Final Fantasy Fridays (FFI Part 5)

Banner5

So uhhh…last week I kind of forgot. I thought about posting on Saturday, but then it wouldn’t be Final Fantasy Friday would it? This week I started off by getting hopeless lost in the ocean again. I don’t know why that keeps happening, but it led to a really important discovery….

CIMG0278

I finally got irritated enough to google a Final Fantasy I world map, lo and behold if you press Start + O you can bring up a map. Nice, being as I tried every single button by itself. Thanks to this new discovery I was able to get back on track.

CIMG0272

So after healing, and shopping at Elfheim I started questioning when, and how I upgraded my classes. Obviously I could because they sell magic for classes that I don’t have, and couldn’t have started with. What is up with that? By utilizing my new map, and my ship I sailed West to a small dock near Crescent Lake. The town was mostly surrounded by a lake shaped like, you guessed it…a crescent moon!

CIMG0275

I was really excited to get here, because I thought maybe someone would help me change classes. No such luck. I did find some decent training with monsters in this area, but no new classes. I really wanted a Warp 2 spell, but nope can’t use it. I couldn’t even use Warp 1. Sigh. I milled about here for a while, before picking up my Canoe from a council of dwarvish looking fellows near the edge of town. I was told here that I could take the river to Mt. Gulg. Well like everything I do, I did this backwards, almost entirely.

CIMG0280

I did not find Mt. Gulg, but instead an Ice Cavern. Now that doesn’t seem right. I guess no hurt in exploring, and training a bit more. So I painstakingly grinded my way through this cavern. In one basement 3 area I ran into my Levistone surrounded by cracked floor. I wonder what happens if I walk through…..wuuuaaaaaghhhh. I fall to the next floor. Lovely.

CIMG0283

After circling back around a couple of times I managed to snag the stone. I had to fight an evil eye to get it. He was a pushover. After trudging my way back out of the Ice Cavern I went back to Crescent Lake to resupply. I was ready for Mt. Gulg. I was sure of it now, but wait what is this? Whilst wondering the southern portion of this continent I happened upon my airship buried in the desert. Holy crap! About time I did something right, and by right I mean hopelessly wrong.

CIMG0284

Man did I screw this one up! Now with a new airship to tinker with I happily forgot about Mt. Gulg, and went off looking for class enhancements. What I found was the town of Onlak, where I ran into a few interesting things. First Koppe saw something fly off to the west. Next a little girl’s daddy has a caravan in the northeast corner of the desert, near some trees. Ok, they wouldn’t be telling me that for no reason. Third- Dr. Unne is looking for the Rosetta Stone so he can understand Lufenian….Wait! is that a joke? Silly game. I also learn that the shrunken shrine has a large stone slab in it, and that I can’t go down there without Oxyale, whatever that is. Still no classes.

I am not going to lie, at this point I looked up a faq, and tried to figure out why I couldn’t get my classes upgraded. Now that is an entirely different story.

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Final Fantasy Fridays (FFI Part 5)

  1. Cute. I played this one so long ago I don’t remember all the buttons or location names, or I’d help you out 🙂 Good luck anyways!

    • Topiki says:

      Thanks. It ahs been really interesting, seeing how you can accidentally do things all out of order. It is quite different from a lot of newer games that force you to stay linear.

Leave a Reply

