Mokoi Furyu

Header1

With all the new figures coming out this year from GSC, Koto, and Alter it might surprise some people that the figure I was anticipating the most for the first quarter of the year was in fact this guy. Mokoi from the megaten franchise of games. He’s an adorable little monster and this is his first and probably only toy ever, let’s give him a once over.

20130410141925

Whereas I doubt he’ll be getting any awards for best expression this year, Mokoi’s face is still great. His eyes are bulbous and white with a thick black outline around them, he has no nose and a crooked line for a mouth. His body is painted glossy too, which makes him look shiny without being scary beyond all reason.

20130410141930

He also doesn’t have a neck or any form of muscle definition and for once I’m perfectly fine with that. His body does have great texture to it and he looks like he has a small potbelly which is awesome. Mokoi must have a full tummy. I love his ‘hands’ because there’s nothing there, but the way the flesh curls around the boomerang is wicked cool.

20130410141934

Mokoi has Megaman legs, all thin at the top and trailing down into thick stumps (feet in the case of Megaman). Again the texturing looks great and I love the added shading down near the bottom of his stumps, the look great. Another touch that is way cool is the way the flesh is pushed up where his foot connects to the base, it shows that Mokoi’s are made from soft blobby flesh pieces and therefore not very sturdy. His fundoshi looks way old, the color choice for the cloth puts me in the mind of the wrappings on a mummy. I really like the way it ties and everything, it’s very nice.

20130410141940

His face looks great even from the profile. All bulbous and creepy.  He looks like an absolute freak show. I love it.

20130410141946

The boomerang looks very nice, it’s really the only touch of bright color on this figure. It looks like a melted candy corn.

20130410141956

The back of Mokoi is equally awesome. Whereas it has virtually no detail to it at all, it’s still textured and still holds onto that blobby fleshy look beautifully.

20130410142001Personally I never understood how a fundoshi could possibly be comfortable, however  if I were nothing more then a pliable ball of flesh with no bone structure I think even I could make it work. Anyway the knot on it looks really good as does the rest of the cloth. Also I have to admire that he has more defined knees in the back than most scale figures do.

20130410142006

The top of Mokoi’s head shows the various layers that make him up, because you see Mokoi is like an onion…. Right, so I really love the paint here, the intermingling of the black and bright red really puts me in the  mind of mangled fleshie stuff.

20130410142014

The  bottom of both his hands and feet share that same bloody quality. I’m really digging this toy.

20130410142024

They even did that for the foot that connects to the base. Nice!

20130410142034

I do wish that the flesh wrapped around the boomerang just a little bit closer, I think it would have looked a little more like he was holding onto it that way. However as stated above it does look good.

20130410142047

His base is a plain black circle, kind of boring, but I was relieved to see it nonetheless. In the original announcement shots, all three figures from the set were connected to one base, considering they did the same with Jack Frost and Alice this concept would not have made for a happy Tekizen.

20130410142110

Almost as if to make up for the subpar base, the box is hella cool.It’s covered in sealing talismans and features the three bad boy demons of the set (Mokoi, Mothman, and Black Frost) breaking through the sides of it.  Behind them the backdrop looks almost digital, heh nice touch.

20130410142115

All three figures are featured on the back of the box.

20130410142123

The top of the box shows a magic circle, probably to aid in the sealing of these adorably monstrous demons.

20130410142129

And last but not least the bottom shows our main man Mokoi all by his onsie. I don’t have any idea what any of that says, but it looks cool.

20130410141919

Overall this is an awesome little guy and totally worth it for any collector of Megaten merch….or someone that just wants an adorable little blob of flesh on their shelf.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mokoi Furyu

  1. S.C. says:

    That’s an interesting demon to go with in terms of merchandise. Have there been any other SMT demons released as figures, aside from Jack Frost?

    • Tekizen says:

      Whoo boy, they’ve made a few now. Let’s see….Shiva, Mother Harlot, Alice, Jack Frost, Black Frost, Cereberus, Mothman, Thor, Odin, and Lucifer. I think might be all of them up to date.

Leave a Reply

