Mothman-Furyu

MothmanHeader

Character: Mothman

Series: Shin Megami Tensei

Manufacturer: Furyu

Release Date: March 2013

Run: Prize

My Figure Collection Link: http://myfigurecollection.net/item/122885

I have no idea what my fascination with Mothman is all about, but I really think this guy is adorable. The appearance of a moth with big floppy feet is fairly amusing, but I think what really got me was his legend possibly starting with an owl. Do you see it?

Mothman1

I don’t really see it, but I really like owls and find this concept a bit unique. I guess I could see someone on a dark night claiming they saw a giant moth beast that turned out to be a barn owl. Sounds like a fish tale to me, but then again I do live out in the country, maybe one night I will encounter a moth beast of my own.

Mothman2

His sculpt is fairly simple. At just under 4 inches tall, including his antennae, his little body isn’t very detailed. What detail it does have is really nice. His body is fully textured to look like fur. I always love it when figures have extra texture. It makes them look very nice. They also did a lovely job with the fading of light grey-blue to dark blue.

Mothman3

His face is smoother than the rest of his body, but you can see a bit of fur texture on it. His red eyeballs are buggy, which I think makes him look really neat. The paint is a bit messy around his left eye. I wasn’t to happy with that.  The black slits in his eyes are done pretty well though. The chasm that is his mouth doesn’t appear to be painted, just full of dark shadow.

Mothman4

His antennae are really cool.  They kind of look like little weeds sticking out of his head. The colouring of them is slightly different from that of the rest of his body. The tips are bright blue, while bottom of the fluffy part is yellow, and fading back to blue down the antennae itself.

Mothman5

His wings are overlapped against his back, but are not folded at his sides. The colours on the insides of his wings look really neat and are fairly symmetrical. They are not perfect but I think that looks more natural given his animalistic traits.

Mothman6

Mothman’s legs are thin and spindly. They also have stretched out, floppy feet. I think the folds in his skin around his ankles are strange. It is kind of like the extra skin cats have. His feet look bony. That is a pretty cool trait as well.

Mothman7

The back of this figure is textured like fur as well. The only visible seams on this figure here on the back of his wings and around his antennae.  The seam lines around his wings look like they belong there however.

Mothman8

His base is a simple black circle with four peg holes that support his feet. It is a fairly thick base, which makes him a bit taller. I think the black circle suits him quite well.

Mothman9

His box is also pretty original. The front window has a cool design. I absolutely love the talismans, even  though it appears they aren’t doing much good. Our monster friends are busting out the sides.

Mothman10

The picture on the bottom is really cool. Gotta love Mokoi!

Mothman11

Pros: Great Box! Love the monster designs. Really original figure.

Cons: His paint is a bit sloppy.

Overall Enjoyment: 9/10 

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mothman-Furyu

  1. A.K. says:

    Barn owls are creepy, so it’s no surprise they inspired this kind of legend.

    Where do you get your SMT figures?

Leave a Reply

