Monkey D Luffy Banpresto

Header

Monkey D Luffy the pirate extraordinaire in the hit anime One Piece comes to us today in the guise of Son Goku. We the crossover hit that was Cross epoch and to celebrate Shonen Jump’s 40th anniversary we also got some kind of cool toys. I happened to pick this one up a couple of years ago at a local convention. Shall we take a closer peek?

Luffy1

Luffy’s hair is awesome. It’s windblown and very detailed. His eyes however aren’t very detailed, this is fitting for his character design though. In both the anime and manga renditions of One Piece Luffy’s eyes have always been very simple. Underneath his right eye is one of his trademarks. It’s a scar cutting across his cheekbone. There is a large smile spread out across his face, it’s almost an ear to ear grin. Speaking of ears by the way, Luffy’s ears are huge, I think he could fly with those things if he put his mind to it.

Luffy2

Honestly I think Luffy looks a little awkward in Goku’s karate gi, I think it’s because of the stark contrast in their body types. Luffy being completely gangly and Goku being ripped. The orange overshirt looks good, I like the way it looks tucked into the belt. The blue undershirt suffers just a little bit from orange overshirt paint syndrome. And the Belt itself looks very nice. One of the few things I don’t like about this figure is the orange shading on the skin. It makes it look like a cheap spray on tan.

Luffy3

The pants look spectacular, I’m especially fond of the wrinkles from the knees down to where the pant legs tuck into the boots. It looks really good.

Luffy4

The boots look nice, the paint job is decent on them. I wish the red line were a little bit darker but other than that very minor gripe I like them. I especially like the way the rope looks, the shading on it is very nice.

Luffy5

Luffy’s head looks ridiculous from the side, like his face is smashed in, or his hair is completely overpowering the rest of his head.

Luffy6

His arms are thin, but lightly muscled, just like a Luffy arm should look. The bicep is clearly visible and looks very nice. His muscles look tense which is a surprising but nice touch of detail.

Luffy7

The knuckle and finger definition both look great.

Luffy8

The wrinkles in the pants look less spectacular from the sides but it is in the spirit of DBZ so I’ll let it go.

Luffy9

His hair looks way awesome from the back. I really love how the wind-blown effect shows off the layers of his hair. And no clearly visible seams makes for a great head of hair.

Luffy10

The back of his shirt has just enough wrinkles in the fabric to remind you that someone is wearing this shirt. Not much else to it though.

Luffy11

Now the hilarious thing about DBZ pants is that they are the exact same from the front or back. Yeah I know, it’s a little bit sad, but that does mean all the pros for the front apply here too.

Luffy12

The paint job on the back of the boots is lacking a bit, the red line doesn’t reach the rope, which upon close inspection looks pretty silly.

Luffy13

This arm looks a little bit bulkier, I presume it’s because of the positioning of each respective limb. This one is a little bit more mid flex than the other one. It looks really good.

Luffy14

Both fists look really good though in their own right. The fingers are tightly curled and the strong indent at each knuckle makes it look more tense. In other words even though they’re just fists Luffy has some nice hands!

Luffy15

The base is nice and simple. It showcases the two titles that were mixed together for this series of figures. Also I like the Dragonballs surrounding the two titles, it’s a cute touch.

Luffy1

So overall, this is a pretty solid figure of Luffy, the detailing and paint on it are both good. It also brings back happy memories of DBZ, One Piece, and Cross Epoch. So overall I’d say it’s worth the buy. It never hurts to have another Luffy in the collection after all!

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

