The Blood-curdiling Beefcake Emperor Taito

Header

I had been hoping for a sizable figure of Kanji Tatsumi for quite a while now. Patiently waiting and hoping that sooner or later someone would answer the call and make a figure of him that wasn’t another figure. When Golden came out in America with no sign of a tall figure in Japan, I resigned myself to the Kyun Chara being the best I’d ever get. December of last year though Taito announced a set of Kanji and Naoto. It’s been a grueling eight month wait, but here he is finally at my home Tatsumi Kanji!

Kanji 1

Right so to start right off the bat we’ll talk about his hair. Kanji’s hair is slicked back in it’s standard style, the paint here is a little bit chunky and the seam line is really blatantly apparent. He’s got a huge forehead, perfect for those of us with an odeki fetish. His eyebrows are slanted downward and the area between them is crinkled with anger. I really love this guys expression. His nose is pierced which I’m glad they went through with the paint looks good and doesn’t stray off onto his face. His mouth is open wide to accentuate that he’s yelling and adds nicely to his angry expression.

Kanji 2

Kanji’s ears are pierced four times in total, three of those earrings are in one ear. The sculpt isn’t superb but the paint is good enough to not disappoint me. The year two symbol is sculpted onto his collar. Speaking of that area the pattern on the collar looks very good, I’m always a little bit scared of tight patterns like this because they are really easy to mess up. His jacket is resting on his shoulders in a way that makes no sense with his pose. I simply presume that the pure sheer power of awesomeness keeps the jacket on his shoulders. I really love how his sleeves aren’t laying flat down against the jacket. It looks great!

Kanji 3

You can see a couple of injection marks on the side of his hair. I really wish they had sanded that better. The back of his school jacket is stunning. I love the folds so much, they look great. The strap on the back of the jacket is raised up which looks really cool.

kanji 4

The sleeves have an ample amount of wrinkles, I especially like the wrinkles from wrist to elbow. His hands look good, his knuckles and fingernails are all clearly defined. You can see the bones in his hands. I love this so much. It’s amazing. Also if you look along the edge of the jacket you can see button holes. Nice touch Taito!

kanji 5

He’s got a pretty good profile, I really dig the bone structure that you can see within his face. His cheekbones are well defined, I really love this guy a lot!

Kanji 6

For a quick close up we can see the scar on Kanji’s forehead. The paint there is just a shade lighter then his normal skin tone, so it barely stands out at all. This is a very nice touch.

Kanji 7

His necklace….looks like a golden pacifier….if you want me to be honest about it. I think it’s supposed to be  bullet. Anyway they could have tried a little harder on that. His shirt looks awesome, the skull and crossbones decal looks great, especially when you consider that they actually put it over the wrinkles. Now I’m going to stop with the praise for a minute, because as much as I love Kanji and this figure I have to be honest about it’s flaws. His belt has some serious issues. I mean look at that belt buckle! Who in gods name would think that painting the belt buckle the same color as the belt was in any way shape, size, or form a good idea. It does however have holes though which is a very nice touch!

kanji 8

He’s got a great collarbone. This figure has an awesome skeletal structure.

Kanji 9

Taito did an admirable job of trying to hide the seam on his pants, but on close inspection it looks kind of strange. There’s a small gap there, like his fly is open or something. The wrinkles at his hip are very nice, also the lines on his pants look great!

kanji 10

His knees are bent and his stance is wide, Kanji is clearly holding his ground. The wrinkles from his knee down to his angle look great and nicely to his fairly unkempt look. His shoes are simple brown loafers that are partially obscured by his long pants.

kanji 11

The back of his head could have been done better, the spikes look a little bit silly, but not bad. Like I mentioned before his hands are both very nice. I love well done hands, Kanji’s are no exception.

kanji 12

The chair is awesome sauce! the paint is smooth and evenly spread, It has screws and joints, and overall looks great. I have serious problems with that. Why isn’t it battered or dented, or anything cool like that? I guess it must be new equipment.

kanji 13

The cushion on the chair looks good too!

Kanji 14

His base is ridiculously large. I do mean ridiculous. The thing is textured, but I’m not honestly sure why. Regardless of the huge base size though I guarantee he’ll find a good home on my shelf. I love him 🙂

kanji 15

Overall I’m sure you got the impression that I love this toy, I’m willing to admit that he has his fair share of flaws though. His hair is kind of chunky in spots, and there’s that really questionable seam on his pants. For anyone that loves Kanji though, this is your shot. It’s a tall figure of Kanji, he stands at 6 inches tall. That eclipses the previous tallest one by a few inches. And if you find the set he comes with N0ao-chan! You don’t get much more win then that!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

