2000 IQ Killjoy Detective -Taito

Header1Ah the Detective Prince. One of my faves in the Persona franchise.  Here is the Taito rendition of one of my favorite anime detectives.

1redux

Naoto’s face is very true to the orginal art from Arena.  Her eyes look great, I love the shade they went with, the grey blue is very fitting for her. I also enjoy how her hair frames her face. It looks quite lovely.

2

The white paint on her jacket is a crisp white, the problem is the white goes off onto the blue a little bit more then is really necessary. The ribbon around her neck is caught blowing in the wind and looks very nice.

4

One interesting thing about this toy is the way the buttons on her jacket go in the direction of that the jacket is moving. Nice. She also has natural clothing seams running up the sides of her jacket which is a touch I always appreciate.

5

Her pants look great. I love the lines on them and they are very well painted. I also like the fact that they don’t cling overly much, the folds in the fabric are nice too.

6

Naoto’s feet look awesome, but I have no idea what exactly her forward foot is doing. The buckles have a great paint job. I really love that her pants are to long too.

7

Her profile looks fantastic. Better then she looks from the front if you ask me. It’s a very serious expression, very befitting of a killjoy detective. Her hair looks spectacular, they did a marvelous job making it look layered in back.

8

I think her arm looks a little bit awkward. Like the elbows bent upwards a little. The folds in the fabric look amazing. The gun is held tightly in her small hand, unlike any other figure I’ve reviewed that’s holding a gun, she actually has her finger on the trigger. The gun is gorgeous, I love the rustic look of it.

9

I really love the large buttons, they kind of put me in the mindset of Steam Detectives. Sadly the top two buttons are a little misshapen on the bottom.

10

Her hands look positively awesome, I love the spread fingers. It kind of looks like there’s some tension there, like she’s about to form a fist, or maybe swing that arm up to cup the bottom of the gun.

11

Right I still don’t know what her legs are doing, but you have to admit she looks great doing….whatever it is.

12

Her positioning is nice, I like how she’s leaning back slightly. It makes it so you can see where she’s firing even from the back. Also the paint job on the back of the jacket looks good. The white paint is well applied here, and the gold buttons look nice.

13

Her knuckles are clearly defined, as are her fingernails. There is thankfully no polish to accentuate them. Also the white lines on the sleeves look really good, very crisp.

14

Her gaze follows the barrel of the gun perfectly. She looks very intent on shooting her target. The paint job on the hat also follows true to form. The black, white, grey, and purple stripes are all nicely painted.

15

Her back arches nicely, I’m glad that they didn’t overly accentuate her femininity but did add little hints of it like this. Very well done.

18

Her base is a giant yellow thing. I mean this things huge. 0_O But it does support her very well.

20

Her box is very bright and colorful. It features both her and Kanji in their arena poses. The writing is in a bright yellow font that stands out nicely against the blue of her box.

21

Overall she’s a nice figure. I really like having two tall Naoto’s on my shelf ^_^ This one isn’t quite as nice as the Happy Kuji one quality wise, but I think it has more of Nao chan’s personality to it.  So I think she’s worth it. Definitely better then Yu or Yosuke.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

