about the game. It also has illustrations of the adorable trio of petankos it contains. I couldn’t wait to get them out.

StarrySky5

Inside of the big box came two smaller pink boxes. The first of these took up half the space inside. It was the game box. The front and back of this one have different artwork on them. I love the Starry Sky artwork. It even comes with a post card matching the front art.

StarrySky6

For some goofy reason I forgot to take a picture of the back of the box. The art image is the same as the one on the left case. Breaking it down a bit further, there are two game cases, and a small book. One of the cases houses the the main game, the other a UMD that my PSP won’t read, so I am not sure what it is.

StarrySky7

Starry Sky books are always so original. They are usually themed to look like Japanese magazines. I love it.

StarrySky8

The book has some screenshots, and short story bits for each character. I am a bit biased so here is Kanata’s page.

StarrySky9

I love the kiss page.

StarrySky10

The other small box holds my dear petankos. Inside they are held in place by a small blister casing. This box is so cute. The front has close-ups of the illustrations. The back view has all three full illustrations with a flowery background.

StarrySky11

Kanata is my favourite of the Starry Sky boys as well as the representation of my horoscope sign. He is also the first alphabetically so I am going to start there. These guys are mini petankos, so they are only 1.72 inches tall. Pretty tiny.

StarrySky12

Kanata is adorable. His face looks pudgier than the others. It could be the exposed forehead, but whatever it is; I like it! He has really nice eyes. The gradient of green looks really good. He has the tiniest smile, and blushing cheeks. I just want to hug it. his character has really strange hair, and everytime it goes 3D I worry about how it will turn out. Thankfully it looks really good. There is plenty of detail in the sculpt to make it work. He sits in a standard petanko pose, with both hands in front of him. They painted just enough details onto his outfit to make him distinctive, but not enough to be accurate. School uniforms from this series are extremely detailed, so on a figure this tiny it is kind of obvious that they would simplify it. The paint is a bit sloppy on the finer parts, and honestly if they were going to make the design simpler they could have at least painted it nicer. I think it is awesome that they gave him his necklaces.

StarrySky13

The back of the figure shows a little bit of character as well. Kanata never wears his uniform right. He always wears a green V-neck shirt under his jacket, and no tie. Now from the back we can se his jacket belt hanging open, and his red tie peaking out of his back pocket. What a great touch!

StarrySky14 Suzuya is up next. He is pretty cute too. His eyes aren’t quite as huge as Kanata’s, but they sure are vibrant. They chose a very pretty shade of blue. He also has a little smile, and blushing cheeks. I think the rosy hue is an awesome addition. His criss crossed bangs are perfect, as is his little ahoge’. Their heads do turn to offer a bit of difference between them. Suzuya wears his uniform good and proper. He is all tucked in, buttoned up, and wearing his tie. Again there is a general lack of detail, and sloppy paint. It is kind of funny, they were spot on with the heads, but put little to know effort in their bodies. I find this pretty annoying.

StarrySky15

Of the three Suzuya is the only one wearing his jacket closed, thus he is the only one with his belt around his waist. Other than that little tidbit there isn’t much going on back here. There is a big white scuff on his left side. That looks pretty bad. On the other hand he has a great head of hair.

StarrySky16

Lastly is Yoh. I saved him for last because honestly I don’t like the guy. His chibi is really cute though. His bangs look good, and his ahoge actually feels really sturdy. Other than that his hair lies pretty flat, and is pretty unexciting. He doesn’t really fit in with the other two given his expression. His eyes look flat and expressionless. His mouth is turned down in a frowning manner, but he is still blushing. I am not quite sure what read into this one. His tiny mole below his mouth is where it should be. Yoh’s uniform is like the happy medium between Kanata’s sloppy style, and Suzuya’s proper manner of dress. Yoh does not wear his jacket closed, but he does wear his tie. The tie looks like it is an entirely separate piece which makes the paint on his front less messy, but around his collar is still iffy at best.

StarrySky17

On the back we can see the subtle detailing to his hair. I wasn’t really impressed with the back of his head. The back of his jacket looks like Kanata’s sans the misplaced tie.

StarrySky18

If you want to have a little extra fun with them, you can exchange their heads with those nendoroid petites….Questionable, but fun. Did I mention I am not a fan of Yoh? Overall these figures are really cute, but not very well made. If you are a big fan they are pretty great, if not maybe pass them by. I am not only a big fan, but I intend on playing the game as well, so I am sure to get my moneys worth out of it. All in all I am really happy that they finally made it home, and I am thankful that such a treat was added to my collection. I hope you all have many things to be thankful for, both in the fandom and at home. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Exclusives and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Giving Thanks for Starry Sky After Spring!

  1. Lehst says:

    LOL I love what you did with the head-swapping.
    I only just learned of “petanko” figures when I saw the mini ones for Sword Art. These ones for Starry Sky sure are cute! Thanks for sharing your unboxing of the LE. I can definitely relate when it comes to FINALLY tracking down an item. I’m glad yours made it home~ n_n

    • Topiki says:

      Just out of curiosity are you planning on getting the SAO petankos. I am pretty excited about them. I really want figures of Klein and Agil! Not to mention Kirito, Asuna, and Yui!

      • Lehst says:

        Yeah I have a preorder. They are all adorable! I’m looking forward to Klein and Kirito the most. But really they are all so cute~! I’m glad they chose to do a lot of the main cast and that the male/female ratio is close to even.

Leave a Reply

