Megaten Monday: An Interruption Within An Interruption

header

So as many of you already know, yesterday Atlus came clean with a few big Persona related announcements some people are really excited, some of us are a little bit more hesitant….So here’s my thoughts on the latest that Atlus games has to offer us.

a1

The one we all saw coming of course was the verification of Persona arena part 2. This time with the addition of Junpei Iori and Yukari Takeba and some guy who I think fell out of Bleach. Junpei’s doing good for himself, he’s coaching a little league baseball team now, and Yukari is the new representation of Featherman Pink. Somehow I doubt that’s what her aspiration in life was.

a2

Apparently Mitsuru is abducting people in her helicopter. Sure the two groups managed to contain the threat last time, but why not call in a few more of the goon squad to help out.

a3

After the helicopter we see a T.V. turn on, it does the static thing before showing shots of Akihiko, Mitsuru, and Aegis hooked to crosses. Well congrats trailer, I think Aegis is the only person in P3 that I hadn’t seen hooked to a cross. So we’re probably going back into the tv again…..yippee….

a4

We’re also back to fighting shadows again! How exciting I’ve never fought Yukiko’s shadow before…….wait….isn’t this the third game where we’ll have fought the Persona 4 characters shadow versions. It’s starting to feel kind of like a skipped record. I mean the illusory things that the unnamed villain (I still doggedly insist it’s Nyarly) had the characters fight that weren’t really them, that’s one thing, but their either running that trick or the actual shadows trick again. Lame!

a5

Then there’s this guy. His name is Sho Minazuki. He looks like a flaming pile of shonen cliché, I mean look at this guy, is this really what we needed? A duel wielding guy with a pumpkin grin and a scar across his face? Knowing my luck he’s going to end up with just as many statues as Labrys. Which is three so far by the way. and speaking of Labrys she is nowhere to be seen in this trailer. Not even once. Neither is Elizabeth for that matter. Where both sub plots kicked to the curb? Probably.

a6

And Yu’s looking at this guy with a face that says “oh god what is that?!?” And Sho’s face says “mmmm I eat puppies.” And I bet there’s already shonen ai fan fiction about these two just to make me nauseous. Run away Yu run far far away.

a7

And if the title doesn’t make you want to curl up in a ball and die……

a8

Then this will? Why the hell is Adachi back? What fathomable reason could they possibly have to think this is even close to a good idea? No one was cool with it when Kandori came back calling himself Guido, I’m not going to be cool with Adachi coming back either.

So anyway in summary this is what we know so far about P4 A2 as summarized by someone who thankfully isn’t me:

The story takes place only a few days after the events of Persona 4 Arena, when the city of Inaba is enshrouded with red fog in which time is warped and people disappear. Inaba has almost become like the world inside the television. On top of it all, the members of the Persona 4 team find Mitsuru and Akihiko being crucified on the Midnight Channel. In front of the Inaba students appear Yukari and Junpei — members of the Shadow Worker unit who have come to the rural town in order to save their upperclassmen.

Atlus describes the profiles of the new playable characters as follows:

Capable of shooting arrows in various directions. Her Persona Isis uses wind to attack. When Yukari’s arrows are aimed into the heart of the tempest, they will fly toward the enemy!

Yukari fought together with Mitsuru Kirijo, Akihiko Sanada and other friends as one of the members of SEES in order to save the world in Persona 3. She graduated from Gekkokan Academy and moved on to college, where she is currently working as a female model. However, it is learned that Yukari has skills with the bow, and she is given the role of Pink in the famous sentai program, “Phoenix Ranger Featherman Victory.” One day, a helicopter not used in the filming suddenly appears in the sky. Out of the helicopter appeared Mitsuru Kirijo and her maid Kikuno (a character played by Masumi Asano in the Persona 3 drama CDs). When Yukari learned of Mitsuru’s emergency, she flew immediately to Inaba without even taking time to change… Something she would regret later!

Hit attacks with the bat, and get the runner to base! When your points increase, Junpei’s attack increases! His Persona Trismegistus uses a fiery charge to attack opponents within a mid-to-distant range.

As with Yukari, Junpei participated in Persona 3. Now 19 years old, he works as an emergency member of Mitsuru’s Shadow control police unit, the Shadow Workers. He participates in the unit under Mitsuru’s request, but he does not get many calls for action. When he’s free from the unit, Junpei works at a part time job while coaching junior league baseball on his days off. He ends up being thrown into a strange incident when he arrives to the rural town of Inaba…

  • Sho Minazuki
  • Voice: Kenichi Suzumura

A new character to the series. Nothing is known about him except for his name and appearance.

In addition to the new characters, a certain number of characters have Shadow-type alter-egos available. The player may choose to play as the normal character, or their shadow-type.

There are a couple story things in there that make no sense, if Mitsuru is crucified on the midnight channel, how is she picking up Yukari in a helicopter?

a3

Also why no mention of Aegis? She’s the only one of the three they actually focus the picture on for more then a split second….Ah whatever.

Next we’ll hit the long awaited long delayed Persona 5!

p1

Okay a chair, I like chairs, strong sturdy things chairs. And a theme colour of red this time, means our lead character will start of with agi this time.

p2

I’ll admit I cold be more excited about seeing this guys name. I really miss the demon painter Mr Kaneko designing everything. The games where a lot darker back then. Now they border on high school comedy.

p3

A slave? Like literally? Or a slave to destiny? What kind of slave are we talking about here there are so many different contexts that this word can be used…What about a slave to a contract? Like Igor’s contracts perhaps? We know Philemon hasn’t always played the rules.

p4

Five chairs, five chains. Five destinies? Five Games? Five leads? Five characters?

p7

What if it’s like this? I guess it depends for both 2 and 3 who you consider to be the lead at the end. Honestly though both Maya and Aegis would make more sense to a continuing story then there male counterparts.

p8

Or what if it’s like this?

p5

It’s a long wait. An even longer one for those of us in N America, but at least it’ll be for the ps3. I really want this game to blow my expectations out of the water.

p6

With how original Atlus has been lately though it’ll probably be about a group of kids using their life forces to pilot a giant mech.

The next game on the list is Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth. Q? why on earth is it Q? Would have been more dignified to call it Persona help us avoid bankruptcy.

q1

Once upon a time that logo filled me with delight…..

q2

Is the death of Mr. Bunbun supposed to get us intrigued?

q3

…………………….okay? So this game is going to be about the Persona 3 cast as chibis…. okay.

q4

Some of them even qualify as cute, and look Shinjiro’s back which means it takes place somewhere midway in P3. Koro is cute as always and it’s another excuse to accidentally forget to revive Ken for the entire game.

q5

…..wait…oh no. It’s another crossover game. hjmnhjnn <-the result of my head hitting the keyboard. A pre Arena crossover between 3 and 4 completely kicks continuity in the face. Or are the seriously expecting us to believe that the two casts randomly forgot each other. This had better not be one of those Mewtwo erased our memories stories or I swear I will blow something up.

q6

I think once I’m done with Eternal Punishment I’m going to take a break from Persona. Go play Digital Devil or Nocturne, or something where I don’t have to look at these kids for awhile. For a cast that I liked I’m getting really sick of looking at them as tends to happen when something gets shoved down your throat too much. So expect the next game I cover to not have the title Persona attached to it.

q7

At the very least maybe we’ll get a couple sets of chibi figures out of this. If I can draw one bonus to these casts over exposure it always puts me one step closer to a toy of Shinjiro.

q8

And the shadows are looking increasingly like Noh face from ‘Spirited Away’. How generic.

q9

Bonus number two: Theodore’s back. I really never actually expected to see him again. Kind of makes it a little lame though that we don’t get Minako again.

q11

So I’m guessing we’ll probably be picking our Velvet Room assistant ourselves again. It would be hectic if they were all there at the same time.

q10

Seriously what the hell does the Q stand for?

Here’s what Atlus has told us so far:

The story of the new game takes place on the last day of the Yasogami High culture festival. During the event, the heroes of Persona 4 see a strange bell tower appear on the school grounds. The heroes of Persona 3 also hear the bell, and are dragged into the future where the Persona 4 cast awaits. They are locked in the school covered in Shadows, but meet two mysterious individuals named Zen and Rei, who have lost their memories. The cast soon learns that Zen and Rei’s lost memories may be the key to solving the mystery of the bell tower’s sudden appearance.

Although only one of the silent protagonists can lead the party, players will experience a different story depending on the protagonist they choose. By choosing the Persona 4 hero, players will experience a story more closely involved with the Persona 4 cast and vice versa.

And finally the bullet to the head of the franchise is this: Persona 4 Dancing All Night. Yeah you read that right.

r1Well congratulations Atlus your logo now fills me with dread and trepidation.

r2

A disco ball. Seriously?

r3

I think I’ll stick with Project Diva thank you very much.

r4

It gets worse. Honest to god it gets worse. Yu Narukami is man who should never under any circumstances dance. It looks ridiculous…they did tone down his collar though that has to count for something.

r5

Really ridiculous. Yellow headphones? The bandana tied around his arm? What the hell is that crap? I understand the concept of getting dressed in the dark but give Yosuke back his clothes.

r6

The only new character announced so far is one of Rise’s back up dancers, I want to say her name was Kanami, and she’s the one brought up in Rise’s social link, but I don’t honestly remember for certain. That was an amazingly long run on sentence.

r7

Okay if I can dance with Izanagi I’ll play it.

r8

And it gets worse. Do we really want to see Kanji dance?

r9

And this is actually going to come out before Persona 5. That makes me want to bite something. Anyway, what do you guys think? Anything your going to play? Any thoughts on the Atlus cash cows?

While Atlus is at it though my husband and I came up with a few other games Atlus could make.

supershopper

Super Shopper Nanako. Hit the sales before it’s too late!

akihiko

Champ! The boxing game starring Persona 3’s Akihiko Sanada!

shooter

Aim for the Weak Spot: A first Persona shooter with Aegis!

motorcycle

Race against Fate: The Tatsuya Suou racing game!

cooking

Cannabalism for Fun and Profit: the Digital Devil Cooking Game!

hat

Naoto Shirogane versus Raidou Kuzunoha: Which Detective’s hat is better.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Megaten Monday: An Interruption Within An Interruption

  1. colonelfancy says:

    Bravisimo!! I don’t think I can sum up just how I feel about this shameless overexposure. Its not like the games are even bad, but even if you have a favorite world in Super Mario World, you still have to move on. I am really sick of seeing these two casts over and over.

  2. Carolyn says:

    I love persona with the fiery passion of a thousand suns but this is waaay too much, especially since they seem to like bringing in all new characters who aren’t all that interesting. And they haven’t even included Minako! For shame.

  3. Lehst says:

    I am without words. -_-;;

    …except the ones I just typed.

Leave a Reply

