Jack Skellington Sega

Header

Here we have it, it’s finally Halloween. Even as an adult this is still one of my absolute favorite days of the year. Now I personally can’t celebrate today without getting the words to “This is Halloween” stuck in my head. As such here for you today I bring a very special review, Jack the Pumpkin King. Enjoy!

1

I’ve always been fairly fond of Jack’s monochromatic design, on the man himself there isn’t a single dab of colour. One of the fun things about this guy is amazingly expressive a skeleton can be, this can be done because Jack’s head is in fact not shaped even remotely close to a real skull. Skulls aren’t generally round, they don’t have raised spots on head for eyebrow definition, nor do they have cute little upturned noses. Jack however does. Overall this make his head infinitely more appealing then say…..this guy.

This is more so how a skull should be shaped on a toy. It’s also part of why I love Jack’s design.

1

Ok back to Jack. His grin splits his face in what would literally be an ear to ear to grin ….if he had ears….or lips.

2

I love Jack’s bowtie, and pretty much always have for that matter. It’s in the shape of a bat with it’s wings spread out well past the width of his shoulders. Strangely the bats eyes are a little uneven, but the paint looks pretty damn sweet. There are a few minor paint flaws near the tips of his bow.

3

From the front his suit jacket looks great, the horizontal lines on the collar contrast very nicely with the pin stripes on the rest of the jacket.

4

An interesting choice at Jack’s hipline here, to accentuate the wrinkles in his pants they highlight it with white. Definitely an interesting decision.

7

Jack’s long legs are crossed at the knees which adds very nicely to his extremely relaxed pose. there are a few minor paint flaws but overall it’s not a bad display.  Let’s face it the quality could have been better.5

Jack has teeny tiny little feet that are clad in simple black dress shoes.

6

Jack’s head is tilted slightly to the side and is resting against his bony hand, it makes the figure seem almost whimsical….wait a sec,,,,, Hold up, now I know Sega’s screwed up a lot recently but they jacked up his hands badly. I don’t know how they managed it but he should have a total of four fingers including his thumb, but look… no thumb. I mean other then that his hands look great, the gray between the joints looks nice and I really like the sculpt….. but the thumbs!!!!!!

8

This spot here by his collar is horrible, I’m not a fan of the paint here at all.

9

Jack’s other hand just like the first looks awesome, still no thumb though. I don’t think I’ll ever get over just how weird that is.

10

Like with the rest of this figure the paint on his back is really hit or miss depending on the spot. I think the coat tails specifically look atrocious.

11

From this side Jack’s legs are a travesty, it almost makes one wonder if different parts weren’t painted by different people.

12

The highlight of this figure is without a doubt it’s base. The whole thing is a roughly stitched up burlap sack. Also various friends from NBC show up here.

13

The first one is this guy here, the scary Teddy Doll. His paint job is awesome, the white on the top of his head and ears looks great. Also his huge red lips are pulled back in a sinister smile that shows off his razor sharp fangs beautifully.

14

It also features the black cat Jack in the Box which has sprung up to punch a hole in the bag. He looks mostly good, the paint on his left pupil looks like the white was spread a little too thin.

15

My overall favorite aspect of this toy though is the pull along duck whose gaping maw has burst through a seam on the side. It’s jagged teeth are ready to clamp down as soon as something nears it. Awesome.

16

Like I said, Awesome!

18

I’m not going to talk in detail about Jack’s box, however I will point out that he does have both thumbs in the picture.

17

Overall if you want my humble opinion this is far from being the King of Halloween’s best figure ever. The bag is awesome and barring close inspection Jack doesn’t look bad…. I might just pose my revoltech on the bag and call it a night. Happy Halloween.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jack Skellington Sega

  1. Lehst says:

    thanks for the review. I considered this figure but decided I didn’t really care for the relaxed pose.
    I had no idea he didn’t have thumbs here! That really is bizarre.

Leave a Reply

