Gashapons, Trading Figures, and Petits Need Love Too Part 12: Michael Blanc Kyun Chara

Header
Sometimes it just happens. Your sitting there surfing around and bham suddenly without explanation something is in your shopping cart and your entering in your paypal information. Just like that. That is precisely how it came about that Michael Blanc came to my house one day a few monthes ago.

20130303144219

This particular figure of Michael came as a pretty big surprise to me, it was cute, it was fun, it wasn’t Ranka or Sheryl looking increasingly slutty with each new figure. Right off of that tangent Michael’s hair looks awesome, I love the swoopy effect on the left side. Over on the right side the point where his hair connects to his head looks a little bit bad, but by the time you get down to the little zig zag pieces you’ll have forgotten all about it.

20130303144223

He has beautiful eyes. They’re a vivid green with dark lashes surrounding them. The decals were applied flawlessly. His glasses fit over his eyes nicely, none of that, you can’t see the characters face because we made the frames to thick thing. The really awesome thing about this figure is it’s a kick back toy, yeah that’s right he’s dressed as Basara Nekki from Macross 7. We’ll take a closer look at that shortly.

20130303144229

The seam line on his hair is pretty obvious, but honestly Michael has big enough hair that from the front view it’s invisible to the naked eye. I do like that as wild as his hair is the two pieces do actually match up with the waves of hair and end of in little spikes.

20130303144233

His jacket is pretty much perfectly replicating that of Basara, the paint on it looks pretty hot too. No really I mean that the purple sweat bands by the gloves have grey lines painted all the way around them and green gems that match those on his shoulders, there isn’t a drop out of place. His legs do kind of weird me out though (I might have to go look over Basara again) but they go straight from chaps right down into boots…..that’s …..odd to say the least. What do we call chap boots? choots? baps? Huh…

20130303144238

His base connects to the back of his head, it rests easily in all those numerous spikes. I really love that his hair doesn’t seem to be trying to go in any one particular direction.

20130303144246

You can clearly see the logo for the band Lovery Bombers on the back of the coat. This is another kick back to Basara. In Macross 7 the band is Fire Bomber, however in the Macross Frontier movie, these crazy kids disguise themselves as a cover band of Fire Bomber……yeah you see where this is going. So in essence we have Michael cosplaying as Basara while the others sing music from M7.Yet again the paint and decals look very nice, even the gems under the guitar strap.

20130303144254

‘Like the other side the paint here is flawless. there isn’t anything for me to pitch a fit about other then it being a chibi. A 1/8 statue of this….well that could have been the coolest thing ever made. Alas though we need more cast-offable Sheryls……

20130303144304

If you look insanely close at his collar, you can see that he’s wearing a mesh undershirt. That’s a nice, very unnecessary touch. On the right side of his chest is the Lovely Bombers symbol again, the decal looks good. His hands both look decent enough. I like the indent on the glove for the open space, that’s a good bit of detail, also he’s even holding a tiny guitar pick. The guitar would be perfect if it only had strings, but you can’t win at everything.

20130303144353

The base shows us the Lovely bombers logo one more time, the toys last reminder to us that, no this is not insanely out of character it was in fact a plot point. The base holds him steady and with the rise in pop star nendos, he looks great camouflaged with them.

20130303144207

Overall this is probably the best chibi figure (nendos included) that I’ve gotten this year. I earnestly and sincerely mean that. Well worth the price I paid for him!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

