Leo & Coco – Organic

LeoHeader

Characters: Coco & Leo

Series: Jungle Emperor Leo

Manufacturer: Organic

Run: Standard

Leo the Lion has been a nostalgic icon for most of my life. As a little girl I used to watch Leo before kindergarten. This show was up there with My Little Pony, and Thundercats. I absolutely adored it. It is debatable whether, Superbook, Flying House, or Leo the Lion was my first anime, but I fondly remember all three. I don’t think my parents had any clue what they had started back then. Now almost 30 years later I still treasure these shows. Imagine my surprise when I found a Leo flockie with a bonus Coco.

Leo1

Clearanced out on Hobby Link Japan was this cute flocked figure of Leo for a mere 500 yen. I had previously bought a Tezuka Moderno Christmas Leo, Phoenix, and Unico, each being around 2 1/2 inches tall. I thought this was great! I could have a Leo without the Santa hat. Now I was doubly surprised when he arrived. He was not 2 inches tall, instead he was a towering 7 inches. Holy cow!

Leo2

Leo has a big round head, and ears that rival Mickey Mouse. When he was delivered to my workplace I had to convince my co-workers that he was a lion. The little wave of hair on his forehead stands out just a bit off of his face. His eyes, eyebrows, mouth, and nose are the only parts not covered in fuzzy flocking.

Leo3

The tips of his ears are painted black, while the inside of them is coloured pink. Both colours are dulled slightly by the white flocking covering them. The fuzz is spread evenly over him. He has no clumpy, or bald spots.

Leo4

If you are a fan of super detailed sculpts, you may not like this fellow. His front legs are sculpted to his body. He has no toes on these feet. That’s a bit awkward. His back feet however are adorable. He has little, fuzzy pink paw pads, which are raised slightly off of his feet.

Leo5

His back is pretty nondescript. He does have a tiny tail pressed against his back. You can see the black clearly through the fuzz, just as it looks on the front. I love the tail.

Leo6

Unfortunately Coco didn’t fare as well. He is cute from the side, but he is totally cock-eyed from the front. I have no idea what they were thinking here. It looks pretty bad.

Leo7

He also has a seam under his left wing. There is one on the left wing as well, but it is hidden well. They just didn’t cover this one. His flocking looks nice, but they got glue on his beak. Under his chin they painted orange trim over the flocking, which was a terrible idea. Unlike Leo, his fuzz is green so they couldn’t really flock over the orange. Honestly, Leo is pretty great, but Coco is not very good.

Leo8

His eyes, beak, and feet are not flocked. It probably would have been better if they had left the orange under his beak bare as well.

Leo9

His sculpt is pretty decent. His wings, and tail look fluffy.

Leo10

His box is huge! I think it is quite cute though. The front it is pretty plain. The front window is large enough to see both Leo and Coco clearly.

Leo11

What makes this box so cute, are the additional windows. There is a decent picture of Leo and Coco on either side. The back window is shaped like Leo’s head, whilst the top one is shaped like a paw print. There is also a subtle blue flower print behind the pictures. Very adorable.

Pros:

Flocked figures are pretty rare anymore.

He is cute.

His flocking is evenly applied.

Cons:

Coco kind of sucks.

Overall Enjoyment: 7/10

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

