Milla Maxwell Alter 1/8

Header1Having had been a Tales fan for a great many years I was really excited when Alter announced a line of figures from the game franchise. Milla is just one of the many that they’ve made. So far they’ve done Xillia, Abyss, and Vesperia with the announcement that Symphonia figures are on the way. It’s kind of exctiting to see them getting some love….well anyway here’s Milla!

1

Milla’s face is gorgeous, her eyes are a brilliant bright red. Her eyes have a light gloss over them making them shine just slightly and really bringing life to her face. Her mouth is turned in the slightest of smiles, barely visible but still there nonetheless and her lips have a light pink paint applied to them. Her bangs are feathered nicely and fan out to frame her face quite well. I like it.

2

Milla is wearing a choker around her neck beset with a green gemstone. The stone is in fact a clear piece of plastic tinted green to make it look more authentic. Her collarbone is clearly defined and looks fantastic. Now I must admit I have no idea what Milla’s wearing exactly so my description might get a little bit jumbled here. So at first I though she was wearing a tube top but now that I’m looking at I don’t think it is. It kind of looks like the black straps across her chest are the straps for her shirt.  The straps aren’t painted very well though, the black strays onto her chest in more then one place. Her shirt has a light purple shading on it that exemplifies her ample bosom. The straps also do a great job of pushing her breasts together and making the overall appearance of her chest that much better.

3

The straps cut across her stomach nicely and are painted better then the ones on her chest. She has a great stomach, it’s very easy to believe that she’s a warrior. She’s got a great stomach and her hip bones are amazing. Her skirt clings nicely to her body and shows off her hips phenomenally well. The skirt is a light purple that matches with the shading on her shirt, the design on it is well painted and looks quite nice. The skirt laces up the side and ties at the top. The ribbon of the bow is a little disappointing, it would look a lot better if there were holes in the loops.

4

Strangely enough the straps continue down her leg. Honest to god if you lift up her skirt you can see that these straps and the ones going down her torso actually connect to her underwear. That’s just freaky weird if you ask me. Makes going to the ladies room one hell of a pain. The ridges on the leg straps are painted with a metallic paint which makes them stand out from the rest of the black of the strap.

5

Her boots are effing weird. I mean they bell out at the top and are layered and…seriously what the hell? Well for the most part the paint looks good here at least but the laces could have been given a second glance by quality control to fix how the paint looks unevenly spread. (I just complained about Alter’s QC 😦  Once upon a time they were perfect )

6

So the next weird thing about Milla’s outfit is this strange high collar. I just don’t get it. Who attaches a collar to an outfit like this? And tassels, you’ve got to be kidding me. Speaking of said tassels though they look really banal as far as detailing goes. Not up to Alter quality at all. Her hair is kind of neat it’s got see through portions to give a nice illusion of depth to her hair.

7

Then she’s got this weird ahoge thing, unusual not because it’s an ahoge but because it’s shaped like a freaking handle bar. Something to hold onto if things get heated I guess. With a bit of nice blending the color changes about midway from blonde to light green. This is the only spot in her hair that does this strangely enough. Her hair really flies loose behind her in wild waves, the shading is magnificent.

8

Her spine curves very nicely into one very luscious backside. Her bracers, or are they gloves? At some point I think it becomes a kind of grey area between the two. Anyway if you want my ever humble opinion the paint on the ribbons is absolute crap. Where the ribbons overlap and cross each other there’s a lot of brown paint smudged on them. Ergo crap. the pink looks nice though and the sculpt is pretty good. Especially on her hands, her fingers are thin and well proportioned to her hands and arms.

9

One thing that is kind of cool is that you can see the straps on her leg through the slit. that’s really kind of hot. She has very nice leg proportions. Very nice, I love how the straps dig into her leg just a teensy bit. It’s very realistic and looks way good.

12

The back of her head is a whole pile of things that I don’t like. It’s seam line on top of seam on top of seam. Four of them, four visible seams that shouldn’t even exist on an Alter figure. I hate it. Positively hate it. I do like the layers and the shading though. From that stand point the hair is great, but four visible seams? Ludicrous. Just plain ludicrous.

13

I think from the back her hair looks more like a a flower then hair. It doesn’t really have small wisps but in stead large bulky masses of plastic. It looks okay, until you take in the whole picture and realize just how completely ridiculous her mass of a mane really is. Or how only part of it’s caught up in the wind blowing to the side and part of it’s blowing back. Only tendrils are blowing back though they don’t rest against the bulk of her hair which is untouched by this backward blowing wind. I’m going to stop though before I give myself a hair induced aneurism.

14

The back of her boots don’t have a significant amount of detail but the paint looks good enough to get a passing grade from me.

15

This arm got away with a much better paint job then they other one. Her arms is raised as she readies her sword. Or at least I guess that’s what she’s doing.

16

From the side her body is gorgeous. Her breasts are beautifully rounded and I love the curve of her body from breast down to hip. The shape of her body is positively delectable. Again I have to point out how much I love her hip bones, they add such a nice feel of sex appeal to this toy.

 

18

Milla is caught here striding forward, confidence in her steps as she moves forward. Her legs look pretty damn good and I have to appreciate that a sculptor actually curved her foot at the Achilles heel. This is one of my biggest and most frequent gripes with figures, but here it looks very nice.

19

The pommel on her sword comes off so you can slide the hilt into her hand. The whole presentation looks pretty good, but be careful not to put the pommel on the wrong way or it might crack.

20

Her base is a clear pink with what looks like water droplets on the base. It’s a very pretty effect. As for the symbol I think it’s a magic summoning circle. Way cool

21

Overall Milla has some really crappy paint flaws and those hair seams are hideous, but she herself looks decent. I just wouldn’t recommend putting her on a mirrored shelf. So if you want my humble I wouldn’t recommend paying much more then 50 dollars or so for her. Unless your a fan she’s probably not worth more then that.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Milla Maxwell Alter 1/8

  1. Topiki says:

    Given the design on her base, I think Milla may be going to one of Silent Realms!

Leave a Reply

