Tachikoma Nendoroid

Header

Regrettably as much as I love the works of Shirow Masamune most GIS merchandise just doesn’t do it for me. There’s always something off about Major Kusanagi’s face, or that Die Cast goes for how much?!?!?!?! Well this little Tachikoma is actually the second piece of GIS merch that I’ve picked up, the first being a trading figure of Batou (that I spent waaaay to much money on….but it was worth it)…..Well anyway I’m sure yu’ve had enough of me rambling so…on with the review!

1

So….at the risk of sounding like a complete freakshow I’ll admit I think this could very well be the cutest nendo I’ve ever gotten my hands on. He has three bulbously large viewing orbs which are evenly spaced around his head so they can see virtually anywhere around them. The four screw on the front of it’s head are actually indented in deep enough to look like screws (this is a really big gripe I have with some toys) adding a bit of realism to it.

2

The Tachikoma has two extended arms each with a grasping three fingered hand. The left side hand is by far the creepier of the two as it’s got more defined joints, it’s also got a little hole at the tip of each finger, yeah you guessed it, this one has the lasers. Also between the two arms there is a circle that extends outward about half an inch, that my dear is the grenade launcher. 😀

3

Our little guy here has four bulbous legs, it’s actually kind of refreshing for a mechanical device to look like it has places for gears and wires and such. Any way the legs look very nice I like the indents in each one, it’s where they would come apart for maintenance. Then at the bottom of each leg is a wheel, these look good and fortunately don’t actually turn (that would be a broken toy disaster right there).

4

Each one of these guys has a huge backside. That’s because they’re carrying some major junk in the trunk. By that of course I mean that’s where the pilot is. The detailing here looks pretty good, but I’m a little bit sad that they didn’t make it open up.

5

The back paneling looks a little generic being straight silver though. I really wish companies would realize that the back of the figure is important too!

6

….I forgot to talk about the antenna up top when I was talking about his eyeballs…..oops. Well now is as good a time as any I guess. Up at the top of the figure you can see a single silver stick pointing up off the top of his head. That’s his antenna, very handy I’d bet.

7

You can raise his legs, or push them out so he looks like he’s standing on top of the tires. I wouldn’t recommend putting all his legs up though. Tachi’s aren’t very good at crawling around on their bellies.

9

Each one comes with a plug, well actually two plugs. Just in case you lose one. It plugs right into the back of the figure. It’s kind of cute just dangling there. The paint on it looks good by the way.

10

He comes with a total of four different hands. The two that were up top that are more closed and two that are obviously more open. That left one is still creeping me out though.

12

And two bottles of oil, one of which is Eneuron (Batou spoils his with this natural oil)  and one that is a generic no one oil.

13

Which one would you choose?

14

The bottles look ridiculously cartoony. Especially up near the top, it looks nothing like a bottle of oil and more like a …….you know what never mind.

15

The second bottle honestly looks a little bit more silly because it doesn’t have a label. Still though the open hands hold the bottle easy enough.

2

So overall, this nendo is an adorable little piece of work. He’s got a good range of movement, cute (but highly limited) accessories. I think he’s definitely worth his msrp if your a fan of GITS or a collector of nendos.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Action Figure, Anime Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

