Watashi 1/1 AmiAmi Zero

WatashiHeader

Character: Watashi

Series: Humanity has Declined

Scale: 1/1

Sculptor: Kouzuki Hajime

Manufacturer: AmiAmi Zero

Release Date: August 2013

I think today is a good day to celebrate a very special anniversary. I first started shopping with AmiAmi back in late 2009. They quickly became my one stop shop for anime figures. I loved them. It is too bad that it was a one sided affair. I pumped several hundred dollars into their business a month , and was rewarded with ridiculous shipping charges and awful customer service. It pained me to cancel my account with them, but this month marks the one year anniversary of my transfer to HobbyLink who is more organized, has better customer service, and waaay cheaper shipping. You may wonder what this has to do with Watashi, but believe me we are about to come full circle.

Watashi1

I had never purchased a figure from AmiAmi Zero before. I had thought about it, but never did one really catch my interest. This month I finally received my first one; Watashi. I thought it ironic that my first, and quite possibly last AmiAmi Zero figure came home in the anniversary month of my swearing off their store. I believe Watashi may (in plastic form) summarize their entire practice.

Watashi2

At first glance she is quite cute. Her hair has these wispy strands, and a really adorable little curl. Her cotton candy coloured hair has a slightly darker shading added to it. The sculpt on her hair is really nice, until you notice that the three little wisps sticking up from her bangs each have a separate seem all the way around them. What in the hell AmiAmi!?

Watashi3

The back of her hair looks fantastic. The sculpt and shading look fantastic.

Watashi4

Watashi’s face is cute. She looks pretty brainless, but adorable. Her face has very little detail. Her eyebrows are painted nice and even. Her expression makes her appear completely clueless, but her details are applied well. You can adjust her head slightly as it rests on a ball shaped nub. If you turn her head she looks a bit better overall I think, less drab.

Watashi5

Watashi has two posing options. The first one has her holding onto a scarf tied around her shoulders. The blue scarf adds a bit of much needed colour to her rather bland palette. Her tiny hands clasp the ends of the scarf. The paint transfer on her hands is absolutely appalling. Fortunately you can only see this when her hands are detached from the scarf.

Watashi6

The back of the scarf has little cookies tucked away for later.

Watashi7

The arms detach at the sleeves, so you can switch them over to her more boring option. For this one she looks even more vapid as she stands there staring off into space. She is doing nothing. Literally. Just standing there looking dumb.

Watashi8

To liven it up you can place the little red measuring spoon on her back like a shovel. It is definitely a good thing she has a hole in her back to attach it to, because she clearly doesn’t have it strapped on. Here you can also see her tiny buttons and pockets. The little bit of detailing that she has is painted. Her yellow trim, buttons, and the dark part of her boots are all painted well.

Watashi9

The last interesting thing about this figure is her eggshell hat. This was my favourite part of Watashi and the driving point to my purchase. What I didn’t know at the time was that her hat would not stay on her head. No. I mean it. Not at all. I ended up taping it on for the photos. There are even little grooves on the inside where it should rest on her hair. Nope.

Watashi10

Her base is just a little circle with no distinctive flair. There are two pegs that hold her upright. It does its job well but is lacking in creativity.

Watashi11

Overall I wasn’t impressed by AmiAmi Zero’s Watashi figure. As I said before we would come full circle. Like AmiAmi’s store this figure looks good at first glance. That is until you notice the subtle flaws, and ho hum feel of the toy. This is exactly how I feel about their service. You look at the shop and see fantastic prices, and an easy interface, but what you find on the inside is shoddy service and terrible shipping prices. Watashi is cute, but looks the best inside her box. Once you take her out you are bum rushed by all those lovely characteristics of an awful company invading your home in 3D.

Pros:

Her hair has very nice shading.

Interchangeable parts are always a plus.

Her base holds her nicely.

Cons:

Her secondary option is boring and lifeless.

Her face looks kind of stupid.

Her hat is garbage, just throw it in a compost pile.

She has terrible paint transfer.

Overall Enjoyment: 4/10

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watashi 1/1 AmiAmi Zero

  1. cb27ded says:

    That egg hat is useless.

Leave a Reply

