Hisoka Banpresto

Header

I’ll be perfectly honest, I didn’t buy Megahouse’s GEM of Hisoka because I hated it’s face….a lot. I really wanted a figure of him though, I love this guy. So when they announced a DX of him I was really uber excited about it. So how did he end up fairing anyway, well let’s take a looksie.

20130303151041

This figure has an awesome head of hair. I love the definition to it and the purple highlights are an awesome touch. Then there’s his face….WOW how much more Hisoka can you get then that face. I truly love the narrow eyes and his pupils are a very light shade of yellow that adds a mega creepy effect to the whole thing. His lips are clearly defined and look fabulous. The smirk playing it’s way across them is perfectly in character and kind of make my skin crawl a little bit. the star and teardrop both look fabulous. His collar is pink and ridged, it’s a design we see all over him. The shirt has very poofy sleeves that yet again end in those pink things. Would calling them cuffs be appropriate in this case? Anyway the decals of the club and spade are both placed appropriately. Overall his torso looks pretty good.

20130303151046

Whatever the pink ribbed thing is on Hisoka’s waist it looks great. I still just don’t actually know what it’s supposed to be. Also please note that sadly his hand doesn’t actually rest on his hip. Sad kitten.

20130303151059

The yellow sash around his waist also looks very nice, there are an ample amount of folds in it giving it a sense of realism. I also like that the ties aren’t just laying flat. His poofy clown pants are well done with wrinkles that look appropriately placed.

20130303151103

His ankles have that same strange ribbed material over them, this time it’s red though instead of pink. His shoes look awesome, if you look at them closely you can se the shape of his foot inside them.

20130303151110

His profile is really awesome, a lot of people refer to this as the forbidden angle for figure pictures. There are various reasons behind this, but the easy summary is most figure profiles suck. This is not the case here though I do think it’s creepy how Hisoka appears to be looking at you from almost any angle you can view his face from.

20130303151114

Hisoka’s arms have great muscle definition. If one is going to throw cards that can cut someone’s head in half they had better be really strong. His hands also look very good. The curl of each finger suggests that he’s beckoning someone to him…..not a call I’d answer personally, but hey that’s just me.

20130303151118

From the side you can see the seam that connects the two piece of sash together. It’s not horribly noticeable and blends in with the fabric fairly well. His pants are heavily wrinkles back at the knees which is only natural really.

20130303151122

The curl on the end of each shoe looks stellar!

20130303151131

From the back you can see just how broad his shoulders actually are. He’s not really as lanky as a lot of art images like to imply. Again the decals were applied very well. I’m not sure if it was on purpose or not but I like that the cards suits representing love, joy, happiness, and money are on the back of the outfit. Whereas the suits representing risk, excitement, trouble, work, and effort are in front. It’s kind of symbolic really.

20130303151135

Both the ribbed pink thing and the sash look great from the back. The sash especially looks very natural in the placement of it.

20130303151143

His feet look great from every angle I tell you!

20130303151150

See now a completely different direction and he’s looking at me again. It’s freaking creepy….It does look great though.

20130303151157

The poofy sleeves are well done, Ilove how the fbric is drawn in at the pink cuff (?).

20130303151201 here

This arm is just as muscley as the other one. Seriously if this hand touched his hip this figure would be close to perfect…for Hisoka anyway.

20130303151243

Overall this figure is pretty freaking wicked. It looks better then the GEM and costs about a third of it’s price. A great figure for any fan of Hisoka or Hunter X Hunter. Later!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

