Sena Kashiwazaki 1/8 Griffon Enterprises

SenaHeader

Character: Sena Kashiwazaki

Series: Boku Wa Tomodachi Ga Sukunai

Scale: 1/8

Sculpter: I-con

Manufacturer: Griffon Enterprises

Release Date: February 2013

Run: Standard

I am not ashamed to admit, this figure is the sole reason that I dabbled in Boku Wa Tomodachi. Sena had caught my eye several times on My Figure Collection. I really loved her design, but it took this one to really catch my eye. I watched the show. I loved the Monster Hunter reference. Now I have the figure, and boy do I have a lot to say about her.

Sena1

I was a little bit worried about this figure at first. I had yet to get my own Griffon statue, and the feedback from others was not encouraging. I was honestly afraid of how she would turn out. I couldn’t even imagine what awaited me. No amount of previous complaints could have prepared me for this figure!

Sena2

Do you see it? What you don’t? Well neither do I. The gradient of her irises is beautiful. I absolutely love the shades of blue that were used. Her eyes are applied evenly, and look very nice. The problem is that they don’t look like Sena’s eyes. The style isn’t quite right. She has a bit of blush added to her cheeks, which is very cute. Something is still very wrong though. Something is missing. Oh, it is emotion. This figure has absolutely zero expression. Nothing at all. Pretty doll eyes. Lifeless.

Sena3

The butterfly on her forehead is sculpted very well. I absolutely love the shape of it, especially the slender bottom wings. The transparency looks very nice as well. I do not like the complete lack of paint on the veins.

Sena4

Her hair looks very nice. Her bangs are sculpted well, but what I really like are the thin whispy strands that fall over her shoulders. these pieces are very elegant looking, and I definitely appreciate the effort.

Sena5

There are a few more of these thin strands over her left shoulder. Her hair is all one shade of pale yellow. There is no shading. There is also a really odd spot over her ear where her hair doesn’t lay against the lobe, but instead floats in a straight line over it. Lets get a better picture of that!

Sena6

Take a look at that! What is up with this odd choice of design? She also has a funny profile. No lips. Oh well. I can’t win them all.

Sena7

The other side isn’t much better. These seam lines are terrible. I seriously think Griffon’s paint issues take a backseat to the overall quality of this figure.

Sena8

On to her outfit. Her collar is pristine white, with a smooth red stripe trim. There are little pearly buttons that hold these parts to her top. At least that is how it appears.

Sena9

Her boobs are symmetrical, which is good, but the shirt looks strange. No wrinkles in the fabric. No shading, There is a very slight point indicating where her nipples are, but other than that there is no detailing on her top. It looks like she put tape over nibbies, and the proceeded to paint her boobs…The gold paint looks ok,by ok I mean just that. Nice job Griffon.

Sena10

Sena’s belly looks really nice. It is slightly darker than the flesh of her chest indicating that she may be wearing mesh over her midsection. I really like the sculpt of her stomach, especially her navel. Look at that amazing detailing on the gold trim……*sigh* I hate this toy.

Sena11

Her right arm is positioned nicely at her side. It is protected by some very nice looking armour. The shoulder guards are a mix of copper and gold. The funny thing about them is that they have no straps to hold them on. I guess she glued them to her shoulders. The bracers over her forearms look much more practical. I know she is based on Monster Hunter which is anything but practical, however aesthetically the shoulder pieces look awkward. There is lovely shading on the maroon bracers. Her hand is very nice, easily one of her best features. Her fingers are dainty, and sculpted apart. The pink nail polish that tips each finger is sloppy.

Sena12

Her left arm looks decent, but its position isn’t quite as graceful. The shoulder guard on this arm shares the same traits as the right one, as does the bracer. Sena’s left hand is cupped to wrap around the hilt of her overly large weapon.

Sena13

Her skirt is the next best feature beyond her hair, and hand. The blowing effect on the fabric looks great, and the subtle white shading gives it a very elegant look. I wish they had given the rest of her outfit the same attention to detail. The feathery looking panels on her sides are actually painted nicely. No, I really mean it this time.

Sena14

I really like the design of her stockings. The painting on them is sloppy as well. The really awful part here is the glue all over her legs where they were assembled. You have got to be kidding me! For the price of this toy, this is ridiculous! The seam line at the top of her stockings is pretty bad too. I was also a bit disappointed in her legs. I am very used to Sena having great hips, and amazing thighs. This girl must be a Sena cosplayer.

Sena15

Her boots are nice. The dark red, and black with gold trim matches her bracers very well. The gold trim is painted better than that of her outfit.

Sena16

Her wings are very pretty. I love the way the colour tapers outward from purple to pink. It is quite lovely. I wish they had done a bit more around the veins though.

Sena17

Her base is 7 1/2 by 9 1/2 inches. It is huge. she can lay acrossed it either direction. The front has a little silver name plate telling us who she is. The edge is bevelled to make it look classy. It does not however have a little spot to support the sword, so all it does is fall over. Turning it upside down helps a little bit, but only marginally. That would be why it is upside down in all my photos. Stupid figure.

sena18

Her sword is huge, and very heavy. There is a sliding piece on the hilt that makes it balance better depending upon its positioning. The paint on her weapon is great. As a matter of fact it looks better than most of Sena herself.

Sena19

Honestly it was a chore to even finish this review. Never before have I gotten so frustrated by something that I paid for that I didn’t even want to talk a bout it. I love Sena, and I have already ordered the other Griffon Sena, after that I think I may be done with them unless they do a fabulous job on her.

Pros:

She is pretty.

Being Sena has to count for something.

I love the colours.

Her wings are pretty.

Cons:

Her paint is sloppy.

Her clothing lacks wrinkles.

Her face is bland.

Her base is too big.

Her sword falls out of her hand.

Her MSRP was almost 100$!

I PAID FOR THIS!

Overall Enjoyment: 5/10

About Topiki

I am a crazy anime fangirl. I love music, movies, and video games. I frequently attend concerts, and conventions. I make all my own cosplay. (Which is a work in progress) My biggest hobby however is collecting solid tangible things. Cds, dvds, figures of all shapes and sizes, cards, and any other random related goods.
This entry was posted in Anime Figures, Complete Figures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sena Kashiwazaki 1/8 Griffon Enterprises

  1. Tekizen says:

    God so much potential and so much fail all rolled into one…..

Leave a Reply

