Ia Aquamarine 1/8

Header1

Holy crap….Do you know what this is? It’s a Vocaloid statue that has nothing to do with Good Smile Company! Isn’t that exciting, I can’t wait to give her a full once over.

1

Ia has the most beautiful eyes. They are a brilliant blue that have very nice light refraction on them, they also have a light gloss over them to make them shine gorgeously.  Her lips are parted ever so slightly and she looks just a smidgeon confused. Her hair falls in her face making a really nice display. The light blond of it is highlighted to be just a shade darker, it’s very pretty-ful. Now on to the negative of this toy, one single negative as far as this picture goes. One piece of her bangs has a horrible seam line, I mean wretchedly bad. There’s just this triangle of hair that they didn’t even try to hide. Her choker is a simple black with a little silver embelsihment. It’s painted very nice.

2Going down from her choker her skin is absolutely luscious, her collar bone is well defined and all in all makes for a tantalizing bit of flesh. She’s wearing a pretty simple tank top. It’s black with two white stripes going down the center. Her over-shirt looks really cool as far as the sculpt itself goes……the paint however….Well to put it bluntly the white paint at the top here, it’s an absolute catastrophe. They tried, oh I’m sure that they did, but it looks so glopped on that it’s ridiculous and each of the little indented shapes, you can see where the paint is supposed to go, it just doesn’t.

3

You can see the bottom of the tank top underneath the over-shirt, the paint here is applied much better then the other shirt that’s for damn sure. They both have an ample amount of wrinkles, but they really shine on the top shirt, it shows just over sized it is, it’s a very nice effect.

4

She’s wearing a pleated pink skirt with that looks great with the rest of her outfit, it starts off with a dark pink that rapidly fades to a lighter shade. I also like how it’s just slightly caught in a breeze.

5

Her hair is positively fantastic and without a doubt one of the main selling points of this figure. Apparently she didn’t bother highlighting the rest of her hair, so yeah that’s a little bit weird. However all the little tendrils are very nice, I love the little bits that curl just slightly, I also really like that some of them even go different ways. Way cool.

7

She has very nice meaty thighs. I always love good thigh proportions. She wears a garter strap around one thigh, it’s tight and digs slightly into the flesh there. On her other leg she wears a thigh high stocking. If both legs were clad like this it would be damn sexy, but one high stocking and one short sock has never been my personal area of fetishes.

8

Her legs indent slightly at the knee, showing off her kneecaps quite well. The paint at the top of the sock looks a little bit bad, not horrible but far from great. The stripes on the sock however are awesome and I do mean awesome.

9

Her boots are kind of cool in a Sci Fi kind of way. The trim is well painted and looks really nice. I really like the straps that wrap around each boot respectfully. Near the bottom of each boot there’s a pink pearlescent paint.

10

Her braids fall down in front of her and curve with her body. It’s pretty cool.  Her shirt falls around her shoulders giving a great display, I love the way the bare flesh is split by the straps of her tank top. The next really neat thing to mention is her sleeves, these are actually attached to the tank top, how cool is that? This means you get a nice view of her forearms, it’s pretty sweet.

11

The paint on job on the sleeves is good, the white lines and the cuffs both looks just right. I’m kind of amused that this figure is dressed extremely sexy, I mean dead sexy and has no T & A. Her skirt is lifted up just slightly at the back, it gives a great view of the back of her legs, did I mention how much I love meaty thighs?

13

Her legs are nice, but not very muscled. Still the existing detail looks positively fantastic.

14

Her hair falls around her feet and looks fabulous. The pieces of her hair interweave very nicely making for a very pretty messy display.

15

There’s a small peg attached to her base that you have to loop her hair around to keep her stable. There are a total of three spots that take the weight off of her neck seam.

17

The sole of her shoes have distinctive tread traced into heels.

18

The top of her head shows less detail then the rest of her hair. However it quickly falls into the long pretty strands that we all love. There is however a really bad seam in her hair. It kind of sucks a little. By a little of course I mean a lot.

 

19

From there it falls into cascading waves that will eventually split into delicate tendrils.

20

Isn’t that gorgeous? I love how it curls towards her at the bottom. Oh yeah remember how I mentioned the three spots that hold her hair up you can see a clear shot of one the posts in this picture. It fits snugly into a hole in her hair . This does detract a little bit from the figure, but it isn’t too bad.

21

You can see the other post in this shot. Regrettably this one is visible from her display angle. I think that really kind of sucks.

22

If they’d just painted the straps on her back a little bit better I think this could have been really hot. I ‘ve always been a fan of X straps. Way sexy. Her shoulder blades are clearly defined. Also I love how low the over-shirt droops giving a very nice view of her back. Nice!

23

Her skirt clings just slightly to her before billowing out on the wind. The dark pink shading in the creases is a very nice touch.

24

Her legs are smooth and sexy. The fabric of her stocking cuts slightly into the flesh leaving a nice natural look, I can totally approve of that.

 

26

There’s a better shot of those posts… and the base in general for that matter. It’s a simple white base that states her name: Ia, and what song the figure is based off of. It’s based off of Aria on the Planetes which was actually one of her demo songs. She doesn’t detach from her base at all. She comes hooked to it. It’s a reall no muss no fuss kind of thing.

27

Her shoulders are sexy and she knows it. That’s why she keeps showing them off at me.

28

The top of her shirt on this side has a kind of jagged edge. They really could have sanded that down better. As with her other arm the wrinkles on this sleeve look really nice.

29

Ia has great hands, thin pale fingers splayed out and looking fabulous. What really bothers me about this figure is that they can’t get any of the paint on her shirt right but her ring is painted perfectly. It’s a gold ring with a simple aquamarine gemstone set into it.

30

I can’t believe I forgot to take a picture of the top of her tank top until now. I like the cut of the tank top, it’s kinda sexy. The paint at the top of the shirt looks like it’s spread a little too thin.

hjkj

So my overall opinion on Ia is for a scrawny little slip of a thing she’s pretty sexy. Her paint is splotchy in some places ad that is really hard to get past. Her sculpt is amazing and I do mean amazing. I love her sculpt so much. She’s costs right around 50 US dollars right now. Which is a good price for a figure of her quality, if your a fan of IA, Vocaloids, or just pretty girls she might be worth it to you.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ia Aquamarine 1/8

  1. colonelfancy says:

    I really dig her character design. It boasts a neo-contemporary goth girl look. I also don’t mean to diminish the rest of the figure, but hair has probably been the highlight of a lot of these toys for me, and hers is amazing!

Leave a Reply

