Megaten Monday: Persona 2 Eternal Punishment Part 1

header1

So here we have it as promised I’ve officially began Eternal Punishment. As the second part of the epic that is Persona 2 I expect this to be made of pure awesome.

1

I’ll be honest seeing EP opened with the “this has nothing to do with reality” disclaimer made me laugh my butt off.

2

Our opening cinema shows Tatsuya Suou slouched down in his garage, his motorcycle next to him. I know it’s only been a week =, but I’m thrilled to see him again. 🙂

3

The next set of shots reveal the horrible truth of the situation at hand. In a convenient moment of bumping into each other at the subway, Tatsuya remembers. Everything. The deal was that they all had to forget, but he for some reason (my money is sitting on true love) upon seeing Maya again he remembered everything.

4

The imagery used in this scene was really awesome. They showed scenes flashing before Tatsuya’s wide eyes from the previous game including the shrine burning and Maya’s death. You know just to name a few.

5

As the imagery of the shrine on fire disappears Tatsuya realizes one truth. His fight isn’t over yet.

6

“Only my life, all my friends, my love interest, and my planet….no nothing important.”

7

What the heck led her to that one? I don’t think that’s really an obvious conclusion to jump to at all. Thus I choose to believe she must be an agent of Nyarlathotep. (I can’t believe I know how to spell that…)

8

Probably better off forgetting, but there’s a reason for everything right? If Ta-Chan remembers then there must be a good reason for it.

9

Well Tatsuya I’m gonna go out on a limb and guess that remembering wasn’t exactly deliberate but regardless, to atone….why not save the world?

10

So we step away from Tatsuya (oh I’m sorry “Young Man”) and find ourselves in a familiar building. Kismet publishing where Maya Amano works. Here Maya’s friend and fellow employee Yuki (see Persona 1 and 2) tells Maya that she’s received an unusual letter in the mail.

Well it turns out that it is in fact a letter from “Joker”. Reading YoUR nEXt MaYA amANo- JOKER. Creepy. Leads to one of our first big questions. Who exactly is the Joker this time?

12

So with death threats from Joker looming on the horizon we do the next most logical thing. Go talk to Maya’s boss. Not about Joker hunting you of course. No about her job instead.

13

Ah. Now that’s a boss alright. Always giving you crap. Makes you kind of wonder what the article was about in the first place. Then again though I’m sure Joker is all the rage (again) and she does work for the magazine “Coolest.”

coolest

Of course everyone’s favorite article is top 20 under 20 in Sumaru city. For anyone wondering this picture is of Eikichi and Young Man…..

14

Mmmm…you know I love those rumors. Of course we could bring up the “Your Next” message, that would be an awesome thing to bring up in your article. So naturally it goes unmentioned.

15

Tch. Bitch. Can I sic the joker curse on her?

18

Sweet I get to see Mrs Saeki again. That chica is oodles of awesome. And I do mean oodles.

19

So downstairs we meet Maya’s roommate Ulala. She is a very creepy looking woman if you ask me. She’s also obsessed with men. so much so in fact that her part in IS was being conned by some freakish man in a marriage scheme. Looks like they were planning on going to a mixer.

20

I kind of wish this were like the Tales series. Tatsuya would be stuck with either “Young Man” or Deja Vu boy” for he entire game. I kind of like Deja Vu Boy though….sounds like a failed Teen Titans character.

21

You’d be amazed. That boy rewrote time and space for her after all. So off to the school, it takes you directly to the Teacher’s Lounge.

Looks like we’re starting with rumors about Anna again. So the death rumored to be Joker’s doing was probably Kaneda this go round. Interesting.

23

I kind of forgot that she wouldn’t Saeko anymore but is now Mrs Smith. It does please me though that regardless ofher name she stands up for her students. Be it Yuki, Tatsuya, or this time Anna. She’s always been pretty awesome. Even when she doesn’t know what’s going on.

24

And what exactly are you implying exactly, Mr detective?

25

Ah apparently Tatsuya’s missing in action. What better way to keep the people close to you from worrying about you then disappearing completely off of radar.

26“Atoning” I believe would be the direct quote.

27

After that little bit o’ conversation though that gives “young man” a name, Tatsuya specifically in case anyone hasn’t been keeping up., then the Young detective Katsuya leaves the room to go question more people.

28

There’s the full rumor, in case anyone was wondering. Kaneda whom ran over Anna has perished under mysterious circumstances. Is Anna responsible? Honestly I kind of doubt it, too similar to the last game. God Jun better not be responsible again…..

29

Yes, that is the most brilliant idea ever. Heaven only knows how many teenage boys go to this school that might have that description.

30

Also if you talk to the different people in the teacher’s lounge you’ll find Mr Kashihara. Still alive! Looks like they really did change the world to fit their fancies.

31

I really love how people talk in this game. It’s so much like real life. I mean aside from the fact that nobody uses the word punk anymore, but everyone in this game is so insanely rumor happy. I know shocking right?

32

Probably not the best method to go about asking how your little brother is doing…..

33

Though there is something amazingly awesome about the responses poor Katsu gets from the students. Looks like Tatsuya still made himself into a delinquent. apparently he’s also really bad at keeping track of said brother….and has he ever heard of a missing persons report? so let’s leave Katsuya alone with his thoughts for a few and go find Anna for questioning.

34

On the opposite end from Mrs Smith we have good old Hardy. He was a boss fight in the last game. The first boss fight to be specific. He’s also a bastard He hates his students just as much (if not more) then they hate him.

35

I had no idea that Anna even had a sister…….I bet she’s the one this time. Mark that one.

36

Wait…friend Suou? Since when are Anna and Ta-chan friends? What is he up to anyway…?

37

Well Anna as they say the best defense is a good offence. Still she could try a little harder to defend herself. By a little of course I mean at all.

38Threatening the principal’s life however is a pretty compelling argument. Heck they’d probably give the girl a trophy.

39

Of course no one takes Anna’s threats seriously. She’s just a kid after all. A kid under suspicion for murder, but a kid nonetheless.

40

Some people seem wholly convinced that her accident had little to do with her attitude shift and it’s because of a certain bad influence (Tatsuya) in her life.

41

Back in the principal’s office we find my favorite thing ever. Mutilated Hardy body. Woohoo! There’s one point for divine retribution. I’m still holding the sister responsible.

42

Enter the young fresh faced detective just in time to misinterpret the scene.

43

Or not, he actually got it in one shot. Good Katsu. Have a cookie.

44

Let’s see that’s one hell of a string of questions. Theoretically, dead body, dead body,  and right before you did.

45Immediate reaction. I like it. There’s no way this little slip of a girl could have done THAT in like three minutes.

46

With that everyone runs out of the room chasing one another in what might as well have been a Looney Tunes skit. With that though I’m going to take off to. Have a great day everyone and see you all next Megaten Monday.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

