Final Fantasy Fridays! (FFI Part 2)

Banner2

I heard somewhere that the reason that we start off helping the princess in these early Final Fantasy games, is to get it out-of-the-way early on. Afterall we have such bigger fish to fry. Who cares about the princess? Let Mario, and Link waste away helping princesses, we have worlds to save. I have no idea if that is what they were going for, but I sure do like the concept.

Checklist1

The only problem is that I am having trouble finding the bigger fish. I have spent the first few hours of gameplay simply gophering for the denizens of this world. Apparently heroes are needed for even the most minor tasks. Unfortunately the only thing that I successfully completed was rescuing Sara. Now I have a laundry list of items I get to look forward to finding, and returning.

FinalFantasy117

This is where things got a bit strange. I know I have put great emphasis on being lost, but this time I think I got really out-of-order. I headed west looking for a cave teeming with dwarves, what I found was a dilapidated castle full of bats. Near the very back though, there was a king sitting on a lonely throne. He said to me that his crown had been stolen by Astos, King of the Dark Elves. Without the crown, his kingdom could not be restored.

FinalFantasyI16

He told me that Astos had run off to the cave in the southern marshlands. So south it is, or so I had thought. I had temporarily forgotten the sought after dwarf cave, and wandered off on my next quest. Well it turns out I should have kept looking, because I got my level 7 butt handed to me by a pile of scorpions on floor two. They killed my entire party in two rounds. Sad.

FinalfantasyI14

After this I trained around Elfheim for a while, before heading back to Cornelia for some portable save points….I mean sleeping bags. It was pretty funny actually I got lost on my way back to Cornelia (I know. I know. Topiki lost? Who woulda thunk it?). While looking for my  starting town I did happen upon a cave full of dwarves!

FinalFantasyI15

The dwarves of Mt. Duergar welcomed me with a hearty “Rally ho!”. I also learned some interesting things while visiting the underdwellers.  They told me that they could make fabulous weapons if only they had some Adamantite, and that I could fly with a levistone.  This was all really interesting, but when you get down to it what they really wanted was some Nitro Powder to build a canal. By build of course they mean destroy. They say the Nitro Powder has been locked away in a castle, so I assume I need the Mystic Key to get it.

Checklist2

So let’s do a little recap. Things we have been asked to retrieve.

  1. Sara
  2. Mystic Key
  3. Crystal Eye
  4. Crown
  5. Nitro Powder
  6. Adamantite
  7. Levistone

Try not to get “lost”. We are going to retrace where I have been so far.

Map1

Cornelia to Temple of Chaos

Map2

Tower of Chaos to Cornelia

Map3

Cornelia to Matoya’s Cave

Map4

Matoya’s Cave to Provaca

Map5

Provaca to Elfheim

Map6

Elfheim to Western Keep

Map7

Western Keep to Marsh Cave

Map8

Marsh Cave to Western Keep

It has been a lot of running around for the first chunk of this game. I am sure that as soon as I start collecting items to return it will get even crazier. I guess first though, I should get in a bit more training. See you all next Friday!

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Final Fantasy Fridays! (FFI Part 2)

  1. colonelfancy says:

    KING: Don’t forget canned peaches and dishwashing liquid on your way back.

Leave a Reply

