Okabe Rintaro Plum 1/8

header

Okabe Rintaro is a self proclaimed Mad Scientist. As such it’s hard to imagine that the first statue ever made of him would be anything but unique. Lo and behold this figure is definitely one of the most different toys I’ve received. Curious?

20130413194805959

We’re going to go about popping his arms off so when can get a clear shot his face.  But first let’s take a look at his hair. It looks nice from this angle I’m especially fond of the two little  antenna that are sticking up near the center of his forehead. His face looks pretty decent, I like the arch of his eyebrows and the grey blue of his eyes is a very nice shade. The bottom of his mouth is painted horrendously bad, he has a very white bottom lip because whoever painted this can’t tell the difference between lip and teeth. Fail man, fail.

upersona_bytm_v1c02p052

Ok, so about those arms. Here we have Rintaro posing. Yes deliberately posing.  He looks awesome… at first glance. Upon closer inspection however you can see the horrible seam line along his shoulders. Most figure connect the arms at the sleeves so as to disguise the seams a bit. Not this one though this figure the seams are along the collar of his jacket. This wouldn’t be a problem at all if he actually fit together right.

20130413194821683

His hands are positively fantastic. They’re properly jointed, have nail, and knuckle definition and are both in their own unique pose. His arms actually go down into the sleeves which always looks good.

20130413194631129

I love that he’s dressed like an absolute slob. His belt hangs down his side instead of being tucked through the belt loops of his pants. His shirt hangs down over part of the belt heavily implying that this was indeed tucked in at one point. The wrinkles around his groin are well place and look fairly appropriate. I’m very fond of the left side pocket as well, it looks like there’s something in there.

20130413194636130

His pants are a wrinkled mass down by his ankles. Loose, baggy and not clinging to his skin in any manner. Then there are the house slippers. Okarin’s standard footwear. There’s something really awesome about that. The slippers have some dark green shading on top of them, which looks nice.

ykyuudfht6yhsfr

I praised his hair from the front, now I’m going to rag on it a little bit. I still think the sculpt looks good but there’s glue all over the place. Down by his side burns and up by the seam that connects his two pieces of hair together. It looks kind of foul.

20130413194645708

Of course as is the standard for male figures he’s doing that thing. Shoulders squared back, stomach ad pelvis forward, and then a slight bend at the knees to keep the figure from toppling over. I don’t get why they keep doing this. It always looks awkward. Back to his sleeves though the wrinkles on his upper arm are well placed.

20130413194650638

His lab coat falls around him rather nicely. I like how it’s billowing out with his eccentric movements.

20130413194701821

If you thought the glue spots were bad, almost every strand of hair on the back of his head is scuffed or just not painted at all at the ends. The sculpt looks great but if you have a crap quality control job then you end up with a bad toy regardless. Then there are the shoulder seams. There are significant gaps between the pieces. This is absolutely inexcusable.

20130413194707291

I love the way the bottom of his coat looks, the folds in it look spectacular and yet not overdone at all. Then if you look at the very bottom of it there’s a very light grey shading along the edge. It kind of makes it look dirty. Very nice!

20130413194720909

His feet do look offputtingly flat though…..

20130413194728557

Same bad glue spots, different side of the face. Sadly this doesn’t really have a good side……. His arm again has great wrinkles, this side is more prominent than the other arms because it’s raised higher and thus putting more stress on the fabric.

20130413194741121

Then there’s this giant bit of white down here. I don’t even know where this could have come from. The coat and shirt are both made from a white plastic, no painting necessary so where the heck did we get white paint from? The only white paint on this figure other than this is on his face! Was he gnawing on the end of the coat thus getting white paint all over it. I really hate quality control.

20130413195038694

Right so Okarin’s other display option is the talking to himself on the phone option. I really liked this in the promo pictures and was eagerly anticipating putting him on the shelf with Izaya since their expressions would go so well together, now they probably won’t be on same shelf. Rintaro might be allowed to stay in my closet…..

20130413195048309

This face I really thought was great at first. The expression is awesome, I love the clenched teeth! Then I realized something strange, with his jaw clenched Rintaro’s head is the exact same length as with the yelling face. In other words this head looks really elongated.

6756784678065445

Now they’re trying to be clever with the wretched seams. This time since his arm is down they have the seam go over the breast pocket of his coat. I do like the pen in his pocket. As with the other pose option the wrinkles on this arm are very nice, almost nice enough to make you forget about 10 percent of the other issues with this figure. Yet again I can honestly say I really like his hands, this one rests easily against his hip, the relaxation of the pose is a dead giveaway that he isn’t actually talking to anyone.

4789768678067895789738

Oh goodness that gap……I don’t ask for a lot but this is just painful. I just want my figures to fit together…..

20130413195126738

This is probably the most boring cell phone I’ve ever gotten with a figure. It is however the best painted thing about this toy! Yeah I know I’m really reaching now.

20130413195131807

The back of the cell phone is significantly more interesting looking. It has a kind of cool design on it, and again no paint flaws!

20130413195227917

And last but not least we can combine pieces from different poses for ‘about to throw his cell’ Rintaro. Right……

20130413195327384

His base is a wood floor. The paneling looks nice as does the shading. This however is completely useless. There aren’t any pegs, or holes. He stands on it, but he doesn’t need to. There is no way to actually connect him to this piece of plastic. So I guess you can save on shelf space by not using it.

20130413195335758

He does stand on the base well enough.

20130413195615912

His display options are shown clearly on the sides of the box. This is a very nice box by the way. I like the design on it. It’s probably the second best thing about him!

20130413195630250

The back of the packaging shows Okarin in his visual novel appearance. Why couldn’t my toy have looked like that huh?

20130413195425654

I don’t usually do pros and cons at the bottom, but I think this figure warrants it.

Pros:

It’s Rintaro

It does have multiple display options

The box is nice

He has really great hands.

Cons:

Everything else…..

Ok ok seriously this time…

Cons:

The seams are horrendous

His face is elongated

Really bad paint

Useless Base

His arms fall off

and he feels cheap

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Okabe Rintaro Plum 1/8

  1. ab says:

    Nice review. Everything you need to know. I’m glad I didn’t pre-order this one. I wonder if they’re going to fix any of these fails for the re-release, though.

  2. climbatize84 says:

    Nice review. I regretted I didn’t pre order it the first time, now I know I did well 🙂

  3. climbatize84 says:

    Thanks for the nice review! I regretted not having preorder it the first time, now thanks to you I won’t regret anymore 😉

Leave a Reply

