Izanagi Taito Prize

Header1

I don’t like Taito. I haven’t for quite sometime, however I have to say that there are some things that I just can’t resist. Izanagi just so happens to be really high on that list of irresistibles.

 

Izanagi has an awesome head. Across his forehead is white headband adorned with to gold pieces. He has orange eyes with red pupils, the red is particularly cool because it circles  the iris in three separate circles. It looks really cool, I like it a lot. His face itself is made up of four layered sheets of metal, it looks pretty cool. He doesn’t have any mouth to speak of, but he does have four slits between the 2nd through 4th sheets that could be represented as either a nose or mouth I suppose.

2

He’s faced forward holding his sword mid swing it looks pretty cool. If I do have one regret as far as this figure goes it’s that his head is down as low as it is which makes it hard to see his awesome face. The details on his shoulder are well painted, the gold emblem looks very nice and so does the white trim.

3

His shoulders are hunched as his body twists around. It’s pretty neat of course this twist is well represented in the front of his jacket, the folds are pretty cool but even more so then that are the lines and the zipper on the front of it and how they ride the folds in the fabric. Over his crotch is a guard, yeah because spirits need that kind of thing, it’s well painted and very nicely sculpted as well.

4

Izanagi has not one but seven buckles running down the length of his jacket. They’re really well sculpted. Even the red trim under the buckles looks fantastic.

5

To match the seven buckles there are also seven straps, there are two holes punched into the straps. The holes go all the way through. Way cool.

6

His boots are very nice, they go almost all the way up to his knees. I like that the design on his boots is pretty much the same as the front of his jacket, all lines and zippers and it’s like mega cool.

7

At the bottom of each of the boots is a razor like blade, long and thin, probably be really good for ice skating I’d wager.

8

Like the bottom of his coat the collar has two perfectly unused buckles as well. They are just as well done as the other ones. Underneath his jacket is a really floofy looking cravat. It’s a light gray and looks pretty good with his colour scheme. His sleeves show the same design again as the front of the jacket. Now there are a few really cool things about Izanagi’s hands They’re long, thin, pointed at the ends, and unless I’m missing my guess, his fingers have webbing between them.

10

He holds the sword clutched in both monstrous hands. His hands are holding it in a wide grip, far apart from each other.

12

You can see the two white straps flying out around him.

13

The back of his jacket is blowing out behind him. The wrinkles from twisting his body looking really nice. His base fits perfectly into his butt….yeah I said it. Anyway t fits really well and holds him steady.

15

The back of his coat is well done, as I’m sure you saw on the front how it wrapped over his shoulders and down under his arms. It crosses over his back, overall I think it looks kind of cool.

16

From the side you can see that the blades on Izanagi’s feet are almost saw like. I don’t even want to think about what that would do if he kicked someone.

17

My number one complaint about this toy is this, my version came with a large scuff on the inside of his coat. Kinda sucks.

18

Initially I thought it was some kind of ribbon, but I have since concluded that they are actually belts. They each have a buckle and straps. It’s really kind of cool and fits his image better then ribbons would have.

19

The sword is wicked it not only looks sharp, but has a sharp saw on the other side. Ouch. The long hilt of the blade is wrapped and it looks magnificent.

20

His base is a large black oval, with a heavy duty stick coming out of it. As previously stated the stick plugs into Izanagi’s backside. It’s very stable.

21Overall I think this Izanagi is totally worth the purchase. The only major flaw on him is on the inside of his jacket and completely invisible from any reasonable display option.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

