Megaten Mondays: Persona 2: Innocent Sin Part 1

Header1

Since I started this project about two monthes ago I’ve been looking forward to Innocent Sin. The first time I tried playing this game it beat me up. So here I am again. Intent once more on showing it who’s boss. I’ll win this round darn it.

Part1pic1

The opening movie was just as creepy as I remembered it, with evil imagery of our lead character Tatsuya and illusions to the villainous joker all over the place. It shows various points of demons attacking during everyday activities like walking down the street and it shows the personas moving behind the characters. It’s pretty freaking spooky. Especially the shot of Maya screaming while bound in chains.

Part1Pic2

The music is fairly upbeat it’s the standard J-rap that most people have come to associate with the Persona franchise. I really think up until the girl starts singing (as the picture of bunbun burns) that the music actually kind of detracts from the opening animation a little bit.

2013-05-15_16-27-21_988

If you click down to the gallery option you can view the original PS1 opening. It’s over a minutes long and features the words to the doppelganger song by Franz Schubert composed in 1828. Honestly I think if they were going to allow us to view the lyrics I think it would have been cool for them to have used the song itself. As is the opening starts with a more melancholy vibe that kind of breaks your heart as you watch the cast gravitate around a playground. I get the impression that they’re all visiting this place at different times. I can’t wait to find out what that means.

2013-05-15_16-28-16_976

As your lead character Tatsuya pulls his motorcycle out on to the street the entire theme of the song changes and it sounds more like it was done by the Sephiroth choir. Overall I really liked this opening more. It spoke with more passion I think.

Part1Pic5

The game opens with your lead character whom will henceforth be referred to as Zen or Zenny if I’m feeling bored, at his motorcycle out by the bike racks. How did a high schooler afford a bike like that? Well your guess is as good as mine because they’ll probably never tell us. It seems he’s getting hassled by the classic school bullies. Not that he really seems to care, instead simply settling on glaring at them.

PArt1Pic6

It’s around this time that our intrepid Principal Hanya appears on the scene to yell at the whole lot of them for being hopeless delinquents. Yep that’s right Principal Hanya, some of you might remember him as the Vice Principal from P1 Revelations. He’s changed quite a bit since then huh? I mean that’s quite a head of hair he’s discovered. He’s still an arrogant jerk with a god complex though.

Part1Pic7

Wait? He felt my Persona resonance a minute ago? That’s really weird, Hanya never had any spiritual presence before. Something is seriously up with this guy, now it’s just a matter of what exactly it is. Ah well I liked the actual Principal at St Hermelin a lot more, and this guy was a jerk to her, sooooo I have no problem making problems for him now. Besides what kind of adult figurehead would say to your face that our trouble?

Part1Pic8

Well it looks like I’m going to get in some serious trouble if I don’t go find the guidance counselor and tell her that I have no direction in life, so off we go on a wild goose chase. It does look like our teacher in question is going to be another familiar face already. Her name is Saeko, she was the catalyst in the Snow Queen Quest also in P1. That’s pretty cool. I do wonder though why no one’s seems to be at St Hermelin anymore though.

Part1Pic9

I still haven’t found our awesomely awesome Saeko yet, but I did find this weird girl with bandages on her head that seems to respect Hanya waaaay to much. I’m not really comfortable with that. And she’s not the only one with bandages, or the only one hero worshipping this guy. How creepy. Apparently it has to do with some weird curse on  the schools emblem….like the one on my jacket? You bet!

Part1Pic10

Mrs. Saeko hasn’t changed too much. She’s still smiling and happy, I feel responsible for that. Well she really wants to know if Zenny here has any plans for after graduation. Since I’ve been playing him for all of eight minutes so far I can honestly say ‘no’ my only plans are to beat this game this time around. So here we have it, our intrepid directionless hero has to spend the opening of the game with the guidance counselor.

Part1Pic11

If you tell her no, she’ll seem genuinely disappointed that you’re still a direction less delinquent, but she won’t really push the subject. She doesn’t need to worry too much though, according to P3 by the end of this duology he’ll want to be a police officer. That’s a respectable vocation.

Part1Pic12

 

The conversation will be interrupted by Lisa Silverman a blond haired classmate. She’s an American girl, who just so happens to live in Japan. She also is crushing reeeeeally hard on our little Zenny here.

Part1Pic13

Lisa brings up that emblem curse, what are the odds of curses actually existing?   Oh yeah this is a megaten game. So I should probably take the emblem off, not that they give you the option, instead Zen just gives Lisa a strange “Yeah right” kind of look. He doesn’t seem very convinced, and I doubt they’ll disfigure their own lead character sooooo……

Part1Pic14

I must be a really awesome delinquent if we’re already getting challenge letters from other schools! How exciting, I’d better go kill him 😀 Cuss high doesn’t exactly sound like a very reputable school…..

Part1Pic15

Lisa has joined your party. She’s cute so I guess I’m okay with this concept. I like me some cute kung fu girls, and it never hurts to take back up to a fight right? Right! so let’s go Lisa-chan! Whoever this guy is at Cuss high, I bet he doesn’t have a hot American chick on the back of his bike.

Part1Pic16

So the hostage that the guys at Cuss high have is this cute little chub tub named Miyabi. She looks like someone I’m going to end up being really fond of. I don’t know her relevance yet though, other than investigating the emblem curse. Apparently it was spread by someone at Cuss high, I think we should kill em all dead for this offence after all they were trying to disfigure me and Lisa!

Part1Pic17

Oh hey this freakshow was in the opening, that means he’s probably going to join my party…..I’m not really sure how I feel about that. I do admire that he’s described as a narcissist though with looks like that.

Part1Pic18

Okay well my worries are officially abated already, he can join my group. Anyone who’s freakish enough to make up names for themselves is usually good with me and that pose is just way to awesome.

Part1Pic19

So it seems Eikichi doesn’t want to kill me, which is good to know. His lackeys drug poor Zen into this whole “hostage” situation to try to get him to join Michel’s band. Something about being a good fit. I might be willing to join if it doesn’t involve dressing anything like that guy. Can Zen even play an instrument though?

Part1Pic20

This entire conversation is so stupid I might cry. The bro code….I wonder what I’d get if I googled that….

A series of rules defining on how a set Bro should act.
The Bro Code
1.Thou shalt not sleep with your Bro’s ex-girlfriend.
2.Bros before hoes.
3.Never drink the last beer, unless you have been granted specific permission that it is OK
4.If a girl falls into the following criteria, she is off limits forever until the end of time:
A. Was an ex-girlfriend.
B. Your Bro specifically told you he wanted her.

Right well yet again I’m glad I’m not a guy.

Part1Pic21

 

That’s great Eikichi, we’re all quite happy for you…..but why are pointing at Lisa with all that? So there we have it. A band, well that’s an interesting way to introduce me to my party members. Whatever works though….

Part1Pic22

Oh we’re still going to fight, this’ll be where the Personas awaken. Of course this is all because Lisa couldn’t keep her big mouth shut. Though it is weird that I’ve already had a persona resonance, but I don’t have a persona yet. I sense a long time rivalry of petty arguments between these two in the future.

eikichi

Rhadamanthus- the judge of the dead is Eikichi’s starting Persona, it kind of looks like he killed Lisa with it. Oops. A judge of the dead though, that sounds like it should have some kickass starting abilities, dontcha think?

Part1Pic24

Lisa is starting off with Eros, the greek God of love and son of Aphrodite. I’m kind of surprised they’re starting the group off with deities. That’s a little uncharacteristic for Megaten games. Usually you have to earn things like that . On another note Lisa is one of two Persona characters that I know of who has a persona of a different gender than their own….Lisa….please don’t be a trap.

Part1Pic25

And Zenny is starting off with Vulcanus, the Roman God of fire. I’m pretty fond of fire wielders so this should be pretty cool….I mean hot, I mean…well you know.

Part1Pic26

Of course I haven’t forgotten, you harassed me at every turn in P1, oh wait that’s not directed at me is it? Does that mean at some point all three of them met Philemon before? Maybe they played the Persona game at some point? It’s a possibility.

Part1Pic27

Good idea Lisa we haven’t had enough supernatural hoopla to last one day, let’s go for some more. These characters are so easily led.

Part1Pic28

So this Joker game seems about as easy as calling Beetlejuice. I mean is that really all there is to it? Just a silly little call? That doesn’t even qualify as a chant. I really wanted some mystical mumbo jumbo.

Part1Pic29

But I guess it worked so who am I to complain? Impressively no one thinks this guy looks evil either. Haven’t any of you ever read the Monkey’s Paw? Be careful what you wish for, cause you just might get it? Any of this ring a bell? No of course not. Well don’t run crying to me to make it better.

Part1Pic30

Well after zapping the three lackeys of Eikichi’s and apparently draining them of their vibrant colors (smooze?) Joker does the best thing a villain can. States your main characters name right from the get go. He knows who you are, and he’s been waiting for you. Crap, that can’t be good. Though if he’s been waiting ages for me to summon him, he’s stupid, I never would have done this without Lisa’s big mouth.

Part1Pic31

So he’s not even going to kill us personally, but he’s going to summon demons to do it. Lame man lame. If you’ve got some kind of beef with the characters than kill them personally, the best villains don’t rely on lackeys.

Part1Pic32

So why ever he hates these kids it’s something from the past. At least as far as Zen is concerned. That’s really interesting and something not to be taken lightly. Maybe I kicked over his sand castle in kindergarten or took his lunch money in middle school or something.

Part1Pic33

Shortly thereafter though he’ll put Zen down declaring that there’s no point in killing you before you remember your sin. so in other words while he could off me at level one he gave me permission to go train for another 98 levels and then knock his teeth out. I’d be happy to oblige smooze boy there.

Part1Pic34

Okay Joker wanted it to be personal, it’s personal. He robbed them of their dreams effectively turning them into shadows. Crushing dreams was my last straw with Shugo Chara’s Ikuto and he was at least hot. This guy doesn’t get that leeway.

Part1Pic35

Weapons would be good, you can never be to wary and I doubt I’ll get to rob the police station this go round. So let’s head to the ramen shop eh? I knew Kozy here would come in handy.

Part1Pic36

Oh good god Tadashi’s back, that means Tamaki can’t be far behind…..

part1pic37

Oh crap berries we need a password, but it does seem like Tadashi’s boss knows more about it so he might know the password.

part1pic38

So off to Kuzonoha Detective agency and….ah look it’s Tamaki. Who would have seen that coming. So it seems rumors are coming true, the guys here are willing to spread rumors for a small fee…..sooooo…..

part1pic39

Let’s do it.

Part1pic40

So back to the ramen shop and ordering the special dish got us some righteous weapons, but the person ordering actually has to eat the dish. Banana Char Siu Ramen….ewwww……I’m so glad Eikichi did the ordering, even if he’s just my character I don’t wanna have anything to do with that.

Wow that was long. I didn’t mean for it to go quite that long. Next Monday we’ll hit the first dungeon in Innocent Sin.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Video Games and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

