Megaten Monday Part 2: Persona 1 Revelations Part 2

images

Alright week two and still going strong! The characters in Persona Revelations are really starting to grow on me. Almost like a fungus or something.

2013-04-08_23-23-07_737

So having had finally won my freedom from the school I did the most sensible thing I could think of…I stayed there and went to the library! you see I was told to go visit this worlds version of Tsutomu. I can’t help but wonder how this guy got past the zombie inspection committee, I mean look at this guy, he looks dead! So he tells you about a door that appeared in the library as well as some mystical mumbo jumbo about the shrine. The door in the library can’t be opened not by any means which means it is:

A: the portal back to the starting world

B: The gate to the end boss

C: All of the above

D: A secret dungeon

Personally my money is on C.

2013-04-08_23-03-02_336

So now you waltz on over to Alaya shrine where you find out that you need to find the Expel mirror to defeat a monster in the subway. Suddenly I feel compelled to go to the subway! Why? I don’t know, but it sure does sound like a great place to go. First though we need to find this mirror. Nanjo swears he’s heard of this mystical magical mirror before. No one has any idea where it is though…..

imagesCA9TELW6

So after searching through every building in town (not joking) and gaining a grand total of six levels in my wandering (glowering at Nanjo’s character sprite didn’t seem to help) I finally, oh yes finally meandered into the Historical Society. “Oh that’s it!” They declare of an unguarded mirror that is seriously not even an inch into the building. I returned to glaring at Nanjo.

imagesCADDPGH9

Well I went into the freaking subway, which was a rather pleasant stroll. I was attacked by the usual barrage of horrible corridors and monsters too. After an hour or so of wandering around I found the monster that could not be beaten without the mystical magical hand mirror, Yog Sothoth Jr.  Why do I have the most uncomfortably unpleasant feeling that the big man himself Yog Sothoth is going to come step on my face later. I wouldn’t be surprised in the least by that turn of events. I did not need Lovecraft haunting me in RPG’s too.

2013-03-23_15-03-35_408

I genuinely and honestly forgot where I was going at this point. Lo and behold though after exiting the subway there was a convenient shopping center there. I used a lot of items in the subway and really wanted to go talk to Igor about some fusions anyway, so in I went. I upgraded my equipment, stocked up on happy healing items, and fused a few new personas, and then I tried to leave. Tried being the key word. It seems someone put up a barrier around the mall. How droll.

So I went around to all the different shops questioning people and that’s where I found out about the Harem Queen. She appeared in the mall one day and put up a barrier that allows people to enter but not leave. She is the Harem Queen after all and where better to collect pretty boys than the mall? So the people in the shops mention that you’re pretty and probably right up her alley. Ever  have a bad feeling about your next plot point? Yeah me too.

2013-03-23_13-20-13_909

So I fight my way through basement after basement of horrible enemies and find some faux anime pretty boy standing in front of a painting.  “Isn’t the Queen’s painting beautiful? She’s lovely and talented. Though she has been getting more moles lately.” Then if you examine the painting ‘this style looks familiar’. Let’s back track for a minute. Who do we know that could have painted this picture? Saeko has been acting strangely, but I think that’s relevant to the Snow Queen quest, Maki who was eaten by the wall? Possible but to early for the revelation on what happened to her. That leaves one extremely likely candidate: Chisato. Yosuke’s missing girlfriend. SO I found two more rooms just like the first one pretty boy, treasure chest, paintings, and allusions to moles. I don’t know what’s up with that, but I’m sure I will soon.2013-03-30_14-03-00_474

So a save point later and here I am standing in front of the Harem Queen and guess who it is! Chisato! I wish I could be surprised by that, but hey it means Yosuke might be back on the market soon. Chisato it turns out was always a jealous bitch pretending to be Maki’s best friend. She was jealous though because Maki won an art competition that both of them competed in, she also started dating Yosuke because he liked Maki. It was a deliberate blow at her. That kind of pisses me off. It doesn’t make me as mad though as what happened next. She banished me from her sight! And by that I mean she teleported me back to the start of the dungeon. RAGE!

2013-03-30_14-02-27_162

Chisato’s blood will be mine! I marched all the way back down that stupid dungeon again and threw open the door. I wanted to strangle that girl….but no first we have to have my other least favorite girl in the world show up. Yes Aki came in to tell Chisato that if she killed us, then she’d fix the moles on her face. Moles that kept appearing the more she used her magic I might add. So since she’s an insufferable jerk she turned Brown, Mark, and Nanjo to stone which left An-chan and Maki. Crap.

2013-03-30_14-02-38_279

This boss fight sucks! She uses status ailments like a freaking Marlboro. And with only two-party members it’s a hard-won victory for sure. So Aki leaves and says that she had no intention of actually fixing Chisato’s face and that she was just a ‘ginee pig’. Now by some miraculous power that can only be the result of love and friendship Yosuke appears out of thin air and tells Chisato that he did really love Maki once but he wanted to spend the rest of his life with no one but Chisato, moles and all. So the crazy jealous bitch still gets the guy in the end and her and Maki rekindle their friendship. Also love conquers all, so with Yosuke’s confession of loving Chistao no matter what. The moles disappear and Chisato’s face looks as clear as if she’d been using Proactive plus for monthes.

2013-03-30_20-51-33_836

So finally free of the mall and all the inane things that went with it and here I am finally outside of Kandori’s castle! What waits inside for me you might wonder. Well that’s obvious, it had to be Aki! Aki reveals that the only way into the castle is with the item that the “other girl” has. She’s in the ‘Lost Forest’ I love the names of these places I really do. So the other girl, Maki who was eaten by the wall? No still the wrong dimension, Saeko, still not right I don’t think. So I’m going to go out on a limb again and say it’s the little girl in white from the games opening. You remember Maki- Aki= ? I’m betting it’s the little girl in white that brought you to Philemon in the first place. Bet on it!

2013-04-08_23-14-52_711

So the Lost Forest is naturally on the other side of the Subway. So back through there we go and into the forest. The forest that is made up entirely of nothing but giant pink trees that have labyrinth style pathway cut through them. Then there are the directional arrows. Just when you thought a game couldn’t piss you off much more, they throw arrows on the ground that randomly change your direction. Grrrr……. So all over hell and back and here I am standing outside a miniature gingerbread house. Just sitting there in the middle of the woods, like it belongs there or something. Well surely there isn’t anything in there that wants to eat me, so let’s throw the door open.

Paris_Tuileries_Garden_Facepalm_statue

Inside the gingerbread house is the little girl in white! Her name is Mai. Mai+ Aki= Maki…or close enough anyway. After a LOT of coercing she’ll hand over a compact mirror that will let you into Kandori’s palace. She pleads with you though Don’t let Kandori get the compact. with that in mind we did the most logical and sensible thing that any RPG party has ever done. We used it open his front door effectively sending it right to him.

Idiots.

About Tekizen

I am a thirty two year old fujoshi. I adore Aniplex and Capcom both to a near criminal degree. I love cosplaying. Some of my favorites to date are Miles Edgeworth and Chrollo Lucifer. I am also currently working on Tatsuya Suou. My absolute favorite genre is mystery. I LOVE a good mystery. I have a varying degree of fandoms. I love a lot of different anime, but I can honestly say I love old school american cartoons just the same. My favorite book is The Bacta War in the Star Wars X Wing novel series. I finally beat the Demi-Fiend! He was freaking hard!. I think that's all for now though.
This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

