Ruri Gokou Sega Prize

Header

It’s always a really bad sign when you open your box from Big In Japan and say…”Did I order this?” Everyone else in the room was more than happy to affirm that this figure did indeed belong to me. Well the only thing to do is review her I guess and let the world know how this mystery figure X turned out.

 

2012-08-06_10-05-25_158

Right well I think the most appropriate place to start this off is by posing a question. Where on earth is her nose?!? Did Carmen Sandiego steal it or what? This figure looks kind of upset, her eyes don’t look happy and she’s quite clearly frowning. However she also has a rather dark blush on her cheeks. So she’s embarrassed maybe, or she could just be huffy.

2012-08-06_10-05-35_316

The sculpt on both her ribbon and jacket look pretty good, until you get to the left sleeve anyway. The area up by the shoulder looks just fine, but the bottom half of it looks too poofy. It should lay flatter than that. The paint on her buttons looks nice.

2012-08-06_10-05-39_738

She’s got a couple of places that should have been sanded better near the bottom of her jacket and skirt. The skirt looks decent at first glance but between sanding issues and the seam on the pleat, it is a little less than stellar.

2012-08-06_10-05-44_478

Ok now I like meaty thighs as much as the next guy, but her knees are almost the same width as her thighs….at least she has defined ankles. If she didn’t I’d be really worried about her. Seriously though these are some legs alright.

2012-08-06_10-06-06_6

From the profile Ruri looks awesome. This is the only angle that I like this figure from. I mean that subjectively of course. She looks ike she should be standing at the helm of a ship…… I really don’t like this toy. I have to make up good qualities.

2012-08-06_10-06-32_101

See now the right arm looks infinitely better than the left one. I think it’s the wrinkles. Or maybe it’s because you can’t tell from this angle that this jacket is like a 2X and she’s a size like 1…

2012-08-06_10-06-35_694

If you look really close you can see the slight angle as her meaty thighs go into knees.

2012-08-06_10-06-39_661

Her shoes are little black loafers. They look a little to small. But then again Ruri is a very small girl….I still thought her feet would be in proportion to the rest of her body.

2012-08-06_10-06-46_511

the layering of her hair is really cool, they actually did the seam lines under her hair which is a nice change of pace that you don’t even see on most pricey statues. However her hair is really really boxy. Most figures with their hair blowing in the wind have tips, that make it look like hair. Not boxes……

2012-08-06_10-06-50_80

Her jacket has nice wrinkles at her lower back. I also like that the skirt is blowing in the same direction as her hair. Also if you look really close at her fat legs you can see the tiniest little indent at the back of each knee, like there’s a tendon there.

2012-08-06_10-06-53_233

So for all the piles of fail that make up this figure they did manage to put wrinkles on the sock down by her bent ankle. Way to go Sega!

2012-08-06_10-07-00_706

Her hair has a horrible injection mark up by the painfully obvious seam line. I do like how her hair does go up over her ear, that’s kind of cute.

2012-08-06_10-07-19_172

The base is nice and simple, it has the name of the show written out across it.

2012-08-06_10-05-15_576

Overall this figure is a flaming pile of crap. I mean that in the nicest way possible of course. The sculpt is terrible, seam lines, injection marks, and a supreme lack of nose makes this one a complete and utter fail. The redeemable qualities can be counted on one hand.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Prize Figure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

