Yuri Petrov Banpresto

Header1

The Figuarts line clearly hates me. They made a figure of each of the heroes, but no Yuri. What’s up with that? Well fortunately he did get a figure in the Tiger and Bunny DX prize figure line. Let’s give him a closer look k?

20130514143341

We’re going to start by saying I love the pallid choice of skin tone. It’s almost ghostly, I’m pretty fond of that. His eyes are also fairly dull in color, they are a light blue, that look almost lifeless. Kudos to Banpresto for that little bit. He also has clearly defined crows feet. HIs lips are really pronounced, the lipstick helps with that, and adds to his creepo factor by like ten points. Overall I think his face has a very grim look to it that I am pretty much digging. His hand looks great I love how curled his fingers are, they do have a few very minute paint chips on them. Sad kitten.

20130514143402

The grey lining on his suit looks really good, the paint here is flawless. One of my favorite things about Yuri is how blatantly evil he is. If you look at his tie it’s clearly done in the same design as his Lunatic costume. Isn’t that just awesome? The buttons on the jacket are non standard, they’re little rectangles, all perfectly lined up in a little row. Again the paint looks great here.

20130514143416

His pockets are awesome, they have little stitch lines which is pretty damn cool. I also really dig the wrinkles at his waist. His other hand is down at his side, and again with those awesome fingers, they’re so long and thin they kind of make me think of a spider’s legs.

20130514143421

His pants were clearly recently ironed. A judge must look well groomed right? His pants do hug his body slightly, but nowhere near the ridiculous degree of some Tiger & Bunny characters.

hqdefault

You know who you are right?

20130514143425

Yuri’s dress shoes are a dark grey. the design is fairly simple and so is the sculpt. They look pretty good though, the paint looks nice, and the shoelaces are sculpted really well.

20130514143556

So about that judges should be well kept thing? This guys hair is weird. Most of it is tied back in a ponytail, but on one side he just let’s it cascade down in front of his face. The sculpt of it looks nice, the hair is very well defined. Oh yeah I almost forgot, if you look to the right side of the figure right by his shoulder you can clearly see his judge’s badge. That’s a nice touch.

20130514143532 The buttons lining his cuff, are also well painted, and are little squares this time. I guess five rectangles probably wouldn’t have fit.

20130514143458

The back of his hair looks just as good as the left side. I love the wavy look down under the ribbon. And speaking of the black ribbon, what is he doing going to a funeral or something? Come on Yuri liven it up a little at least.

20130514143502

Yuri’s back looks pretty good, I like the curve of the spine quite a bit. I’m also a sucker for natural seams on clothing, it makes his suit look well tailored. Way nice!

20130514143437

This right here is the only major knock I have with this figure. They didn’t paint part of his hair. You see, right by the top hair clip. So it looks like a fleshy tumor. I could theoretically paint it myself if I could find the right shade of grey…..but there are like fifty to choose from. So I guess I’ll just let it go and pout about it for awhile instead.

20130514143657

His base is boring. A plain black circle, it does however do it just phenomenally well. By that I mean it holds him upright and I couldn’t ask for more then that.

20130514143839

I love the color choices for the box, and the looming Lunatic face in the background looks scary as hell.

20130514143808

Overall I do not regret this purchase at all. Not even a little bit. The paint could have been done better, but the sculpt looks great, and it’s a figure of Yuri Petrov. This guy is one of my two faves from T&B so I can honestly say virtually any figure would have sufficed. If your a fan of him, buy it. If you just thought he looked kind of cool though, maybe wait and see if they do make  a Figuart……eventually.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

